We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic UP Michigan...PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Save
You added Sunset Motel on the Bay to your Saves list
1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portage,IN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Classic UP Michigan...PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First, room was spotless. Felt very clean. All the dishes, pots, refrigerator, utensils, etc were perfect. Nice chairs along lake to relax. Yes, it's a bit dated, and I wouldn't want it any other way. Free bags of ice a huge plus, as were the free charcoal for the grill. Would stay there again.

While there, if you're able, you must hike the Chapel Loop....breathtaking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset. Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. By looking at the great picture you attached, you were able to take advantage of our front lawn and the amazing view it offers. If you're planning to spend a day exploring Chapel Falls, Chapel Rock and Chapel Beach we have plenty of ice to fill your cooler. The hike into Chapel Falls is 1.5 miles and approximately another 2 miles to Chapel Rock and Chapel Beach. The area is spectacular and with fall being right around the corner, it will be even more beautiful! After a full day of hiking, the chairs and grills on our front lawn are waiting for you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! We hope you'll make a return visit soon to do just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    73
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
116
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was the perfect getaway for my husband and me along with another couple who are close friends of ours. I am giving the motel a five-star review simply because I didn't think of work once while we stayed there. Everything about this hotel makes you forget the stress you may have back at home. The motel is situated right on the water with an amazing view of Lake Superior. Check-in was a breeze and the gal at the front desk was pleasant and welcoming. We had a two-bedroom, wood-paneled unit with an adequate living room which had a comfy couch and chair. It is outdated, but that added to its charm. Everything from the "real" room keys to the kitschy decor to the perfectly-situated outdoor chairs facing the water seemed to say, "You're at the lake. Relax. Enjoy!" I better mention that it does not have every convenience, comfort and service you'd expect at a five star hotel. In fact, there were a few quirks such as the short shower heads that made me duck (I'm only 5'3) to wash my hair. But that was just fine with me. You have what you need here. The rest is up to you.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake. You can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of your stay at The Sunset with our TripAdvisor readers. I believe you've captured the true essence of what The Sunset has to offer. The Sunset is certainly not fancy but it is welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. Many of our guests comment that once they arrive at The Sunset their stress level diminishes or completely disappears! All you need to do is find the perfect chair on our front lawn, select your favorite beverage and gaze out at the incredible view. The only sounds you may hear are from visiting ducks or loons. The only decisions to be made are where to go to dinner or what to grill on our charcoal grills. What could be better than to end a perfect day with watching a perfect sunset?
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We invite you to return soon to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I felt the staff was courteous and friendly. The decor was outdated but the view on the lake was absolutely gorgeous. The room seemed pretty clean but the bathroom was set up so oddly you could not get to the shower if you were at all overweight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers. The Sunset is an older property but we believe it has its' own special charm. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful view The Sunset offers and we are sorry that we did not meet your lodging expectations. We agree that some of the bathrooms are small. We are trying to work out a solution to this problem. We hope you'll give us a future opportunity to meet your lodging needs. If you would like to discuss your stay with us in further detail, please contact our office at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our bedroom with kitchenette was well stocked with the necessities for our two night stay. The room was clean and service friendly and helpful. The real win though is the beautiful view of the bay. The smallish strip of beach and playscape were great for keeping the kids occupied between outings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset! Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. We are glad you found your room comfortable and complete with everything you needed for your stay. We have one or two bedroom units that have well stocked kitchens. Our kitchen rooms are very popular with our guests and we are often told it's like staying in your own little cabin with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. We hope you'll visit us again to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Sunset while touring the area. Great little motel right on the bay. The room was comfortable and spotless, the staff really friendly. We sat outside in cozy chairs and enjoyed the perfect sunset, slept great and will definitely be back. Book early this motel is popular!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We think our view is amazing too! Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. We offer several lodging options for families. We have two bedroom units with a queen bed in each room. We also have two bedroom units that include kitchen facilities. Another option is one of our three bedroom vacation homes. The homes are completely furnished with every thing you should need for a comfortable, enjoyable stay. We hope you'll visit us again soon to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor and with its number one ranking decided to try it. It was fantastic. The location is beautiful for watching the sun set over the lake. Drinking your early morning coffee while watching that same vista is pretty nice as well. The hotel itself is adorable. Very clean, decent sized room and the staff is incredibly friendly. Its close to Munising as well. Definitely will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing them with our TripAdvisor readers. Our entire staff is extremely proud of our #1 ranking! We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests, including you, that take the time to review their stay at The Sunset. We are also fortunate to be surrounded by natural beauty. The view from our front lawn is outstanding from sunrise to sunset! We;re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place has it all -- lake front, Adirondack chairs, beach, grills, 2-bedroom units with kitchen, peaceful and quiet. This is an older property that has been kept up; our unit was small but sufficient; newer kitchen area. Wall air conditioner units in the two bedrooms; noisy, so suggest ear plugs; bring eye shades if you don't like morning light coming in through drapes. It's out of town but a very short drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your tremendous review of The Sunset and for sharing it with our TripAdvisor readers. We agree that The Sunset provides the perfect place to enjoy a visit to the Munising area. We are centrally located to many of the area's wonderful attractions including the amazing Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. We are just minutes from the downtown area, restaurants and shops. After a day of awesome exploring, our guests love to return to the quiet tranquility of The Sunset. Guests can choose a comfortable chair and chill out with their favorite beverage. With the fantastic weather we've been having, our charcoal grills have been in constant use! We provide the charcoal. In fact, we have everything you should need except what you plan to eat, Last night many of our guests were enjoying a shuffleboard tournament until it got too dark to see! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you plan a return visit to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.