We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dollar-hungry stop-off for coach tourists” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Khiva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Asia Khiva to your Saves list
Hotel Asia Khiva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   K. Yaqubova Street, Khiva 100125, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Khiva
Nagoya-shi, Aichi, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A dollar-hungry stop-off for coach tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This claims itself to be a 4-star hotel. It could only be a self-administered rating. Our rooms were in building 2, which may mean something. On first inspecting them we noticed that they were not very large and furnished basically. For a start there were no chairs in either room, just a small stool that did not allow one to sit at the desk. Then there were no tissues, no kettle to heat water, no fly-screen though the room faced south and was very hot. The TV could not have had more than a 15" screen. Some of the furniture was chipped. Every hotel in Central Asia provided 2 free bottles of water, but not this one; one had to pay for it. Laundry prices are way above other places and payment is accepted only in $US, very handy for conversion at black-market rates 30-40% above official bank rates. Most amazingly, spare keys to every room are kept dangling on a rail just where one reaches the top step to the floor. They conveniently have the room number on them: great security!!
It seems that most occupants are ployglot one-nighters and they begin crowding the corridors at 6:00am and going to the buses revving outside. We had the misfortune to stay 3 nights. There are better hotels within the old city. I have stayed at the Malika before and it is a much better property.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    98
    69
    10
    4
See reviews for
12
59
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is just outside the south gate of the old city. Hot and cold water knobs were opposite for sink and shower plus it took a while for the water to heat up, so my first shower was a cold one (because I had it switched to the wrong side – my bad, I guess.) Room was quite large and clean. The desk staff was helpful and one of the gentlemen spoke very good English. The hotel WiFi only operated from 9:00am to 7:00pm, so that was a problem since those are the hours we were usually out touring. It was quiet. The pool area was quite nice, but we never used it because we were touring or tired from touring. Breakfast buffet was just fine.
All-in-all, it was OK and we were told it was the best hotel in town. We would prefer to stay within the walls of the old city, but this was certainly convenient enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Located just outside the old city walls this is a relatively large hotel complex spread across several buildings. Popular with tour groups. Rooms are perfectly adequate although there is no room safe. Some beds are extremely hard and uncomfortable; others are fine. Dinner is buffet style.

Room Tip: Check the matress before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is perfectly placed adjacent to the old city walls. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, and the hotel has a pleasant bar and area around the swimming pool. The food both in the evening and at breakfast time was of a good quality. The only worrying aspect was of a rather noxious smell that arose at about 8pm around the area in which some open-air entertainment was being displayed.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the old city walls are particularly attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel has many tour groups during the season. It is a two story hotel without an elevator.

It has nice sized rooms with comfortable beds. However, the rooms have inadequate lighting in both the bed room and bathroom.

There is a pool and outside bar that are very relaxing.

The hotel has WiFi in lobby that works well.

We had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant and found some of same food a buffet breakfast…surprise, surprise.

And to everyone’s pleasure, there is SPAM available for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I spent 2 nights here and found the hotel to be generally fine but not as good or upscale as other properties in Uzbekistan. There are 127 standard rooms and ours was in block 3. The rooms are grouped in several buildings with two attendants on duty 24 hours. our room was #64 and had two beds with a bottom sheet. Oddly the top sheet was folded under the bed cover as if never intended for use. The a/c works fine by remote control. We slept comfortably. There is a small but adequate frig, tiny TV, and room lights that have individual controls but no shielding. The toilet is configured where you cannot insert toilet paper or it will clog. Soap is of poor quality and there is shampoo but no conditioner. Dinner was average and buffet style; you have to guess what some of the items are since they are not labeled. Staff is quite helpful and many understand English.

Breakfast was OK also and you can eat either inside or out. When the wifi is working it seems to work well compared to other hotels in the region. Also it is free. There is no room safe and if you expect water to be hot and cold, you will be pleased when you shower. You just have to wait a bit for the hot water to kick in. The outdoor pool looked inviting until we got closer and found it murky green.

The hotel is very conveniently located in front of the south gate to the walled old city and it is safe to walk about even at night.

Room Tip: No way to know for sure. Be certain the a/c works as several members of my group experienced issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

As other reviews state, this hotel is just outside the city walls, and if you enter through the closest gate you get to walk through the residential area of the inner city (4500 people actually live inside the walls) en route to the monuments. This is an experience in itself as the women invited me into their houses, insisted I help them bake bread, taste some - a fun experience in itself. If you don't like that idea, you can just continue walking around the outside of the wall to the next gate, either to the right or left from the hotel, and it's for that walk that a torch comes in handy at night, but I walked it without one. The hotel itself was fine and clean, although the decor is a bit outdated, but everyting is neat and clean. Our bathroom had a terrible smell that appeared after about 5 minutes of switching on the bathroom light or so and first we thought it was the drain as the bath didn't drain well at all, then we blamed the loo but finally worked out that it was the extractor fan duct; maybe a rat had died in there or something, and by the last night it was much better, but that was the only real inconvenience. And the fact that no matter how hard we tried, we managed to get the floor flooded with each shower. Our room overlooked the pool area and we had a balcony, which was very nice. Not all the rooms that overlook the pool have a balcony, and our room was bigger than others too, so ask specifically for the rooms with balconies. Breakfast was a good spread, but similarly to other hotesl in Uzbekistan they frequently ran out of clean crockery, or coffee, or something, and took forever to replenish things, but it's not unique to this hotel. We had no problem picking up WiFi in the room. In general the service was courteous and we enjoyed our stay there. One tip: if you plan on buying puppets, the gift shop at this hotel had particularly nice ones.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asia Khiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Khiva

Address: K. Yaqubova Street, Khiva 100125, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Khiva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Khiva 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Asia Khiva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Khiva Uzbekistan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia Khiva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.