We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our least favorite Nepal hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lumbini Garden Hotel

Lumbini Garden Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lumbini
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumbini Garden Hotel
Save
You added Lumbini Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Buddhanagar, Mahilwar, Lumbini, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lumbini
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our least favorite Nepal hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The AC kept turning off, the power was spotty, the kitchen had no choices and was overpriced for certain items. We ended up going into town to get food (but that wasn't much better). The place just seemed a bit deserted and depressing. We would not return to this place.

It's not all bad, though. I know power outages happen in Nepal, and the country is not quite up to first-world standards. The hotel staff were generally nice, and one of them even ran into me while I was walking around in the city and offered me a ride on his motorcycle (not something I'd arranged prior - just a nice act on his part). I appreciate all of that, but I just think I'd rather stay somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a one night stay here in July. The air-con in the room was terrible, and in the end we had to move our beds to try and get some airflow! It was incredibly hot (both inside the room and out). The food in the hotel was poor - for lunch I had the sweet n sour chicken, which did not look like or taste like chicken at all. Breakfast was dry and mostly not very tasty. We ended up eating at the restaurant next to the hotel for dinner and it was delicious! I can't remember what it was called, but it was dark and looked like a shed, and if you are looking at the hotel it is to left (right next door). Amazing and cheap food, much better than the hotel! Also, the staff at reception were ok, but one man was particularly unhelpful. Our tour guide provided by the hotel was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. The hotel has a huge sprawling garden and a large hotel lobby and restaurant.
Food at the hotel was only average. Infact did not have choices even for breakfast. The excuse was that if we ordered something different for each of us, it will take too long to prepare... That's crap don't you think. The room was large and comfortable. The heaters worked well and had a good night sleep. The water pressure and hot water was perfect. Electricity did come off and on at times but the back up was quite fast. Location, excellent, just walked over to Buddha's Garden..directly opposite. A good place for a day or two max..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our entourage was in high spirits when we landed at Lumbini Airport - via Buddha Air, no less, and the Lumbini Garden Hotel did seem like a great way to kickstart the actual pilgrimage leg of the 10-day tour. Nice facade, well-manicured lawns, and welcoming reception desk. Had a twin-room to myself. It wasn't a major letdown per se - mostly, things worked the way they were supposed to - except for a few electrical sockets which essentially didn't do anything. Only while checking out in the morning did I notice a strange (almost faecal) stain on the bedsheet (no, it wasn't from me!) The buffet spread (lunch/dinner/breakfast) was passable - certainly not the best we had during the entire trip. Again, we were probably all psyched-up about being in Buddha's birthplace...but as the other reviewers had mentioned, the hotel is probably average on the whole - but for a night, it is OK...just check your sheets before hand :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
517 reviews 517 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
1,269 helpful votes 1,269 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ideally located for Lumbini and perefect for an overnight stop - try to eat before you arrive or walk intp the small town as the food is not good, they want tyou to have the overpriced and poorly tasting buffet - avoid it at all costs... the gardens are fine but the rooms are not cleaned or maintained and have a large variety of insect life - including in the bed and under the pillows. Such a shame as the drive up and the main lobby are quite impressive so only add to expectations which they cannot meet.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

First of all, lumbini is not a place to spend more than one night. Preferably, make it a day trip if you are not on pilgrimage journey. It is extremely hot (winter should be better) and due to poverty, the area is quite dirty. Ok now back to the room. The outside of the hotel looks grand. The moment we step into the room, it is dusty and the toilet shower curtain looked unchanged since the hotel been there few decades back. Bed sheets are stained. Booked an AC room but it's as good as no AC due to constant power cut. We were the only 3 guests in the hotel and yet it took them one hour to prepare fried noodles. Bear in mind they have more than 6 staff working in the restaurant. The only plus point of this hotel is the main attraction which is Buddha birthplace, is only opposite. I am however not sure if other hotel is any better because I walked around and saw the guesthouse around. It's doesn't look very clean as well... So bottomline is, only spend ur night there when you really have to.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Although the location is great and the outside appearance of the hotel is good, it didn't make up for the condition of the room. Our bed was wet because the A/C unit dripped onto it, the toilet didn't flush completely, and the general cleanliness of the room was unacceptable. Since we stayed two nights, we told the front desk about the room deficiencies, but nothing was changed for the following night. When we moved the bed ourselves, it was obvious that the A/C had been leaking for quite some time as the wall and carpet were saturated and moldy. That said, the front desk staff was welcoming and pleasant as was the staff in the bar.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lumbini Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbini Garden Hotel

Address: Buddhanagar, Mahilwar, Lumbini, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lumbini
Number of rooms: 233

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumbini Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.