We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store

Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store
104 E Munising Ave, Munising, MI 49862
+1 906-387-3008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Munising
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ice Cream, Family Fare, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A charming cafe bookstore. Great food, friendly service, coffe and espresso drinks, 25,000 books, music, art and much more to choose from!
Benton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good local feel when browsing around waiting on a coffee. Nice atmosphere and enjoyed our beverage. Lot of local artists but it seems overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    61
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Cute place to stop in for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As an avid coffee drinker, I had this spot in my notes for my Munising trip. I made a stop before leaving town and ordered an iced vanilla latte (my boyfriend had the iced mocha) and it was an overall pleasant experience. For those of you that are coffee/caffeine addicts, you will not find a Starbucks on any corner in Munising (or at least I didn't), so this is your best bet for a latte. The staff was friendly, the cafe is cute, the Wi-Fi is free, restrooms are clean, and there are interesting and unique books to peruse through. An average iced latte will run you about $4.50 or so. I'd recommend stopping in on your way through town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Falling (this place ROCKS) Cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I don't think there is a friendlier place in the U.P. The food, view, hospitality and live entertainment make the journey to Munising .....ummmmm.....really fun. Thank you.....thank you very much

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Time Munising Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Falling Rock Café and Bookstore seems to be the go-to café in Munising. I personally love this place and most of the things about it. It's a wonderful place because they have food, drink, coffees, dessert, books, ice-cream, live music, friendly home-town staff, a clean bathroom, and seating. The food there is a little better than average, but nothing very special, their drinks and desserts are phenomenal, they have a huge selection of books, and the coffee is great. The staff is very friendly and they give you that kind feel of what Munising is all about. The pricing isn't too bad, it's affordable for a middle-class family. The only thing I wasn't very impressed with was the bathroom. You had to turn the sink on and off a certain way, the mirrors were very small and a little dirty, the stalls are clean but not very nice, and it's a very small bathroom with very little to no privacy. I was very impressed with the Falling Rock Café and Bookstore and go there everything I make a trip to Munising! I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to see what Munising's all about!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Third trip to Picture Rocks and stopped here each time. - This time had some wonderful quinoa salad. It was a special for the day. If they have it when you are there, try it! Yummy! - It is a welcoming place. Staff is friendly and also willing to answer tourist questions about the area, the weather, and park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.