We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Suwon Ambassador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Suwon Ambassador to your Saves list
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132, Gwongwang-ro, Paldal-gu, Suwon, Gyeonggi-do 442-835, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Suwon
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Expensive but not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The rooms are small, stuffy and noisy. The heavy traffic outside and anything that happens in the room next door or on the corridor can be heard, not contributing to a good rest. Airconditioning is centrally controlled and often leaves the room very hot. When it cools, it is very noisy.

With the exception of one very helpful gentleman, front desk staff speak very limited English.

The breakfast is OK, but no more than that. A la carte lunch and dinner are very expensive; food is much better and cheaper at nearby restaurants.

When we left, we needed to travel to Seoul with luggage. We confirmed with the staff that the bus would have a luggage compartment, but it turned out that we could not take the bus with luggage at all. We ended up taking a cab, which we would have done much earlier had we been given correct information.

In all, for US$ 250 per night, I would expect better. In Seoul, this gives you 4- or 5-star options.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    73
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
9
17
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good and friendly service overall. The room is small but clean enough. The location is strategy where you can get food, shopping...most of the thing here. The hotel provide free shuttle service to certain locations which is convenient for peoples.

The hotel is good for business travelers or with group of friends. The hospitality service make me choose them next time. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSuwon, General Manager at Ibis Suwon Ambassador, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear KA L,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Suwon Ambassador. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kwangwoon LEE
General Manager
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I recently went to Korea about 2 weeks ago for the first time due to business. I must say that the hotel itself is mostly a business hotel. Meaning small standing shower and limited room size. I arrived to the hotel early in the morning before check in, unfortunately no rooms were ready.

I must say that the front desk service was excellent. The front desk attendant, her name was Romie, recommended a 설렁탕 (ox bone/beef broth soup) restaurant nearby. Great restaurant that's open 24 hours!

I returned to the hotel and Romie informed me that she had a room ready and gave me my room key. They have a rewards program that helps you earn free nights, so I signed up for it. Might as well get points towards a free night while on travel, am I right?

I will most likely come back to this hotel again when on business or visiting Suwon.

Room Tip: Just put average for the swimming pool and room service because I did not use those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSuwon, General Manager at Ibis Suwon Ambassador, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Edchun86,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the ibis Suwon Ambassador. I am so glad to hear your compliments on our staff.

I will share your comments with our entire team. And, your feedback will certainly serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kwangwoon LEE
General Manager
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my wife on her business trip. The rooms are not large, but this is typical to what I have found in my travels in Korea, Japan and Taiwan. They are, though, clean and in good condition. The front desk staff were extremely helpful in suggestions for shopping and dining in the local area, as well as for tips on transportation into and sights in Seoul. Hana offered to give me her train/bus pass when I had trouble purchasing one on my own, and Romie gave me personal assistance with my needs in the business center. The hotel is a short walk from the Galleria shopping center and numerous dining establishments, and a 5-minute taxi ride from Suwon Station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSuwon, General Manager at Ibis Suwon Ambassador, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Ken K,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the ibis Suwon Ambassador. I am so glad to hear that our staff, Hana and Romie, provided you with practical service.

I will share your comments with our entire team. And, your feedback will certainly serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kwangwoon LEE
General Manager
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Travel to Suwon for business trip last year and stayed here for bout 5 nights. I was there on end of winter year 2012. The Air conditioning system not that good and the satff hardly understand English. The food was nice! and the room is clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSuwon, General Manager at Ibis Suwon Ambassador, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Marquess W,

Thank you for sharing your concerns on air-conditioning. And, I apologise to you for the inconvenient experience you had last winter.

As we have centralised air-conditioning system throughout the building, there were constraints on running both cooling and heating at the same time during the winter.

In regards to our staff' English skills, we will reinforce on foreign language training on entire staff.

Thank you for your kind understanding in advance.

With best regards,

Kwangwoon LEE
General Manager
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have almost stayed nearly 300 nights in this hotel. There are lots of positives about this hotel(See my first review for the positives). Coming to the flip side, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want to stay here in Summer or if you would like to have air conditioner. They don't turn on the AC even in mid summer, you would hear responses like please open your window, other guests will feel cold etc(Even when guests have the option of switching off their AC if they want). I would recommend you to check out a hotel which provides self controlled air conditioner(especially during summers). If you don't mind staying in a pressure cooker or if you don't mind sweating it out in your room instead of the gym then this is the place to be.
.
PS: You will also see a response below from the management giving me the same reasons as above for not turning on the AC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSuwon, General Manager at Ibis Suwon Ambassador, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Kaushik819,

Thank you for sharing your concerns on air-conditioning. And, I apologise to you for the inconvenient experience you had.

As it has been like summer weather this week, we started turning on the air-conditioner. I hope that you will feel better.

Please be assured that we monitor the room temperature during the summer season.

Thank you for your kind understanding in advance.

With best regards,

Kwangwoon LEE
General Manager
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am not sure, how this is a four star hotel. They heat up the room making stay unbearable. They can't turn the air-conditioner on in this season, in the month of May, unbelievable. I am being provided with a electric fan. Rooms are very very small. Bathroom is over as soon as you enter. You can't comfortable stand in the shower. Previously stayed in some small hotels like Landmark hotel. Was thinking atleast IBIS will be better, but its the worst.

I am currently staying in this hotel can't go anywhere already booked this till my tour is over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSuwon, General Manager at Ibis Suwon Ambassador, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Rajesh K,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Suwon.

Concerning air-conditioning of the hotel, it is centralized throughout the hotel floors. Hence, there might be a limitation during a change of season due to the fact that some may feel cold, on the other hand, the others might feel hot, such as you.

However, this does not resolve the dissatisfaction you had. Therefore, I have spoken to the person, in charge of Engineering, and the management will commence on improving air-conditioning system.

Your comments have certainly inspired us to further develop our service staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

I look forward to personally welcoming you and hope that you allow us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future.

Sincerely,

Kwangwoon LEE
General Manager
Ibis Suwon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Suwon Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Suwon Ambassador

Address: 132, Gwongwang-ro, Paldal-gu, Suwon, Gyeonggi-do 442-835, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeonggi-do > Suwon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Suwon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Suwon Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Ambassador Suwon is proud to present you as being the first and only International hotel in the Gyunggi Provincial’s capital. Located in the heart of the historical city, it is the largest building in Happy Suwon and a gateway to the region’s bustling business, financial and shopping precincts. Ibis Ambassador Suwon offers 240 suite- high-tech facility rooms with complimentary high-speed internet, LCD screen television, electronic bidet, in-room safe, gym facilities, sauna etc. The particularity of our hotel is that Wedding and Convention is totally managed by Novotel Ambassador. We also have total 373 parking spaces for our customers’ convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Suwon Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Suwon Hotel Suwon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Suwon Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.