We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Snowmobiling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Munising (M-28 East)

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Munising (M-28 East) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Munising (M-28 East)
M-28 East, PO Box 403, Munising, MI 49862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Munising
Mason, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for Snowmobiling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Parking lot had plenty of space for parking trailers and sleds, easy access to the trails, walking distance (even in 20 deg weather) to several restaurants and bars, hot tub, pool, and sauna were all Great after a long days ride. The staff was friendly and helpful and let us store our belongings in their office after check out. Rooms and bed were average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    30
    25
    14
See reviews for
51
50
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester MI
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Days Inn located in Munising is one of the shining stars locally, situated within an easy walk of many of the downtown attractions. This compares with the Holiday Inn Express and the EconoLodge, both of which are at least three miles away from downtown. It appears from the outside to be a well maintained facility. I am aware that it has been in this location for at least a decade, and likely longer. Upon check in we were met by a very polite front desk clerk who made us feel welcome. On a previous stay my g.f. had rented a particular room that was more of a suite which included a fireplace (#67). Learning it was available the clerk said we could have it for only a few dollars more, which we accepted. Although the room showed very well what surprised us was how few lights actually worked. Nearly all of the bulbs were burned out or missing. How could the housekeeping and maintenance staff not know, or otherwise care correct?

Lighting in the room included wall fixtures, two each over each of the two beds. One of those bulbs was missing. There were three table lamps, of which only one worked. There was also a stand lamp which had a three way bulb with only one setting working. The bathroom had a fixture over the sink that had four globe bulbs; one of which was missing, one has a bare basic light bulb that was burned out, one globe bulb was burned out, leaving only a single globe bulb out of the four working. There was also a light in the integral exhaust fan that was burned out.

We called the front desk, and the desk clerk brought in several light bulbs which I had to install myself. She also brought in a TV remove which was missing from the room.

The room was basically clean, but lacked detail and attention. For instance, there were two curtains that were not entirely attached to the curtain rod. Each had several hooks that were never re-inserted into the rod, perhaps after the last cleaning. I like projects, but not on my vacations fixing things the staff should have done before we arrived.

There is a pool and hot tub in this property. A young man came in on Saturday afternoon to check the level of bromine in the hot tub. By Sunday at 10:30 AM however the hot tub was very grubby, with foam all over it and brown scum along the sides. I would have expected a staff member to be in early in the morning to correct that, rather than allowing it to be used in that condition after it was unlocked.

The room rate included an “upgraded continental breakfast”, which was rather lame. Upgrade meant that there were frozen waffles next to a toaster. There were juice pitchers that were mostly empty and no one assigned to refresh them while we were there. There were dispensers with two kinds of cereal and milk. There was also a Plexiglas drawer display with several plain and powder sugar mini donuts provided. There was also a bowl with a couple apples and an orange. That was it. It was rather minimal for a rate of $117 a night.

Room Tip: #67 is a mini suite with a fireplace if going for a romantic trip, and can be had for a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

During a recent motorcycle trip,the Days Inn,again came through with a great place to make it our base camp.The staff is always there to help with any thing that was asked of them.Heck they even got one of my buddies into a dentist right away.The pool,hot tub,and sauna are a great way to relax after a day of riding the great roads of the U P. The pricing is great and you get a discount at a local resturant also.The coffee is always on and you can start your day with a breakfast right there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The rooms are always clean and ready for us. I don't even bother to compare rates, always very fair. Being locally owned, management is very knowlegable of the area and eager to share and make suggestions. Location is central for food and activities. The pool, hot tub, and sauna are always clean. The owner is usually on site each day to personally see to our satisfaction and comfort. The staff goes out of their way to assist us, even helping me to get emergency dental care. Definitely my vacation destination for future trips!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

With new, comfortable beds and reasonable rates, this Days Inn seems like a deal, but the rest of the amenities are shabby. The bathroom sink knob came off as I attempted to turn on the water, and the plastic toilet and tub surround were clearly old though mostly clean (the tub floor was a bit slimy). The wallpaper in the bathroom seemed newer but hadn't been cut or hung properly. Towels and washcloths were a mixed bag--some were newer and softer while others were older and rough. The drapes on the window wouldn't close all the way. Topping off the night was the 2 a.m. carousing of several inebriated guests who loudly gathered in the lobby (my room was close to the lobby) and proceeded down the hallway. I was awakened out of a sound sleep and it took a while to get back to sleep after that unwelcome wake-up call.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Munising (M-28 East)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Munising (M-28 East)

Address: M-28 East, PO Box 403, Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Munising (M-28 East) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Munising
Munising Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Munising (M-28 East), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.