We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Save
You added Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay to your Saves list
E 9360 H58, Munising, MI 49862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth the extra price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a new hotel right on Lake Superior. It was a little more expensive than others in the area but worth it. Each room has a door out to the water side. Plenty of chairs, bbqs, picnic tables and a fire pit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Inn in early August 2012, not too long after it opened for business. The rooms are large, comfortable, bright (great large sliding windows facing the lake), quiet for sleeping, modern (flat screen TV's and small fridge) and very clean. All rooms have beautiful views of the bay at Munising. Doors on both sides of the rooms with one leading out to either a balcony overlooking the bay (second floor), or directly onto a large lawn area with a fire pit, available grills and lawn games. Obviously very family friendly. Comfortable lawn chairs available for sunset viewing and just lounging at the property's waterfront. (Not really a sand beach, but the water is very shallow in that area of the bay so you can get in the water and enjoy right there if you like.) We were on Harleys, so the fact that the Inn was within easy walking distance (1 mile) from downtown Munising was great as well. Friendly and helpful staff. We would definately stay at the Inn again if we came back to Munsing. Continental breakfast is included, and is the "normal fare" these days.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which allowed us to walk out to the lawn. Great. Second floor rooms migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only planned to stay one night and ended up staying two. Lovely, very clean motel! Loved the layout with a back door that opened out onto a common balcony with a beautiful lake view. Nice path leading to a patio with 3 grills and lots of chairs for just relaxing and enjoying the view. There was even a ladder ball game on the lawn. The people were very friendly and helpful (generous with the ice), especially with restaurant suggestions including a wonderful place called the Brownstone Inn just a few miles west of town past the town of Christmas. Super food!!!

Room Tip: No direct access to the ground from the lake view balcony so if you want to grill, I would request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here one night planning to go on Picture Rocks tour the next day. Very cute, updated, friendly location. Very clean and staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area. Doors on both sides of room. One going out to yard with lawn chairs and a fire pit. Water edge is rocks not sandy beach was only draw back. Had breakfast, but just bagels, toast and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked a room at the Days Inn in Munising; however, a large group of people arrived and wanted to be together so we were upgraded to the Beach Inn Motel which was lovely! The beds seemed new and comfy. They must have sprayed for mosquitoes because we sat outside near the water until well after 10 p.m. and so did many other visitors. The continental breakfast was ordinary but the room and view was spectacular! The next morning we went on the Pictured Rocks tour and that was wonderful too.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We wanted to be on the water while in Munising, but didn't want to spend the money for the Holiday Inn Express and the Sunset Motel was booked, so we discovered this cute two story hotel directly on Lake Superior. Not sure why it's listed as a B&B versus a hotel. It's next door to the Sunset Motel, but is brand new and seems much nicer! Not as much land, but the access to the water is better from the rooms since you don't have to walk across the parking lot. It was a pleasant surprise to walk into the room and have beautiful water views with a huge window and glass door leading out to a patio and then onto a grassy leisure/entertainment area with beach chairs, fire pit, grills, lawn games, and a narrow beach. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were spacious and clean, and there was a table with two chairs and a fridge. Only drawbacks were there's no closet and the dresser was small for 4 people. We didn't mind since we were only there for a night, but I could see it being inconvenient for an extended stay. Well priced for the location/amenities and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you'd rather not go to the multi-story Holiday Inn or one of the 60's style motels in Munising, there is a new alternative, the Beach Inn. Since Munising is small, all the lodging is within a few minutes of each other and of the dock where the boats leave for the Pictured Rocks. This new motel has nice clean rooms and a really pretty location on the lake. You can swim in the lake, there are chairs and tables outdoors, as well as barbecues. This is a pleasant place, and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the lake. It is a two story motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay

Address: E 9360 H58, Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.