We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Save
You added Hostal La Tortuga Booluda to your Saves list
from the sw corner of the central park 3.5 blocks west, Leon, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great amenities, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I am currently here now, and love it! The amenities are great, you can make free pancakes for breakfast, use their spotless kitchen, organise tours, use the computer, play their musical instruments or just chill on hammocks. It is so clean here too. If you want a party hostel, don't come here, it's quiet, laid back and relaxing. Currently there is a older crowd here, but the place is just so beautiful and user friendly I don't want to leave! In comparison to other quieter (non- party orientated) hostels in town that i looked at this would be the top one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    41
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
46
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

hostal is clean with very friendly staff, in reparto with strong sense of community, short safe walk to centre of Leon; language instruction, transport from Managua, excursions made this an ideal place for a family in safest country in CA

Room Tip: 6-7-8 most private, 8 is coolest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in room 8. The room is spacious with a double bed and a bunk bed and its own bathroom. Being upstairs the room had a lot more light, as the windows opened to the outdoors, instead of to the open courtyard like the rooms below. Each bed had its own fan and there was air conditioning available for an extra charge. We found the fans adequate. There is no view but the private patio is great to relax on. Like most of Leon there wasn't hot water but the water that came out of the shower was lukewarm and okay for a shower in the hot temperatures.

There is a fully equipted kitchen if you want to cook your own meals. Coffee is available all day and breakfast is make your own pancakes (included). There is a self serve bar on the honor system with water, beer and soft drinks. Lots of common areas including a guest computer, pool table, tables and chairs and hammocks.

The staff were great. Most spoke English and all were helpful answering questions and giving suggestions for things to do and places to eat. We got a quick response by email when our plans changed due to our flight being cancelled and a new airport pickup was arranged on short notice. They also helped with arranging to get our luggage delivered from the airport when it arrived the day after we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I loved Tortuga! Stayed there 11 days in a private room because I took Spanish classes (at La Isla Foundation, also recommended). I payed 14 USD which I think was very good value, had two fans and a desk. The other guests were really nice and it was a social place without being noisy - perfect for a solo traveller who also needs a good nights sleep.

The staff is also really nice and helpful, not all speak English - which I think is great, practice your Spanish! They clean the common areas several times a day, I think this is the cleanest hostel I've been to.

At the end of my stay the owner gave me a free t-shirt since I've stayed for so long. Don't know if everybody get's that, but I thought it was really nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern U.S.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is a Hostal, so keep that in mind. But the Upstairs Room with private bath and your own balcony provides a pretty amazing stay. It is just above the kitchen. Please note that the balcony offers views of rooftops, only, but if you want a place to share a bottle of wine and a little privacy on your own hammock, it is very nice. The A/C in the room is optional. We did not use it, but we did not stay in the room during the day, only evening. The public areas are beautiful. The pool table is nice. The honor system cervezas and other drinks were priced very reasonable. Great morning coffee. There is a GREAT buffet-style eatery just around the corner (ask at the desk) that offers Nica fare more cheaply than you can cook your own. Down the street we ate dinner at BarBarro, which accepts credit cards if you are conserving cash. Wonderful experience in Leon! If you arrive as a couple at the bus station, do yourself a favor and enjoy the ride on the bicycle taxi!

Room Tip: The upstairs room is perfect for couples. It has a comfortable queen bed but also a set of bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 nights while taking a Spanish class at La Isla in Leon. And though I had intention of switching for a change of scenery---the cozy, yet social environment, decent sleeping space, free wifi, computer, good book exchange, tab system, friendly staff, hammocks, awesome communal kitchen (one of the best I've encountered), free pancakes and real organic coffee (they grind the beans fresh every morning)-- kept me here for my entire Leon stay. Though I didn't take advantage-- they offer tours, and Spanish lessons as well.

I stayed in the dorms-- which slept 8, with 8 personal fans and lockers, with a shared bathroom with towels provided. I always slept well. They also have smaller dorms and private rooms. My one complaint would be that they charged $1 per day for backpack storage (I stored my big pack there while at Las Penitas), I feel that should be a free hostel service. Also maybe the location -- which is a tad out of the way-- though not really a big deal.

Overall one of your best bets for Leon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Room 8, which was a private room. It was great. The room is the only room on the 2nd floor and it has it's own balcony with rocking chairs and a hammock. It was very relaxing there. We also loved the self-serve bar area and the pool table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Address: from the sw corner of the central park 3.5 blocks west, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Tortuga Booluda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.