We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Leona

Cafe Leona
Mena Crisologo St, Vigan, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Vigan
Cuisines: Japanese, Filipino, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was a packed night so we opted to dine al fresco. Old buildings, cobblestone paths, good company, great food and nice staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    68
    40
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ruined our Mother's day dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent mother's day 2013 at Vigan. It is our first time at this historical city, after a whole day of walking and visiting different tourist spots in Vigan we decided to have our dinner at Cafe Leona which is one of the many restaurants located just before entering the famous calle crisologo.

First: The person who took our order seems like it is his first day on the job. My sister asked several questions on what sauce was on a specific pasta he keeps on stepping out asking his colleague and got back to us.

Second: We ordered Pinakbet Pizza 300 pesos, 2 White Pastas 90 pesos each and Pork Maginelato 180 pesos, After many follow ups and almost an hour of waiting, they served the Pizza. After finishing our pizzas we again asked for a follow up for our pasta after 15 min it was served. The waiter did not even apologized for the delay, he just placed our food on the table and quickly went off. He was rude, not smiling and just kept on ignoring the situation.

This is supposed to be a special day for our mom, It is the one of the few occassions she gets be pampered, served and cared. But it turned out to be one of the most stressful situation we encountered.

I would not recommend Cafe Leona if your visiting Vigan, specially if you want to impress and celebrate an occassion with your family. I would rather recommend Cafe Uno / Uno grille their food is great and their service is quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Ilocos Sur together with my boyfriend for the first time. It was already our second day in Ilocos Sur and we are preparing to go home that day to Baguio. There are a lot of other restaurants around, however, we decided to eat at Cafe Leona for breakfast since this restaurant is very popular in Vigan and we don't want to miss it. The first time we entered the restaurant, the ambiance is dull and dark, no staff even greeted us or even assisted us on our table. The staff seems busy and they did not even bother taking our orders, we even have to get their attention every time. We were quite disappointed because the service is not good and yet they have an overpriced food. The food is quite good and in big servings, but they should also take in consideration that service also matters aside from the food they serve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Passable food in pleasant, lively surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

With its breezy location near the town square, at the edge of the cobbled tourist strip, I was expecting a more unique atmosphere. But somehow it all felt so inexplicably generic, even in the pretty glow of the falling dusk. Sure, the vibe was upbeat and cosmopolitan. Yet it didn't quite add up to a special experience.

This place offers a wide range of dishes, so maybe I just picked the most underwhelming items. Everything was just above-average, from the so-so sangria to the sufficiently tasty appetizers. Meh.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I may say that their menu is overwhelming, however they have ready made food to choose from (which is better when you are very hungry). Got the creamy chicken with baby corn, paksiw na tilapia, spicy pork/beef and seaweed salad. I should say, their food is so tasty, really good.

Ordered 1 pepperoni pizza. They are all tasty. But I wasn't expecting that their pizza will be that incredible, I love the dough and how they cooked it. Chewy and crispy like New york pizza. The tomato sauce is good and their cheese is perfect, No need to add salt. You have to try it.

I am a foodie and I may say, a very good cook and also loves to bake, It is not easy for me to like other people's food creations unless it is really good,.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Leona also viewed

Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
 
Vigan, Ilocos Sur Province
 

Been to Cafe Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.