We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciudad Fernandina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vigan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
26 Mabini St cor. Plaridel St., Vigan, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Vigan
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice place to stay if you go for a day or two. Location is very central (100 meters from Crisologo street). We had the chance to benefit from a 35% discount due to a rainy season promotion which made the room very affordable and good value for money. Hotel looks brand new, well kept, clean and modern. Rooms are well equipped although no room service menu or mini bar offer. Team is young and pleasant too (good English).
Tried the spa but would recommend the therapist to wear a proper uniform (at least not jeans and tea shirts). Massage was good though compared to what I experienced in Manila.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiudadFernandina, Manager at Ciudad Fernandina Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation and the spa service you availed. We hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After Staying in Laoag for 2 nights, we decided to stay in Vigan for a night. SInce it was an abrupt decision, we had to look for a hotel upon reaching vigan. Discovering Ciudad Fernandina Hotel was a surprise.

SInce the hotel just opened last December, only 1 review had been posted here in trip advisor. We were quite cautious in booking a hotel in Vigan since I have read a lot of reviews saying that the rooms are musty, old etc etc. Ciudad Fernandina is far from being musty and old. The hotel is very new and i would say that the architecture was really spent on. The bed, comforter and pillows are of great quality too and I would say that you are assured of a quality sleep.

The restaurant in the hotel serves pasta and sandwiches as their specialty. In our case, we brought in Lobsters and Crabs and just asked them to cook them for us and they gladly accommodate our request with a minimal fee. The utensils in the restaurant are of top quality too. Service was great too!

The hotel is situated a few blocks from Calle Zaragosa and a few minutes walk to the plaza. There are Kalesas roaming around just in case you want to experience Vigan the old fashion way. You can rent the kalesa for P150 (approximately $4) per hour.

We came during off peak season so we got to enjoy 35% off from the hotel's published rates. Standard Room P 2,795, Superior Room P 3,295, Deluxe (twin or Queen) Room P 4,295. Breakfast is not included if you avail of the 35 % discount.

Overall, i like the hotel so much. the location, service and the quality of the hotel itself i would really recommend it. It is a bit pricey though for budget travelers but why not stay here if you can afford it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

To start off, this is not the first review of this hotel here. For another review of the place, check out the review for Fernandinina Hotel. Anyway, this site was our main reason for not booking a hotel in Vigan ahead of time. After hearing of all the horror stories about hotels here, we decided to just book when we arrive.

The trip was pleasant and, for the most part, uneventful (although several portions of the highway are one way due to construction which made our trip longer than it should have been). When we arrived, we decided to check out the sites before booking a hotel. Then it poured. Heavily. So we decided to check out Vigan Hotel. The first room we were shown was a bit musty so we asked to see another room. The second one had a strong urine-like smell so we decided to move on. We knew going in that some of the other hotels/inns reviewed on this site had similar complaints so we decided to bite the bullet and head to Ciudad Fernandina.

We had already seen their website and felt that, while expensive, this would be the place that would best suit our needs. Our first problem was finding the place. We contacted them to tell them we were from out of town and didn't know our way around. We decided to head to Plaza Salcedo and the Vigan Cathedral, where we waited for someone to guide us. They sent a guy out in the rain and we followed his bike to the hotel. After checking the room to make sure that it met our needs check-in was a breeze. Their credit card facilities were unavailable at the time so we paid in cash. Only a deposit was required but I paid in full. La lang. The room we got (Superior) was quite small but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. They used a 600 thread count linen which was very nice on the skin. The toilet and bath facilities were excellent. Overall, the room was an excellent business man's room of international standard. The airconditioning unit could have been better located elsewhere though as I don't enjoy air getting blown directly at my head, but it was very cool and highly adjustable. The TV was a bit small and there was no fridge or mini-bar. The room had a small safe but I didn't bother using it. We had a lot of tech stuff but felt very safe with the housekeeping and, true enough, did not lose anything.

