We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U P's best Dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Dogs

Johnny Dogs
106 Lynn Street, Munising, MI 49862-1259
906-387-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Port Huron
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“U P's best Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

So many choices and you can't go wrong with a single one!
This time it was the belu cheese applewood bacon Johnny Dog. It had all the flavor I was looking for.
Add a regular tray of fries with a soda and you will walk away with a full belly.
This is a must try spot when in Munising. Cash or checks is the method of pay and worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    36
    13
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Great dogs, Killer Chilli Cheese Fries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The dogs were great, but the Chilli cheese fries were out of this world! Highly recommended. Small outside eating area. You may have to wait, if crowded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Are they ever open?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I moved to Munising just this spring and I have made several attempts to eat at Johnny Dogs but they have never been open? These attempts have been made during posted open hours, and Sundays are a huge "?" on the open hours........ Too inconsistent for my taste, they could be the best hotdogs ever, but i have given up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freshest food in the UP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just enjoyed my favorite new spot in Munising. The ingredients all were fresh, locally grown, smoked and cooked with passion. The owner takes a lot of pride in the food they provide and you can tell.

Others complain about long waits we arrived with every table full and had a very short time prior to getting our food. We had a cheeseburger and turkey BLT with fries. The portions very generous and it was just so fresh! We will stop now every time we pass threw.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummmy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very good fast food! Small place, but great service! Friendly! Lots to choose from! We had the whitefish tacos. They were very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Dogs also viewed

 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Johnny Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.