We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, fresh whitefish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney's Restaurant

Sydney's Restaurant
400 Cedar St, Munising, MI 49862
(906) 387-4067
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Munising
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fresh whitefish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Had a nice, delicious dinner of the fresh caught local whitefish, portions were large so we went with the basket and still couldn't eat it all. Very friendly, excellent server who helped me sample and chose a great michigan beer (chose the Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald porter). Overall good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    111
    92
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We both really liked the soup and salad bar. It was good and filling with more than enough choices. Our meals were cooked well. My wife had Lake Superior white fish which she enjoyed. I had the blackened catfish special and thought it was a bit too spicy. The waitress was friendly and efficient. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We often eat Sydney's on our overnight trips through Munising. We prefer eating in the bar area, and have a cocktail or beer with our dinner. Service has always been good. The food is your average restaurant food; probably most of it pre-frozen, heat and eat food. I did have some really good fresh Lake Perch (they were out of the fresh White Fish). Overall dining - not outstanding but not bad either.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waitress was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The food was not that good. It actually have me a stomach ache. It was food that came from a frozen bag and not fresh. Over priced too. I do not think I would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressed again with the UP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Only ate breakfast and was very surprised with the service as well as the selection. Will try dinner next time. Fresh fruit, crispy bacon, real blueberry pancakes, and great chicken wings were just a few of the items on the breakfast bar.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney's Restaurant also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Sydney's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.