We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vigan Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vigan Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Vigan Plaza Hotel
Mena Crisologo Street, Brgy 2, Ilocos Sur, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vigan
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was outstanding! We showed up late on December 26th 2013 of course there was several travelers in the area. There were 10 of us and they were very accomodating! Outstanding place will positively stay there again if we are in the area. The Hotel was nice, the breakfast was great! The staff was absolutely outstanding and very helpfull! I cannot say enough good things about the Vigan Plaza. The location is excellent, with ease of access to every where in the city that you would want to visit. There are no elevators so keep that in mind when planning your rooms.

Out Standing place!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The history that comes with this hotel is in and of itself a seller. I just do not like the absence of elevators. For senior citizens with knee and hip problems, you might consider this in your decision regarding this place. You will be better off staying on the ground level. Their breakfast buffet which they advertise as good for two days, is only officially offered on the first day, the next is a la cart.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Travelled some ten hours from manila and this hotel is fantastic. Although our room is on the third floor, and the stairs are somewhat steep, the place where we stayed had a very nice ambience. We just arrived an hour ago, but the place is fantastic. I hope i can sleep soundly in a while before we go to crisologo street. We ae eating ilocano food right now and i just hope these food taste good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Vigan Plaza Hotel is an old period house that has been tastefully renovated and converted into a classy accommodation. With its wooden floors and airy and open tiled corridors and open spaces, it is a welcome refuge from the heat and humidity after a day of sightseeing and other activities. The location is enviable- right across from the Plaza Burgos, it is an easy walk to most of the city attraction including the Plaza Salcedo, Vigan Cathedral and the Bell Tower and Crisologo St. One may also hire a Calesa (horse carriage) for a more extensive tour of the city and surrounds, and the Calesa stand is right in front of the hotel.

The rooms are more than adequate and comfortable with period (or replica) antique furniture. However, one of the main drawback (or design flaw) is the bathrooms- too small for comfort. Given the otherwise open and generous design, one wonders how these tiny bathrooms (miniature basin and hardly any room to move) came to feature in the scheme that certainly distracts from the overall comfort level. This is also the first hotel we have encountered in the Philippines that does not provide tea making facilities in the room (hot water in a pot is provided on request). Because of the sprawling nature of the establishment the Internet access can be patchy, with poor or no signals in the rooms at the back. This obviously can be remedied by employing additional routers. The breakfast is served at the in-house Hap Chan Restaurant and is basic but there are plenty of good cafes and restaurants in the immediate surrounds. Moreover, although the service is adequate, some effort should be made to make the service more intimate and the staff more personable. The service is robotic (especially at the front desk), an obvious training rather than individuality issue there. Given the positives in terms of the location and the quality of the establishment itself, with some minor adjustments and better customer interaction, the Vigan Plaza Hotel can be transformed from a good choice to a really great place to stay in Vigan.

Room Tip: Because of the sprawling nature and the absence of elevators, people with disability should ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located in the heart of the world-famous Vigan, The hotel will give you the spanish feeling and will surely bring you back to the spanish time in the philippines (in modern dress with modern gadgets)

It's well furnished with wifi spots all over the area. what makes it special is the aura of spanish/old filipino home design and even the furnitures. A new view for our eyes who are used to see modern styled hotels.

Location? Sooo great since it's a stone's throw away from the UNESCO site Centennial Village, longganisa manufacturer, the big church and the plaza where there's a 30-minute long dancing fountain performance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

One thing that this hotel excel is its location because it is right beside the Calle Crisologo and just across are the calesas. I highly recommend riding a calesa to tour Vigan because aside from it's affordable (just 150 pesos per hour), the kutsero will also serve as the tour guide. Going back to the hotel, it's a value for money. My only complains are: no ref, no wifi, no double lock inside our room (room 210). We can also hear the noise outside the window and even those talking in the hallway. But over all, with the thought that it isn't expensive, we can bear with the minimal flaws. Definitely, we will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel latter part of July. It was a marvelous experience. Their rooms are very clean, the staff really helpful and it has an excellent location just along the famous Calle Crisologo and heritage village. I enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back next summer. On the downside, their water heater doesn't seem to be working well (or is it just in our room?) I noticed hotels in Ilocos are not very well-equipped with functioning water heater. I supposed it's because their weather is hot and humid? Nevertheless I would still prefer to go back to this hotel the next time I'm in Vigan.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back part of the hotel. Since this hotel is located along the famous Crisologo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vigan Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigan Plaza Hotel

Address: Mena Crisologo Street, Brgy 2, Ilocos Sur, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vigan Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vigan Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.