We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first experience in Nicaragua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Real
Save
You added Hotel Real to your Saves list
Iglesia la Recoleccion 1 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Leon 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great first experience in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Cute little hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooftop gives you a great view of the city. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. The hotel is also in a great location.
I will stay here again when in Leon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
56
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wixom, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We arrived at 3am and had no problems checking in. The hotel and employees are great! The location is great and easy to get the square. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Leon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hotel Real is a small family owned hotel on a fairly quiet street in Leon. The front staff were kind, accommodating and very pleasant to interact with. The hotel manager was wonderful and responded very well when we had an issue with the air conditioner in our room. He immediately offered to put us in another room and had a repairman out the next day to repair the A/C. The lobby is warm and inviting and has numerous rocking chairs to sit in. The internal courtyard is green and lush. The breakfast was filling and had a pretty good variety during the time we were there. There is a wonderful rooftop patio where you can see the tile rooftops of Leon and the Volcanoes in the distance. The room was a pretty good size and there was hot water in the shower. It was incredibly clean. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My daughter & I stayed at the Hotel Real about 4 days. The staff was friendly & happy to help with every aspect of or trip. Jorge was always sitting at the front desk & was willing to arrange our transportation, answer questions, provide translation (as he speaks good English & not many locals in Leon do so), hold our luggage after we had checked out & many other above & beyond services. The sweet couple that own the hotel were always around making sure everyone was happy & helping as needed. The hotel has lots of native plants, unique paintings, antique furnishings & tile flooring making the sitting area a beautiful place to relax. The rooftop balcony is a great place to lay out & get some sun or just enjoy a unique view of Leon from above the town. The rooms are neat & clean with remote control air conditioning that works great. Nice TV with English channels available. Breakfast is included & it is very good with plenty of food & fresh squeezed juices. We always felt safe in & around the hotel. A short walk to the Plaza, grocery store, local street market, PanPaz (great french bakery) & the Cathedral. This hotel is really a home away from home place to stay in Leon. After staying there we booked it for my parents to stay on their upcoming trip to Leon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We used TripAdvisor to find the Hotel Real and it turned out to be a great spot. We stayed for two nights the first time and three the second. Well prepared breakfasts in the morning and an exceptionally capable staff, esp. Jorge, who I believe may have been a Jewish Grandmother in another life. Walking distance to most everything downtown and easy to get a taxi when you need one. Plain yet comfortable rooms, garden seating for b-fast, rooftop balcony with great views and high speed wireless.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Staff were very helpful. We arrived @ midnight on Xmas Eve and they were very accommodating. Lobby relaxing with rocking chairs, lots of plants and an honor-system cooler with cold sodas, juices and beers. Lobby and rooms were spotless. Beds were comfortable, although the pillows were a bit lumpy and flat. Breakfast was served outdoors or in a semi-enclosed area and was very tasty with eggs, beans/rice or pancakes, bowl of fresh fruit, juice and endless coffee. Convenient to the main plaza, banks and several cafes. Roof top patio had great views daytime and evening. Great place. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great value for the price. Basic rooms but with modern trimmings - AC and cable tv and wireless internet. BUT no guards or police seemed to know the hotel or where it was located. Everyone that we asked as we drove around kept sending us to the Best Western Hotel. It seems that when you say "real" every thinks royal and best :(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real

Address: Iglesia la Recoleccion 1 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.