We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, priced right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Motel and Cabins

Hillcrest Motel and Cabins
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest Motel and Cabins
Save
You added Hillcrest Motel and Cabins to your Saves list
E9454 Highway M-28 East, Munising, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, priced right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a typical older motel with a microwave and frig. It was very clean and the staff was very nice. Many of the other hotels are more expensive and may have the frills, but if you don't need them you will be fine--heck, it had clean towels and sheets, wi-fi, TV,and we could not hear the people next door. They have a few firepits scattered about so if the kids need a little diversion and smores in the evening you're all set.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay at the Hillcrest was pleasant. I called ahead to see if they had rooms, and she said just one. Told me right up front the rooms are clean but we have no air conditioning. Wasn't a problem on the shores of Lake Superior. She held our room without a credit card, just in case we didn't make it, there would be no charge to us.
The rooms are no frills, but clean and we had free Wifi with no trouble. The owners were pleasant and very accommodating.
For 50.00 a night, great place to stay if you need a clean, no frills, place to sleep

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were only going to stay one night, but stayed two. VERY clean & affordable rate. The people running it were very friendly & went out of their way to accommodate us. Used to stay there for years when the previous owner had it and now will continue to stay there with the new owners. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Munising area.

Room Tip: The cabins are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Rooms are modest but comfortable and clean. It is located only 2 miles from downtown, has free wifi, staff is friendly, and all that for $50/night (2 double beds). I would definitely stay here again if I happen to be in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed @ the Hillcrest about 6yr's ago...now july 2012 we were on are way home from Copper Harbor and needed a place to stay so we stopped in to get a room for the night, Well we stayed for 3 nights Very clean and the people running the place went way out of their way to make you feel comforable... To the person that wrote unsafe GET OUT OF THE CITY MORE OFTEN, Hell we never even locked our door's... See you in Sept room # 5 ROCKS !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have been to Musising before, and we have never stayed anywhere in a motel, but when I saw they had cabins here i decided to book it. They are basic but new, and spotless. We even could take our small dog with us. It is 5 min out of town and nice and quiet. The only thing they could do better is the internet wasn't working and the cabins need a bit of minor finishing but this is extreme value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivet
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed one night as we were passing thru to Copper Harbor. I used to stay at this motel as a kid when my family went on vacation. So I have been here before. The room we had was nice and clean. There was a refrigerator and a microwave and a fan. There is no AC.. thats a down fall as it was hot and humdid. I think that our stay was fine except it was hot. I think that they should invest in window air conditioners for all 10 of their rooms or at least have a couple units that could be rented for the night for a additonal charge. I would be willing to pay $20 more for a room with AC. Other than that is was fine.

Room Tip: Call for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Motel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Motel and Cabins

Address: E9454 Highway M-28 East, Munising, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Motel and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.