We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent place to stay in Vigan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rica Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Rica Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Rica Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Quirino Blvd, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Vigan B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a decent place to stay in Vigan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Casa Rica late evening, and it was very difficult to find the place. A walking distance from Calle Crisologo, town's center. Our room was quite small, and quite clean. One thing we noticed was the bad smell. I found out that it came from the shower drains. Fortunately, you can close and open the drains. So we opted to keep it close. Aside from that, they don't have a security personnel and generator sets. Not much choices for breakfast, but it was really a nice personal experience eating at a Spanish era dining room. So i would say it is a good place for a solo traveller not for those who have kids with them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Batangas City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our stay at Casa Rica started badly. We'd already booked before learning of Typhoon Vinta's visit so we pushed through with the trip and arrived to find Vigan in darkness. Two things became immediately clear: Casa Rica is not prepared for power shortages and it has no parking provisions. There was no power generator set and the receptionists, while warm and friendly, had to be told that we needed candles at the very least. We had to park the car on the street, exposed to all elements. Fortunately, power was restored later in the night. The bedroom assigned to us was large, clean and spacious, but there was no provision for hanging clothes despite the very nice cabinet inside the room. The bathroom/toilet was rather small, with no shower curtain or divider to prevent the toilet/sink area from getting wet. Worse, the hot and cold shower was not working. The people who work there are well-trained though – very attentive and friendly. I was very impressed with the attitude of their staff and their willingness to bend over backwards to accommodate our every request. I still think Casa Rica is a good, decent, clean place for families. They just have to fix the hot and cold shower and provide for decent parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived on november 1st greeted ny their very friendly staff.
The place is clean.
The room we got was just right for us.
Since we spent majority of our time exploring vigan.

The only dissapointment for me was the VERY WEAK water pressure.

We struggled taking a bath on.
We ask the staff about this and told us that, they do have weak water pressure and won't be able to do anything about it.



  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The only positives about this hotel:
* Staff's exceptional service
* Nicely decored colonial theme
* Nice breakfast area

The negatives:
* The room is very tidy
* The bed has bugs
* It is located right at the edge of the old town
* The noise level of the room is unacceptable. You can hear people talking on the outside of the room.

Room Tip: Do not choose STANDARD ROOM. It is a very tight room indeed. If you have medium sized luggage, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was personally impressed with the service of Casa Rica. We came to Vigan really late coz we couldn't make up our mind whether to stay there or Laoag. When we finally decided on staying in Vigan it was already around 10pm. We just passed by Casa Rica. The staff was very helpful and gladly welcomed us and checked us in without problems. The hotel looked restored but when we spoke to the owner, we found out it has been built from the ground. The place is actually new! Very impressive architecture and hotel furniture which in themselves already showcased the art and heritage of Vigan. My family and I were really impressed with the service and having met the owner gave us an additional enrichment about the city. I will be coming back here and would recommend Casa Rica to my friends! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family had a very memorable and comfortable vacation thanks to Casa Rica! Everything was great. The hotel, with a touch of heritage, was tastefully designed. Cozy, nostalgic, and romantic. Very clean and well-maintained. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. My small kids easily made friends with the people there. Delicious food especially the longganisa and bagnet! The location was superb, near the must-go spots! If you want quality time with family, you can get it in Vigan. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staying at Casa Rica completed our Vigan experience.

I really love the place, the architecture and all. The rooms are also clean and the staff are very warm. We didn't have any problem whatsoever during our stay.

Will definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Rica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rica Hotel

Address: Quirino Blvd, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 10-room Boutique Hotel has been constructed in compliance with the requirements set by Vigan Conservation Council. 90% of the materials used for the hotel are re-purposed from old Ilocos houses. You are welcome to stay with us when you visit this UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Rica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.