We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miners Castle Rock

Miners Castle Rock
Munising, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Munising
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent option if you are in the Munising area. Just about 12 miles away. You can see the falls, walk to the beach, and have an option of an easy paved walkway that takes you to spots overlooking the pictured rocks. Great spots for photos.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    38
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had original booked the boat tour but bad weather forced us to see this by land. The colour of the water was amazing and the park staff was very helpful. We really liked that you could visit here for no charge. Well done Michigan!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a beautiful place to visit! The Upper Peninsula reminds me just how beautiful Michigan is. The view is absolutely breathtaking with blue waters and the awesome geological wonder that is Miners Castle Rock. This is a necessary stop when exploring the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Useful Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend, my boyfriend's dad, and I stopped here while we were exploring the Pictured Rocks because I wanted to see the Miners Castle Rock Observation Point. We ended up taking full advantage of this stop. This area has a large parking area. There are bathrooms, a small gift shop with a ranger inside, and a small trail leading to many different viewpoints where you can see the lake. You can also see Miners Castle and other portions of the Pictured Rocks. It is absolutely stunning. One thing that I particularly liked was that the viewpoint had low glass holes so small children (or dogs like this one lady was doing while we were there) could see the stunning view. It is a picture perfect place so bring along your camera, trail shoes, water to stay hydrated with, sunscreen, and see the beautiful Miners Castle Rock with the Pictured Rocks. You won't regret it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great service from the National Parks Rangers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Thank you ladies! You made our visit pleasant and informational.

We ever saw a bald eagle with your binoculars! You certainly made our son's day.

There are several trails to wander on and a map to show you the way. The Castle itself is interesting, but the hiking was fabulous. Take you sunscreen, trail shoes, water and insect repellant and spend the day.

Bathrooms (both modern and outdoor) are available.

Handicapped would be a challenge, but possible if you are willing to traverse stairs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miners Castle Rock also viewed

 

Been to Miners Castle Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miners Castle Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.