We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Save
You added Sunset Motel on the Bay to your Saves list
1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Right on the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a quaint motel right on the water with a small beach and a playground for children. Dogs are welcome and although there were many there as guests, we didn't see any traces of them being on the grounds. The yard in front of the motel is dotted with many comfy chairs and picnic tables perfect for watching the sunsets. The motel is very clean and well kept. Rooms are a little dated but include everything you need.

Room Tip: Tip for travelers - if you want a clear view of the lake ask for a room further away from the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, General Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts regarding your stay at The Sunset. We are located on beautiful Lake Superior and the view is incredible! In addition to our outside seating we also have a private beach, shuffle board, outdoor games and charcoal grills. It 's the perfect place to unwind after a day of exploring The Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Right now the view is beautiful but we are looking at ice! Winter does not want to let go! This has forced us to delay our opening for a few weeks. As soon as we get some sunshine and warm temps we will be ready to welcome you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    73
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
116
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Motel in September and it was perfect for us since we were able to get one of the rooms with two separate bedrooms. This works out great for us since I go to bed early and others wanted to stay up late. Convenient location to all the sights we wanted to go to. It was great to have a full size refrigerator. Wonderful being right next to Lake Superior. I would love it if there were more motels like this when we are vacationing. Would definitely stay again and can see why it is the #1 motel in Munising.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Happy New Year! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset and thank you for sharing your thoughts with our Trip Advisor readers. We are extremely proud of our #1 ranking and strive to improve every day. Our guests are so important to us. We want all of our guests to have the best experience possible during their stay with us. We hope you'll visit us again to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The rooms are good. Nothing exceptional or trendy, just very good. The motel from outside looks small. the rooms and bathroom are also a little small, but have decent space. When you visit Pictured Rocks, you hardly get to stay in the room except when u sleep, so no worries there. Overall the motel was neat and clean and well maintained and the staffs were helpful.
The highlight though, is the location. AMAZING!!!! is an understatement. Just by the shore of the lake. there are a couple of waterfalls (Memorial and Tannery falls) near by at a walkable distance. I loved the place. it tends to be pricier in summer. I went during fall, so did not have a huge hit on my wallet.
Would love to stay here again and will recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We have to agree with you that the view is amazing! Thanks for sharing your comments with Trip Advisor readers. There are several beautiful waterfalls to visit in our area but it's wonderful to have two within walking distance from us. We are less than five miles from Sand Point Beach which was named one of the top ten beaches in the country by The Weather Channel a few years ago. We are so fortunate to be surrounded by astonishing natural beauty no matter what the season. Please visit us again to sit back, relax and enjoy the amazing view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this motel in September of 2001 on our honeymoon. The people in the office were amazing along with the rooms and views. Getting ready to head back here with our 4 kids to see the sites 12 years later

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Happy New Year! We're so glad you made a return visit! We have many guests who honeymooned at The Sunset and come back to celebrate their anniversaries. We have some couples who celebrate their anniversary every year with us. It's so much fun to hear about the changes in their lives. Some of our return guests now bring their children and their grandchildren. Their visits become family reunions. This upcoming summer we are honored to have weddings taking place on our beach. We hope you'll return to celebrate another anniversary with us. We'll welcome you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! Thank you for sharing your comments with our Trip Advisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The people in the office could not have been more friendly or accomdating. Nothing was too much for them. As far as the room goes, the view of Munising Bay was breathtaking. We stayed 3 nights and each afternoon after 3pm we would sit out and enjoy the sunshine over the bay. The room itself was extremely clean and well appointed. The property is centrally located for all of the main attractions yet is on a quiet part of the bay. We had so much fun here that we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Happy New Year! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset and thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor readers. We are centrally located to all of the areas great attractions and yet, after a day full of adventures, when you return to The Sunset you do get the feeling of being away from it all. I believe it's part of The Sunset's unique charm and, of course, we have to acknowledge the mesmerizing view! We hope you'll make a return visit to your favorite place in the U.P. It's our favorite place too! We'll welcome you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The small motel is located on the east shore of Munising Bay, right on the water. Our unit was spotlessly clean. The knotty pine paneled unit had two small bedrooms, a small bathroom and a nice sized kitchen-living room. The full kitchen was well equipped with everything needed to fix breakfast, lunch or dinner. The unit reminded us of a small cabin in the north woods, even though it was one of about a dozen units in one building. The only drawback- the walls are so thin that I could hear a woman in the next unit who was speaking in a normal voice. This will not be much of a problem if your neighbors are quiet and thoughtful, as ours were. If they are not, yikes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with our Trip Advisor readers. I apologize for the delay in responding. I was enjoying a great vacation. Our kitchen units with two bedrooms are very cozy. Many of our guests comment that it does feel like being in a cabin. Right now it would feel like being a in cabin covered in snow! We are looking forward to starting another season when we reopen in May. We hope you'll consider a return visit to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville Tx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I must say the service from everyone was great they was concerned about the heat in my room and offered several solutions so no complaints about that. I was expecting something different since it is rated number one so I do think in fairness a little more description is needed. It is a old Motel that has been taken care of but if you are thinking you are getting a modern room due to price you are not. What you do get is good service a GREAT view and a large room with a sitting area and a separate bedroom you are basically getting a efficiency apartment. with water at your front door complete with ducks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with our Trip Advisor readers. I apologize for not responding sooner. When we ended our season in late October, I went on vacation! It was wonderful! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset and the charm it offers. The view is always beautiful - even now when we've been experiencing temperatures of 25 below zero! Of course to enjoy the view now, you have to be inside with a cup of hot chocolate! We hope you'll visit us again to sit back, relax, enjoy the spectacular view and the ducks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St., Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.