We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Changu Narayan

Changu Narayan
Bhaktapur, Nepal
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$385*
and up
4-Day Kathmandu Valley Trekking Tour Including...
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in Bhaktapur
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Hellendoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Real life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lively temple, get your basket with things outside and get your blessings. Nice experience, just go for it. Sit down and watch, smile and u deffinally get some contacts.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    79
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Off the main tourist trail but well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a lovely place to visit. Having been to Kathmandu a number of times we were looking for somewhere new to visit and this was it. It's a great little place to go to, just a short drive from Bhaktapur (about 30-40 minutes from Kathmandu itself). A few tourist shops line the walk from the car park to the Temple area and museum but these are not typically Thamel tourist shops (although some of the products are the same) but it has a lovely local, authentic feel. We bought some super handmade hats which were so cheap. It has a feel of going back in history (as does a lot of Nepal) but time really has stood still here. The temple area is interesting and quite extensive and there is a little museum of living traditions in the courtyard of the temple itself. There are nominal entrance fees but it's just lovely to be supporting something traditional and well done. There are a few café/restaurants as well and we tried the one nearest to the temple and sat in a rooftop terrace overlooking the temple which was lovely.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our guide took us to Changu after Bhaktapur sightseeing. This is a place one should never miss out. The architecture is amazing. We were left spellbound.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
“An ansient temple need repair and preserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I went to visit this temple which is a bit away form Bhaktpur, it is in a bit hill side, This is an very ancient temple and very interesting to see, it has great wood carving. I found that most of the support of wood were nearly broken and even consultation is also need to repair, This temple is interesting to see once.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and Beautiful Trip up the hill side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was staying at Ganesh Guest House in Bhaktapur and the owner was so so nice to take me up here on his motorcycle. The drive was amazing, seeing the beautiful green countryside with dots of red (the women in the field). Changu Narayan itself was very quiet in the evening, so it made for a nice experience. Started to rain a bit as we were coming back so it was cool and nice journey altogether.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Changu Narayan also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Changu Narayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changu Narayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.