We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a complaint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Munising
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never a complaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for a total of about two weeks throughout the spring while traveling for work. Never had a single complaint. Very clean, fantastic view, nice pool area, cute little gift shop, nice breakfast. Just a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Kmwalter,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review regarding your two week stay at our hotel. I love that you were able to become part of the family for such a long period of time. Our staff gives it their all when it comes to making sure you get as close to an "at home" feeling when you come to visit as possible. Thank you for staying with us, hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    111
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
86
98
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place is a real gem. The view of the water is outstanding and the huge room was really great, the bed very comfortable. We have been in many hotels that offer breakfast included and the quality & selection ranges over the full spectrum from sad to stellar. I would rate the breakfast at Munising-Lakeview near the high end of the scale. There was everything you need.

We don't travel to watch television in hotels but if I had known that there was so many channels at Munising-Lakeview I would have done some research.

My wife and I would make this our hotel of choice on any future trip through Munising.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Will_Shank,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and found the breakfast of high quality. We are also so glad to hear that you plan on staying here again when in the area. Return costumers are always a pleasure! Thanks again for the review and we are looking forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, PA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a typical HIE, but in a great location for touring the area. The hotel itself is clean and well-kept. It looks like a log lodge from a distance, but when you get close to it, the siding is made out of some type of flat boards that look like logs - a little like laminate flooring. Not a problem.... just interesting. Rooms are clean and nicely sized. Breakfast was typical of this chain, all you would really need to start your day. They even have a nice outside terrace area to eat. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear PANeddie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The breakfast terrace was expanded this spring and we are glad to hear that it is such a popular addition to the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It is BY FAR the most beautiful view from these rooms, that I have ever seen. It was our first visit to the UP and we wanted to see the sights. The room we stayed in, over looked the lake and the Grand Island. The moonlight danced on the lake at night and the sunrise was breathtaking from my bed. STAY HERE!! The breakfast was a great selection. And it is centrally located (maybe a mile or 2 outside of Munising) to have access to TONS of hiking, sight seeing and boating. BRAVO Holiday Inn. You've outdone yourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sarah P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. We are so thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing time and enjoyed the view from your room so much! Hopefully the colors were still on the trees for your stay so that you could enjoy that while you toured the area.
Thank you again for staying with us and write such a great review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a little high priced, but best hotel choice in the area for sure. The view of Lake Superior from my 3rd floor room was priceless....especially since we were there for peak Fall color!!!
Hotel was very clean...staff was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor lakeview...worth the extra price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear san09_11,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am so glad to hear you were able to join us for the fall color experience! Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice enough hotel. Cold, windy and rainy for our night there but bet the view is beautiful. Our room had a deck with chairs overlooking the lake. Room clean, furniture and bedding needs an update. Staff pleasant and helpful, breakfast good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear srconnelly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy your stay regardless of the cool weather. Thank you for staying with us, please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in Munising. Was the most expensive stay during our week in the UP. Spent $155 for king room no water view. Hotel was clean, breakfast was the usual although the weather was mild enough that we could enjoy out on patio.

Alarm went off in the middle of the night, which was mildly disturbing. No fire, but never did hear why.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Daytrippers76,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. My sincerest apologies about the fire alarm sounding in the middle of the night. Thank you for staying us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.