We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, no more, no less!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thoulasith Guest House

Save Saved
You added Thoulasith Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thoulasith Guest House
next to Minority Restaurant | Phonxay Village, Luang Namtha, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok, no more, no less!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We paid 70,000 kip (10 euro) for an upstairs double room. It was clean, location was good, right in the middle of town but it was quiet during the night so you can sleep soundly. Free wifi was ok for just general surfing, checking email, etc. As for the staff, in typical Lao style, the staff didn't really seem interested in anything.

Overall: Good choice in this price bracket. Not the Ritz by any means, but better than others in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
38
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The guesthouse is nice and clean with a large balcony and peaceful garden out front. There is also a hammock and a few tables were you can relax and have some snacks or drinks (not sold onsite but there is a shop across the street). Our upstairs room was a bit small but had a large bathroom (shower only) and fan for 70,000 kip. The shower was disappointing, low water pressure and tepid temperature, but it was pretty hot outside anyway so we didn't mind. There is a timetable for buses to the surrounding areas downstairs, which is helpful. The staff is somewhat standoffish but not unfriendly. Free water and tea downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We paid 70.000 kip for a double room, ensuite bathroom, it was very pretty, clean, with strong wifi. The balcony outside is nice, just beware of mosquitos at night. The staff is useless, very uninterested, but it didn't bother us very much, you can arrange everything (bike/moto rental, trips...) outside the hotel. We bought our bus tickets directly at the station when we cycled by, and had no problem catching a tuk tuk in the morning. The location is good, close to everything (there really is not much in LN anyway). Be sure to try the roasted pork in the night market, it's awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean (you are still in Laos) and the balcony is very pleasant. The wifi is working and there is hot water (if you're patient enough). The location is very central. What else would you need ??

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were very impressed with our stay here - we ended up staying in 3 different rooms at various times and they were all very nice. The staff seemed a bit surly at first but warmed up with time. The rooms were all clean and the showers had hot water. Wifi worked in the rooms although isn't very fast in Luang Namtha in general!
We didn't have a booking for our first night and were lucky to get the last room at 7pm. On other days we saw people being turned away early in the day so it's best to book in advance (but more expensive so maybe just book one night for arrival and extend your stay when you arrive to get the better price)

Room Tip: The bigger rooms at either end on both floors are a lot larger and only a fraction more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nighs either side of our 2 day trek to the national park. We paid 90,000 and got the huge room upstairs at the end of the corridor. A huge double bed with clean linen, a bath tub and shower with shampoo and soap as extras. A fan (a/c 20,000 more) we were fine without. A tv but didn't use and a tea/coffee making with bottled water. The extras were a nice touch and this place is one of the best we had during a 3 weeks stay in Laos.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for 1 night.
Got room B99, second floor. Booked thru a web site and must admit the price was much higher than requested by the owner, but who was I to know in advance.....
this is the most expensive room in the guesthouse (120,000 kip if you ask for the Air conditioner rmote control, or 90,000 kip if you find the fan enough for you).
I believe other rooms with a shower only can be cheaper

The room is quite large, gave a good feeling of cleanliness. the bathroom is large and clean too.
In the room you also have free water bottles as well as a warm water machine + tea and cups.
WI-FI is free and works fairly well in room as well as public areas.

Receptionist can help booking bus tickets and pickups.

Pay attention to bus timetables hung downstairs. There may be several changes and differences.

All in all - quite a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thoulasith Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thoulasith Guest House

Address: next to Minority Restaurant | Phonxay Village, Luang Namtha, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Thoulasith Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thoulasith Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.