We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rich in history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Syquia Mansion

Syquia Mansion
Corner Quirino Boulevard and Salcedo Street, Vigan, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 attractions in Vigan
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Butuan, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“rich in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I didn’t regret visiting this mansion as it is rich with history, every nook & corner or furniture are full of stories. It is an enlightening trip, its like glancing back at the past. In all the mansions in Vigan, only the Syquia Mansion has a guide to tell the history of the house and its past owners, even the little details like a simple furniture or every division of the house has a story to tell. It was like reliving the past. Me and my friend arrived 5 minutes before 9 o’clock the opening time, thankfully the owner let us came in. The downside on this is when other tourists arrived then the guide have to start at the beginning to accommodate the new arrival. No entrance fee but only a donation, how great is that? Highly recommended for the history buff like me.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting & Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

One of my favorite things about travel is just walking through neighborhoods gazing at different homes and when you can actually go INSIDE, all the better. I've got to hand it to the city of Vigan for preserving this historic Spanish mansion & for keeping the velvet ropes to a minimum. It's so nice to be able to explore a place unrestricted.

Be sure to enlist a tour guide for this, especially if you're unfamiliar with the history! We didn't have one at first & really had no context. There are no signs to help you along (which I appreciate, preserves the homey feel). Luckily we were able to speak to a resident guide at the tail end.

Was the best sight in Vigan for us (unfortunately Calle Crisologo was closed). But we didn't love Vigan. Stunning architecture yes, but it's one of those places that really only exists for tourism. There are so many other places to get your Spanish architecture fix (like for example well, Spain!). I'd leave this off the Philippines itinerary & enjoy the mountains, beaches & wildlife instead.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga, Zamboanga, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Its a perfect historical mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A lot of things to learn from here.. from Pres. Elpedio Quirino to Syquia family. Its very informative. Thanks to the family who keep parts of their pasts, we've learn a lot from aged. we still saw the grandson (already old) of Pres. Elpedio Quirino in the upstair room watching TV. The mansion has a lot of connecting rooms, their dirty kitchen has still enough utensils. They showed us some artifacts in the mansion. There's no fee to visit here but just a donation for the maintenance.. a must visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Heritage delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A good place to visit, very informative as the guide is very informative even showed us some artifacts which are centuries old. One of the highlights of the visit is we saw an exact replica of the "Spolarium" done a student of Juan Luna with his blessing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Keeping a bit of History is always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lots of things i learned in this museum.. from Pres Elpidio Quirino to the Sy-Quia's to the history and importance of mirrors, to why the olden day helpers were called aliping saguiguilid, to hidden staircases.. ahhh... lots of things we learn only from being there. Thank you to Filipino families who keep parts of their pasts available for the new generation to see and appreciate. Thank you too for the loyal friends of the Syquia family for taking care of their house for generations.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syquia Mansion also viewed

Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
 
Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
 

Been to Syquia Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syquia Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Syquia Mansion to your Saves list