We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gordion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gordion Hotel to your Saves list
Gordion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   V. delos Reyes corner Salcedo Sts., Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vigan
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“History and value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is a classic 3 star hotel. Everything you need without a lot of trimmings except that it is in a great location, around the corner from Crisologia Street and it is an historic site. The room was quite small, especially for two, but we only had a standard room. There are bigger and better rooms. The room was clean and everything worked. Staff were very responsive and friendly. Not so keen on the breakfast and we did not try other meals. It has a dining room and is close to other good eating places.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, an upgrade above standard will give more space and, possibly, better ambience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Perhaps the strongest endorsement I can give the Gordion Hotel is that I would not hesitate to stay there again on a future trip to Vigan. The place is warm, charming and attractive, and fits the atmoshere of the city and of a bygone era. The location is convenient to Vigan's attractions, just a block from the famed Calle Crisologo, and a short walk or carriage ride to good restaurants, markets, museums, Plaza Salcedo, Plaza Burgos, and Vigan Cathedral.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Large verandas look out over the rooftops. Staying here is like a trip back in time, with the rich wooden features, artwork and grand staircases. The complimentary breakfast was buffet style, with a good selection and quality food. We had a wonderful experience in both the Gordion Hotel, and the city of Vigan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The main reason in visiting Vigan is the famous heritage street, "Calle Crisologo". Fortunately, Gordion Hotel is situated few steps away from this famous street.

The ambiance in Gordion is nice, very relaxing. The customer service is good. They also serve good food. The rooms are clean and bed are very comfortable to sleep with.

We discovered this hotel by accident few years back and since then, it's our number one hotel accommodation when in Vigan.

They support local tourism advocacy too so let's patronize business with great sense of tourism awareness.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Reserved thru email & sms with prompt reply. After a 5 hour ride from Baguio, I was so relieved when they handed us a welcome towel & drinks upon check in. The climate was as warm as their welcome. I reserved a standard room but they don't have available so they gave us a room upgrade of a deluxe which i was surprised & glad because the room was really big.Stayed 1 night.The price of the room even for a standard was like the price of a deluxe compared to what I was expecting--- though it's worth it's value. The hotel environment including the hallways, balcony, lights, garden & furniture gave it a truly cozy, rustic, relaxing, homey feel, .Great location, yummy breakfast,! Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room near their balcony/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Location - this is just a few steps away from one of the main reasons for visiting Vigan - the World Heritage site of Crisologo Street.
Good value for money - breakfast is basic but am satisfied. Internet service available. The staff are very helpful. They have a yard that served as parking space which is good since Vigan has narrow streets for street parking.
Their ACs though are window type that are very loud that mimic the sound of sleeping in an airplane but I was tired from the all day travelling that I slept through it.
Overall I'm satisfied with out stay.

Room Tip: Request for a room away from the streets if you can because the tricycles are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location, steps away from restored historic area. Standard room we booked was windowless on the ground floor, but they gave us an upgrade to a second floor deluxe room. Once we learned that the opaque window panels do slide open, we were happy there. Clean, staff cheerful and helpful. Roof-top deck had no umbrellas or chairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I am a lover of antiques so every time I think of having a vacation, Vigan comes first on my list. I never tried advance reservation because even if I go there as walk in, I still able to get a room. I have tried many hotels from high to low since I‘ve been there for like a zillion times (of course I’m exaggerating) Anyway, Not many have gave me a good impression.

I don’t have my own car so I traveled by bus. Of course mamang tricycle driver was always there waiting for me to hop in, got lucky he only collected 20 pesos this time unlike last time oh geez...was it 100 pesos? He asked me where to go...I didn’t answer immediately because I was thinking whether to go to hotels near plaza Burgos, but on the second thought, I wanted to try other hotels, so I told mamang driver to take me to a hotel where he think offers the best.

He took me to Gordion hotel. From the outside I know it wasn’t new so I was struggling whether to get inside or try the hotel beside it because it looks newer, but I entered nevertheless. And I’m so glad I did. As I enter I saw the big piece of art...antique...whether it’s authentic or not, I don’t mind, I just love what I’m seeing..the beauty of simplicity...the memories of old times.

The front desk offered me a deluxe room and I said it’s fine since the rate is reasonable, so the attendant took me there. It was on the second floor. As I seeing the whole of the hotel my mind starts to wander...back in time. But my wandering mind stopped when the attendant opened the door and showed me the room...too big for a solo traveler like me, but it doesn’t matter, I love the ambiance...and wow...I didn’t expect it to be very clean. The bed looks so comforting I wanted to sleep right away but I wanted to relax a little bit and decided to smoke but the front desk clerk advised me not to smoke inside so I had to find the smoking area. I saw the terrace near my room so I walked there.

I was enjoying my cigarette while looking at the stars, of course there should be stars because it’s dark already and the weather is normal, then when I looked down, I saw stars again...sure it wasn’t the stars we see up in the sky... little lights as if planted in a brick wall. I wasn’t able to figure out what it was but I guess it was a garden because I saw plants, tables and chairs and I’m hearing mellow music too. I didn’t realize I was thinking so hard guessing what it was. My curiosity is killing me so I hurriedly went down and asked the reception what it is. Garden by the Ruins, that’ what she told me, it is where I shall be having my breakfast. It’s a pity I didn’t bring my fiance with me. I could have proposed right there and then( haha) well, there’s always a next time..sure thing. Wow, did I write this long??? Hahaha alright to cut it short. I found my home here in Vigan, clean, nice, and just perfect for me.

Room Tip: deluxe room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gordion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordion Hotel

Address: V. delos Reyes corner Salcedo Sts., Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gordion Hotel is a heritage hotel that maintains the character of the heritage zone. The hotel welcomes you with the exquisite facilities that you need to satisfy your requirement and expectations in an atmosphere of history, culture, and comfort. Gordion Hotel, in the heart of Vigan City, Ilocos Sur, Philippines, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is parallel to the famous Crisologo St. where shopping and tourist areas are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gordion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.