We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The longer you stay, the more problems you see” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vajra Guest House & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vajra Guest House & Restaurant to your Saves list
Vajra Guest House & Restaurant
Balakhu-10, Durbar Area, Bhaktapur 8867, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The longer you stay, the more problems you see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for 16 days for work, so I was able to experience this hotel at its fullest. First of all, let me begin with the positive: the location is great - a two minute walk to Durbar square. Secondly, the two young men who work in the restaurant, Binod and Rajeev, are the best part of the guesthouse. They are so sweet and will go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. Mr. Daya, who is one of the owners but doesn't really get involved in the day to day operation of the hotel, is wonderful and extremely knowledgeable about Bhaktapur, its history, festivals. etc. I just wish he would get more involved in managing the place.

The rooms themselves aren't very impressive - quite basic really, but more importantly, they are extremely noisy. If you get a room facing the street, you will be woken up every morning between 5.30 to 6 by series of mini orchestras - very loud trumpets, drums, etc.., which goes on for several hours. Believe me there wasn't a single Miles Davis in the bunch - I realize the hotel can't do anything about this, but you should be aware of this. At night, you will hear motorcycle horns, dogs barking, and people talking very loudly under your window. If, however, you get a room facing the courtyard, you will basically hear very loud tour groups yelling at each other from one floor to the next and Newaris getting drunk, so getting a good night's sleep is not really an option. In addition, there are frequent electricity cuts, and the hotel doesn't have a generator, which they really should get as it also affects the wifi reception. There is free wifi, but it is extremely slow and very often doesn't work. The rooms don't have air conditioning, but you can request a fan, which works when there is electricity, of course.

Housekeeping is a bit "iffy." Sometimes they make up your room, and sometimes they don't. You will need to remind them to clean the room. After about 8 days, I had to complain to the manager that my sheets or towels hadn't been changed since I arrived - it took them another 4 days to get around to doing it - yeah, I know a few days before I left.

However, my biggest bone with them is their pricing. There doesn't seem to be any logic to it. Could the different pricing be based on age, gender, nationality, etc..? Who knows? One day a room will cost $28.00, and the next day, the very same room will be rented out for $10.00. They don't give discounts for any long term stays, so my advice to you is to bargain HARD - get at least 50% from the asking price.

In short, what do I think of this hotel? I think it is OK for one or two nights - just make sure you use your bargaining skills to the max. If you plan to stay longer in Bhaktapur, find another hotel. The only reason I've given a high rating for service is because of the two young men I mentioned earlier. If it hadn't been for them, I probably would have given this hotel a two star rating. Yes, the location is great, but there is also a number of hotels and guesthouses nearby and even on the square itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely little heritage hotel for three nights and were pleased to find the accommodations, food, and service more than adequate, at a wonderful price. The staff clearly aims to please, arranging our taxis and fulfilling our requests with the gentle, patient and courteous manner that we found to be typical of Nepali people during our stay. The building is architecturally interesting and the views from our windows stunning as we overlooked Durbar square and the rolling hills beyond. The rooftop restaurant provided an even better 360 degree view of the valley. Location is ideal as we were looking for a centrally located yet quiet hotel outside of the madness of Kathmandu, from which we could take long walks through the streets of the quaint town. Bhaktapur is a World Heritage Site, with stunning temples on every corner and artisans continuing the pottery and woodworking traditions of their forefathers. Rooms were small at the hotel and bathrooms in the European style (no tub; shower goes all over the room); and no maid service...but considering the low price, these are small inconveniences. We kept our windows open at night and found the gentle murmur of voices and temple bells to be soothing. The food at the hotel was fine though not outstanding. Our best dish was the thanka (noodle soup) but the momos were tough. To be fair, we had just come from India and were used to more spicy fare which is more interesting to us. All in all, a wonderful little place. We would go back.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out over Durbar Square for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Vajra guest house. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They organised our pick up and drop off at the airport and all went smoothly. It is a little oasis tucked around a corner but right in the heart of Bhaktaur. Very quiet and peaceful until the bells for prayer start ringing during the wee hours of the morning - not something that can be helped and I think it would be hard to avoid if you want to be within walking distance of the main sights! We just got up early and went out into the square as it came to life. Great to do!
Breakfast was good.
We were on the 3rd floor and our room was a good size with very comfortable beds - rare in Nepal!
The water from the shower did go on the loo which is not ideal but definitely not a reason not to stay! They provide bathroom shoes to wear which was great. The water was hot which is far more important! There is solar back up for the many power outages. All in all a great find and I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived on the second last day of a Peregrine tour to this lovely hotel. A bit old worldly, with a great facade. Rooms are good, the shower a little challenging as the toilet and everything else in the room gets wet when the shower is in use. It has a nice lounge bar off the courtyard and wifi in the bar and reception area. Breakfast is basic but tasty, however it is the location that makes this hotel a winner! I would recommend this hotel to most people. If you are after 4 star stuff, you will be disappointed, but we loved it for the ambience and the fact that you are in good clean rooms with all that you need and oh so close to the main square.

Room Tip: It seems that most rooms face either the internal courtyard or the street. We had a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A clean and compact hotel conveniently located two minutes from the main square, yet also offering sanctuary from all the hustle and bustle. The hotel is built round three sides of a courtyard and some rooms look out onto the street, which can get noisy (dogs, bells) at night. A had a single room, and it was a good chance I wasn't in a cat swinging mood, and the concise nature of the dimensions was echoed in the bathroom. It was clean though, but had no safe.

There is wifi with fairly good reach (I could get it in my room, but I think I may have been lucky). Breakfast includes the local yogurt or curd - it is absolutely delicious. The menu in the restaurant is a little geared for tourists, but there's Nepalese in there if you look for it.

The Vajra is perfectly adequate and I have no comparators with it in Bhaktapur, there didn't seem to be any hotels, so this may well be as good as it gets here, and if that is the case then its fine, not great, just fine.

Room Tip: Maybe try and avoid street-side, or bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good small rooms, great location just above the Durbar square. Lovely little courtyard for meals. We were so glad we chose to stay in Bhaktapur rather than in busy and crowded Kathmandu. Having the town to yourself in the evening when all the main tourist groups were gone was lovely. Amazing to witness the daily worshipping at all the shrines in the morning. A town alive with religion - and bells! As anywhere in Nepal, bring earplugs!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipeshjoshi, Manager at Vajra Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your Comments regarding VGH & Will try to Improve as much as we can for the Betterment & for the Best hospitality........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On our Nepal trip in December/ January we stayed here & loved it. Very pleased we chose to stay in Bhaktapur & not in Thamel, & this guest house was perfect. Super friendly and helpful staff, beautiful views from the rooftop, great rooms & location, & very tasty Masala tea! This area is a lot less hectic as well, so we enjoyed our time around here enormously :) james, Jules & isabela. Thanks again Dipesh & co

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vajra Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vajra Guest House & Restaurant

Address: Balakhu-10, Durbar Area, Bhaktapur 8867, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated very close to Durbar Square of Bhaktapur from where it's very easy to go any Squares & Places. We are near by Main squares but not close to heavy traffic roads so, it's a quiet & perfect place for your stay. After seeing Kathmandu when you visit VGH, you will feel the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vajra Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vajra Guest House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.