We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Bhoomi Guest House

Buddha Bhoomi Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lumbini
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buddha Bhoomi Guest House
Save
You added Buddha Bhoomi Guest House to your Saves list
in front of Lumbini main gate, Lumbini, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Lumbini B&B and Inns
Barrington, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best value, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed one night in a basic 3rd floor double room with private bath, excellent value. Excellent shower. Lumbini has unpredictable electricity so the generator can be a bit loud when sitting in the dining room. Food was great though. The manager was very helpful too and even Organised our whole Chitwan package at a much lower than advertised cost (even though we didn't go with his preferred option). Even though it's a pretty nasty view of lots of rubbish out the window this is a friendly, well priced, well located place to stay in Lumbini. They also have bicycle hire (we definitely recommend this feature!)

Room Tip: Probably try to get a room as far away from the generator as possible (we were on third floor and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

4 stars for this place in Lumbini. If it was anywere else i would have given 3 stars.
But Lumbini has a lot of awefull hotels and guesthouses so thats why i gave 4.
The guesthouse has spacious enough rooms. We had rooms 305, 306 and 307. Not all rooms have a good Wifi reception. In those rooms we had good strong WiFi connection.
Rooms are clean, and so are the bedsheets and bathroom.
There was a back-up light when the power was gone and sometimes they start there generator for extra power. I think the generator was only running when they need it in the kitchen.
The shower is not that much. No power at all and the most holes in the showerhead where blocked. No real hot water.
The beds are comfy. Breakfast (included) was ok. Bread, eggs, juice, coffee or tea brown patatoes, jam and butter. Good enough. Room rates (double 1 night) 1000 rs (single 700).
Staff is very friendly and willing to help in any way. They speak good english. We rented bikes (200 rs a day) to see the park. Entrance of the park is just 1 minute from the guesthouse.
They have a nice rooftop but there are no tables or chairs. Otherwise it would be a great place to sit in the sun.
As others also have writen: There are a lot of musquitos'in this place. I dont no why but they are there. We knew it so we bought a bugspray before and that was enough to keep them out or dead :)
No streatnoise so we had a good night sleep. Walls are very thin and if someone enters the hallway you har it in your room and in the hallway you can hear people speaking in there rooms.

Overall we would stay here again thats fo sure.

1 thing ---- and TIP ---- if you travel from Lumbini tot Pokhara you can book a tickt in the guesthouse with Sakura travel. We paid 750 npr for 1 ticket. It should be an express bus. From lumbini to butwal, mugling, pokhara. Only compagny who ride an express to pokhara 3 or 4 times a week. They told us it would take 6 or at the most 7 hours. We took this bus instead of going to Tansen/palpa and from there to Pokhara.

BIG MISTAKE. NEVER, EVER book a ticket with SAKURA TRAVEL. NEVER.
Why ??....
1) The express bus is no express bus but turn into a local bus. That takes 4 hours more.
2) The ticket price is someimes 500 or 750 or 900 ?????? Thats tripple the price of a nomal ticket without the service
3) There wher only 10 seats booked and still the manage to book 3 people on seat 1 and 4 people on seat 2 (best seats in the bus)
4) You go from Lumbini tot Bhairawha. There you have to change busses (early in the morning). It took 45 minutes to 1 hour extra.
5) Busses are in bad condition (they say they are only 1 yar old --> HAHAHAH). Ours broke down and it took more then 2 hours to fix the problem.
6) They dont give any info when there is a delay. Just let you stand in the middle of nowhere !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A very good location for people visiting the MayaDeva Gardens.
Very reasonable prices Excellent helpful staff with very good English.
Can hire bikes to get around also has fastest Internet have found so far in Nepal.
Highly Reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very friendly staff, good location, fairly clean rooms, nice breakfast, good wifi. However there were a few more bugs than we would have liked and the water was lukewarm at best. We were without electricity for about 30 minutes at one point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruvannamalai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

During the many power outages they would not turn on their generator. When I wnet down several times, then they turned it on. The rooms were so hot without the fans that it was unbearable. We barely were able to sleep all night. Staying at this place made the next day terrible, too. We were both cross and irritable. Do not stat here. Ever.

Room Tip: Stay away from the west side of the building, too hot from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When I saw the unusually big and fat gecko high up on the wall in my room, I knew something was up. The room looked OK when I checked in during the day. But when night falls, countless insects from the poorly screened room gather around the light bulbs, and many land on the bed, on me, and on everywhere. And they bite. Mosquitoes, moths, bugs, gnats (some size of a grasshopper), etc etc. Oh did I mention NO HOT WATER? The front desk said "hot water 24 hours" when my friends and I checked in. But what that front desk dude, who was far less than completely honest with things, didn't tell us was "hot water is available 24 hours a day, on a FIRST COME FIRST SERVE basis", so if the tank of hot water is used up, sorry, only cold water shower for you. The only somewhat positive thing about this guest house is wi-fi seems good. The insects are just too gross - there are so many of them it's like somebody has spilled a whole bag of sesame seeds. We are checking out after one night and will never come back again.

Room Tip: PhD's who study insects or other insect lovers by all means stay here. Not sure who else would w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethnal Green, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for four nights in this place. Lumbini was our first destination of nine months of back packing. Although my first impression was dubious, the staff made our stay comfortable and memorable and in retrospect it was one of the cleanest, well kept and comfortable paces (especially the bathroom!) of any guesthouses that we stayed in for this budget range.

The location is great and the food yummy and reliable in the restaurant. The guy that runs it was helpful and so lovely to us. We did look around a few other guest houses in the town and this was by far the best for the price!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face onto the large swamp of water as there are millions of mosqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddha Bhoomi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha Bhoomi Guest House

Address: in front of Lumbini main gate, Lumbini, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lumbini
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Bhoomi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.