Another good reason to stay here is its accessibility to Calle Crisologo and Heritage Village. Located just a block away (a very small block), walking there will take about a minute or less. There is a bakery at the corner of Mabini and Crisologo (and a Legacy Super Club on the other side, if you're into that sort of thing) and Irene's Empanadahan is not too far (less than 5 minutes). The Plaza is about 10-15 minutes by foot. The reason we went around on foot is because there is so much to see along Crisologo. Getting around by car was a slightly more daunting task because of all the one way streets (which were quite tight because of the parked cars) but quite manageable since Vigan is a very small city so getting lost won't bring you far away. The hotel does not have a parking lot so parking will be along the street.

The reason why I only rated this hotel average is because of the price. I've stayed in better hotels throughout my travels and paid less for them. In fairness to this hotel, most of the other hotels and inns look overpriced too, for what they offer. The food in the cafe is quite satisfactory, but I only recommend you avail of the free breakfast. It is quite expensive if you have to pay for meals there. Steps in Vigan are quite deep and can be quite difficult to climb, and this hotel made no exception. We were located in the 3rd floor which made it quite difficult to get to. Combine this with the hot weather of Vigan and we were none too happy about this. They say an elevator is in the works but that is small consolation to me right now.

The steep steps are compounded by the lack of phones in the room or any intercom system so if you need something, be prepared to walk. Checkout was an exceptionally unpleasant experience because of this since we brought our luggage ourselves. While I didn't think of this earlier, try getting a cell phone number of one of the front desk people so you can contact them if you need anything. It may save you some grief. Wifi is available but only in public areas, most of which are out in the open. For someone from Baguio, this can be quite uncomfortable. It would have been nice if they could boost the signal up to the rooms.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to travelers for whom expense is no object but are looking for the most comfortable rooms. While I have not tried other hotels in Vigan, I am quite confident that, based on pictures posted and websites visited, Ciudad Fernandina will have one of the most modern facilities here. For those looking for a different, more rustic experience, look elsewhere. I would still consider staying here when I return, if my budget allows it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

After checking in to a different Hotel in Vigan, we found Hotel Fernandina
accidentally on a walk in nearby Crisologo St.

The place looked new and very stylish from the outside, so we decided to
inquire for the rates and had the rooms shown. The first look confirmed the
classy overall impression the hotel gave, and the rates were reasonable.
So we decided to give it a try and booked two rooms for two nights.

The rooms we were assigned, were quite small, but given the limited space
available in this location this was appropriate.

The first blow to the good impression came, when we asked for the combination
of their safety deposit box, and were told it was the room number, and that
those boxes were not bolted to any solid peace of furniture.

The next setback was the staff at their Restaurant. The six of us were not
assigned a fitting table, we had to bother other guests to make room.
After taking our orders, both staff disappeared until our food was ready,
and neither us nor other guests were able to place additional orders.

But the high point of incompetence arrived, when we booked our transport
onward to Laoag. We asked for a van for six people on our check-out date,
and were surprised when the staff rang us the day before and told us, the
van was waiting. This wouldn't have been a problem, misunderstandings happen.

But on check-out, we were presented a balance that seemed a little steep and
were not given a detailed statement. They also asked whether we would like to
settle the transport bill with them or the driver.
Only when we asked for the statement, we were told, that we would have to pay
TWO car rentals - the mistaken one and the actual one.
This - IMHO - comes close to fraud.
Only after a slightly heated argument, the additional costs were deducted from our
bill.

It's a pity, that the unprofessionality of the staff can spoil the impression
of a very nice place.

My rating would have been:
Value for Money: ***** (Excellent)
Staff: * (Terrible)

So all in all only: *** (Average)

Two more things: Be prepared to walk! There are no phones in the rooms (they say,
yet). And bring plenty of cash, surprisingly, for a hotel like this, credit
cards are NOT accepted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciudad Fernandina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciudad Fernandina Hotel

Address: 26 Mabini St cor. Plaridel St., Vigan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciudad Fernandina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ciudad Fernandina Hotel to your Saves list