We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trincomalee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant
Save
You added Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Off A6 highway from Trincomalee, Trincomalee, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Trincomalee B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“go away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't ever go to the Shiva's guesthouse. The manager is a liar they tried to make me pay 2 times. The rooms are dirty,the sheets are dirty too and the towels you can't use them.
You have rats in the water closets.

Don't go there never !
The worst accomodation of our 3 weeks trip in Sri Lanka

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

To call Shiva's a resort is a little pretentious but it certainly is a more than adequate guesthouse. Clean, spacious and comfortable rooms; OK bathroom with cold water (in that heat who needs hot water!) in our downstairs (cheaper) room, nice, friendly staff. Only two downsides: Whilst I appreciate we were there out of season the restaurant area didn't make much effort to make things exciting so they tend to lose business to the French Garden guesthouse next door who put on special, very nice and reasonably priced, menu's each night or Fernando's bar and restaurant a hundred metres or so up the beach on the other side to French Garden. The other most frustrating thing is that whilst they do have wi-fi they use the Dialog system which depends on you buying scatch cards to activate and pay for the time spent on line. Its not expensive (100SLR for about 1.5 hours) but a nuisance as you have to walk to the main road (5 minute stroll) to buy the cards. They told us they were replacing the system with something more conventional soon and I certainly hope the do so quickly as the present system is something of a pain! Apart from th8is complaint, Shiva's is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a good budget option. We stayed here in a big family room for four days during the last week of June 2013 with our two teenage children. The room was comfortable and clean. The AC was a lifesaver, which we only really appreciated when the power went out for a full day and we had to endure the heat.
Management and staff were very friendly and contributed greatly to the pleasantness of our stay. The fact that there was no hot water didn't matter because of the hot weather. Sometimes we had to flush the toilet with a bucket. The beach front is nicely organized and close to other happening places. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ended up here as palm beach next door was full. Mr Michael and all staff really friendly and genuine. We had upstairs room with window, with hot water and fan for 2500. Really clean and comfortable. great budget option. Hotel right on beach. Restaurant food average, better off at fernandos bar at aqua inn. Think upuveli is better option than nilaveli as more going on. Nice beach. Good for swimming.

Room Tip: Upstairs room on the end with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Well, see all of the poor reviews I cannot help but think that people are wrong! People have to bare in mind that just prior to 2009 this area was off limits to tourists; the military peppered the A6 and was not accessible. It has only been 8 years since the Asian Tsunami completely destroyed this area.

Comparing tourism and customer service by western standards is tainted, and inaccurate; international tourism is just reaching here, give these guys a break, they are trying very hard.

The room: simple, basic amenities, A/C available and non-a/c rooms
The food: Simple menu, and the management do not mind whether you eat at a different place every night, unlike other places near by.
If you want you can visit the fish market at 6am, choose your catch and they will prepare your and cook it for you for a cooking sur charge.

The manager Michael was really helpful and the lads Peter, Isun and 'Chef' working in the restaurant (Food Hut), work from morning until the early hours. But they could do with more staff in there. They made my stay, my fellow travellers stay a pleasure.. and the beach cabanas were just great.

Thanks All, I will return as I am just over the water in India.

Sam Spickett

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new west, bc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel, not a resort as they named. No one take care garden, poorly managed hotel. Rooms are big, walls have all kinds of stains, cob-webs with small spiders, mirrors were never wiped. NOT VERY NICE BED SHEETS. Resort? They should go look at another resort first!

But this is the only cheap beach hotel in this area, right on the beach. So if you can forget above things you might enjoy a cheap beach hotel, none of the rooms facing the beach side!

Meals are expensive-tourist price-eat in the city, cheaper there. Service is very good and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is such a place where you clearly get what you payed for , it's run by a older gentleman and i think only one housekeeper , there was also someone tending the grounds and theres a beach shack where they do some cooking. the accomodation is dirtcheap (3000 SLR for a non AC room) and we slept with 4 of us in one room because the place was fully booked. It's a beachside location and the beach is the best i've seen in Sri lanka so who needs a big room when you spent all your day at the beach lounging (the beach cabanas are great for that) and swimming between the weird not stinging jellyfish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant

Address: Off A6 highway from Trincomalee, Trincomalee, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Trincomalee
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.