We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Save
You added Terrace Motel to your Saves list
420 Prospect St., Munising, MI 49862   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Allen, Michigan
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I came into town and looked up the hotels on this site to see what was available. This looked like a good fit and the experience lived up to the reviews. The owner was friendly and provided recommendations on dining as well as best areas in the park to go and hike. Lots of services for this hotel including a kitchen and rec area open around the clock. The room was comfortable and clean. The WiFi was quick. The bed was a little on the firm side for my tastes. Good place to stay and will definitely look at going there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    56
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
88
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful and clean place to stay. Small rooms, but just the right size. I stayed there after reading all the good reviews and do not regret it. I was worried about the bathroom but when I saw it I was pleasantly surprised. The shower is a small one, but the water pressure and little window allowed for me to have a sweet like wash in the sunshine. They pillows were perfect. Fluffy, but not uncomfortable and I will be trying to figure out where to buy some like that. Larry was so kind and helped me whenever I needed it. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Terrace is a very nice place to spend time in Munising. It's not fancy, furnishing a little dated, but a great place to spend the night. For the facility itself I would probably rate it Average but some things cause me to rate in Very Good. The room was exceptionally clean, including the bathroom. It exceeds what I have found in some very upper scale hotels around the country. The rates are quite reasonable and the warmth shown by the owner, Larry really added to the experience. I truly felt that he was glad to have me stay there and offered some good advice for dining in the area. The Terrace isn't really a destination in itself but but a great place to spend the night or use as a base for visiting the area attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Terrace Motel is located in a quiet neighborhood about three blocks up the hill from the main road through town. This is an older property with small but nicely furnished rooms. The owner was very helpful, taking time to highlite on a map some of the local eateries. I spent a nice quiet night at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Room was quiet and pleasant but had no drawer space or place to put luggage. We found the owner, Larry, was very informative and helpful. There is a kitchen and recreation room available. Morning coffee was available in the office.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On a tight budget but needed a getaway and after reading other reviews I picked here. I was not disappointed! Larry was friendly as was the staff. Quiet. Relaxing. CLEAN. I highly recommend this motel to anyone and I will stay here again. Very pet friendly too! The location was great also!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was one of the most relaxing places my husband and I have ever stayed. Peaceful?! Our room was immaculate and cozy. The owner was very warm and welcoming and gave us all kinds of info about the town as we checked in. We couldn't hear ANY of our neighbors...it was like the place was sound-proofed. I would recommend this lovely little motel to any one who visits Munising.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Address: 420 Prospect St., Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.