We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Angela. Must Stay in Vigan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Angela Heritage House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Angela Heritage House to your Saves list
Villa Angela Heritage House
#26 Quirino Blvd., Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Vigan B&B and Inns
Marikina, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Villa Angela. Must Stay in Vigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It was recommended by a friend of mine. She said she wanted to go old school by staying at a old house, so we did.
It was more than what I expected from what I saw on the internet.144 years in existence, the place will offer you the feeling of nostalgia while staying. Starting from the stairs, to the receiving area, to your very own room, it just as if you are just staying at a friend's house instead of a hotel. the receptionists are very friendly and accommodating. Just a few walks from the famous Calle Crisologo.

Very affordable too, and it gets cheaper when you are staying with a group of friends.

Room Rates ranges from 2500 pesos/good for 2/3 to 3500 pesos good for 5. It also comes with free breakfast so it also saves you some money.

And did I mentioned kids below 7years old are free?!

Room Tip: The rooms are very big, so if there 6 of you travelling. better get the room good for 5 then just ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
27
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Since Vigan is a World Heritage Site, i wanted a hotel to reflect this characteristic. The rooms are styled in the manor, the beds are very unique and styled appropriately, great wooden flooring and staircase. The hotel is in a good location, had a good breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

As the headline says: its an old heritage place. And the caretakers add charme on it. Upon arrival we felt welcome and pampered. The place is just loaded with antiques and as Vigan shows it already- we could really feel, how it was decades ago there.

Room Tip: Tom Cruise has been there- you can ask for that room. Its big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Staff were very courteous and gave a homey atmosphere - in tune to both the renowned Filipino hospitality and the fact that the place used to be a private home.

The place is more than 140 years old and we really felt like we were staying over at a small museum. The wooden flooring, elegant furniture, wide staircase, small wooden door sills, capiz windows, high ceilings for both floors were something to marvel at.

More than anything, the place is located conveniently 2 corners away from the main tourist spot, Calle Crisologo.

Room Tip: Try to get the master bedroom... to feel like a noble stuck in the Spanish era. Don't worry, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We slept on Tom Cruise room lol ! Super big and you'll appreciate the escapade brought by the details of the room. The loo is alright and good bed!! Yummy breakfast, nice and warm staffs!. They have shortcut path to heritage village, 100% no ghost or creepy things.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malolos, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We decided to stay at Villa Angela based on reviews i read from TripAdvisor. I booked a room for 6. I am a Filipino and saw a lot of ancestral homes, i must say that Villa Angela is one of the most well kept old house. Definitely the place is already showing its age but its clean. Our stay in this place is very unique. Lots of place to take picture. One can appreciate the details of this house by looking at it from every corner. I supposed most of the people who stayed here had their photo ops in most areas of the house.

The service is highly commendable. The staff were accommodating and they act on requests immediately. We love the breakfast served and how it was served. Kuya was in full service to us while we were eating. Now I know this is Ilocano hospitality.

The place has a good parking area. We never took the car going around as there is a door behind the house which leads you to Calle Crisologo, the famous street in Vigan. I also noticed that the price of the basi and longanisa were cheaper if not equal the price along Calle Crisologo. So we ordered bulk from them and just picked the items on our way back home coming from Pagudpud.

For the price of our room, our stay is super worth it.

Room Tip: The cuartos de las hijas is good for family of 6. The room is so big that extra cot can be accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor, although the facade is quite ugly (not the original colonial facade). The room was quaint and huge, but, though we had our own bathroom, it was down the hall, in extremely poor shape, and the (Philippino) breakfast was extremely basic. They realy haven't made any adjustments to the house to hold guests, so I guess it's authentic (except facade) but not ideal. When we arrived, we weren't given any type of reception, it felt like we were intruding in someone's house. There are tons of beautifully restored hotels in the center (the hotel is not far though, just a 10 minute walk to the center), that you won't actually find on Tripadvisor nor the usual travel sites, so perhaps better to just show up and book on site - you'll have a huge choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Angela Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Angela Heritage House

Address: #26 Quirino Blvd., Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a rich depository of the family's relics and memorabilia acquired through the years, Villa Angela remains a showcase of the family's past and present standing in the Vigan community. The upper floor has been continuously maintained to be as elegant as it was over 100 years ago. The rooms are filled with antique furniture seen only in big colonial houses. On the lower floor, what were once storage areas for the family's farm produce of rice, corn, maguey, and tobacco have been converted into cozy dormitory-style rooms which can accommodate larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Angela Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Angela Heritage House Hotel Vigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Angela Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.