We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of French Garden Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trincomalee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
French Garden Beach Hotel
Save
You added French Garden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alles Garden, Nilaveli Road, Trincomalee, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Trincomalee B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic but cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay on uppavili beach, the rooms are seriously basic and the fan didn't work very well, which was difficult in the heat! I was also disappointed by the outside space where my view of the sea view was ruined with barbed wire which didn't keep the cows out. There wasn't anywhere nice to sit, and they didn't clean up the cow poo! I spent most of my time just next door, which had a much better atmosphere and places to relax.

Room Tip: Test your fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    23
    7
    17
See reviews for
4
18
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Location is lovely, but like what other reviews have stated, the rooms arent too clean, the bathroom has so many mosquitos, you can't take a shower without being bitten. There is a mosquito net, but noone stays in the rooms until they sleep as the situation is so bad. The toilet was broken, so we had to fill a bucket and manually flush. We discovered that the mosquitos were breeding in the stagnant water of the top cystern part of the toilet.
If you are taking anti malarials, then this place would be ok if your on a budget and don't mind roughing it for a few nights.
The bar opposite is not run by the same people. There is a wall with the sign 'kitchen' painted on it.When we left the owner asked how our stay was, we told her about the mosquitos and she agreed but asked why we never ate at the kitchen. We didnt even realise it existed. They should point this out on arrival or put the menu on the wall outside if they want more customers.
They need mosquito coils on each terrace and to drain and kill all the mosquitos breeding in the bathrooms. We travelled all over india and sri lanka, and this was by far the worst place for mosquitos, despite being near salt water ocean! Its a shame that 1 detail can ruin a short stay.

Room Tip: Check for mosquitos first and check the bathroom. If its not up to standard stay elsewhere. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My experience here went from bad to worse. There doesnt seem to be a fixed price, people I spoke to were paying anywhere from 1300-2500 per room for the same standard. Our bathroom was not clean, you had to reach into the toilet cistern to flush, and the bathroom was a mosquito breeding ground. The dive staff are pushy, unprofessional and have old and poorly maintained gear. We were paying 2500rupees for 2 people for the room and we were asked to leave 2 days early as we had not been eating at the restaurant and they would make more money by giving the room to someone who did. Nice view but would struggle to recommend it even as a budget option.

Room Tip: Look at the room before agreeing to stay, especially the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There are three French Gardens which are all owned by one owner but run by different managers. All are within 100 meters of each other and the one I stayed at was building on the beach. It is a bit confusing because they somewhat operate congruently but don't at other times. The rooms are filthy with hundreds of mosquitoes since the windows are open but the mosquito net works so it's fine. I had an enjoyable stay even though the actual facilities are not nice. The place attracts the right crowd and this is where all the backpackers go. At night, they have a dj and there are people drinking or playing cards around the wooden tables. The manager is a bit kooky and I was a bit confused when she asked me to buy wifi dialog cards for the guesthouse.....perhaps we were lost in translation? Nothing beats a guesthouse on the beach. This place has the best location with little wooden huts out front that you can lay your beach chair underneath. Don't eat at the French Garden Regis though, eat at the French Garden across from it (the one with the dive shop), there food is much better but you must order dinner a couple hours before so they can go buy the ingredients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Basic, peaceful, no wi-fi. Good porch view, hindered by barbwire fence. The rooms were really basic, clean, bathroom was in bad shape. We spent most of our time at the next guest house restaurant/bar, where they offer diving day trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

just one and only good thing for this place is location. it is really close to beach. the rooms is basic which is not so fine but acceptable But there is no roof isolation. just tin roof on the door which makes the room like a sauna at day time.
the big issue is the owner. you cant talk or explain him anything he is so rude but really so rude and more things. needless to say his manager rude too. it is like gang leader and his thugs. shoud i mention the loud music starts at mid night . maybe you should think i wrote wrong but it is true the music doesnt stop. it is start at mid night with disco lights on the beach.
maybe you can have a good time there if you dont mess with the owner and like the sleep late.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

OK, if you want a four star hotel, go to one. This is a basic guesthouse and the cost reflects this. I was alone, and the room was basic, but clean and secure. It was also charming. I loved the downmarket rustic nature of it but the woman who ran it was such a nice woman to sit out and chat to on an evening.
It is very cheap.
She will cook you a lovely dinner of king prawns or fish curry, then deliver it to your beachfront door, then come and collect the plates afterwards. For this you pay £1.50.
You can go next door, which costs a wee bit more and is a bit nicer, but these two places are right next door to each other and I spent as much time in their bar and drinking afternoon tea on their bit of beach as I did on my bit of beach.
The place is rough and ready but I think it's a bit of a gem because of that and not despite it.
Watching the shoreline fishermen working the beach in the evening was a great way to relax.
I came for one night and stayed for four.
As I said - if you expect four star kit, go and pay for it. This is cheap and very cheerful.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms look towards the sea. Try for one of these. They're better than facing the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Garden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Garden Beach Hotel

Address: Alles Garden, Nilaveli Road, Trincomalee, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Trincomalee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Garden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.