We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thanjavur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Valli
2948 M.K.M Road | Near Railway Station, Thanjavur 613001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Thanjavur B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Good value overall. Located in a quiet alley and as you enter you wonder if this is the right place. But the hotel manager and staff are quite nice. A safe and clean place that is reasonably priced. I would probably rate this as a lodge rather than a hotel. The lighting could be brighter. Good space for parking. For veg food, we went to Krishna bhavan about one km away. We also checked out Hotel Oriental Towers which seemed better at a slight higher price, but was fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A green hotel located not too far from Railway Station is total value for money and specially suited for backpackers. Simple rooms come with single and double beds, with and without AC, breakfast is not included in the tariff though. A basic restaurant serves basic south indian food.

Room Tip: All rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I moved from another hotel which was too expensive. Valli was much nicer at a better price. I found the staff here to be professional and friendly. I felt very cozy in my room, so I stayed longer than what I quoted on check-in. They were patiently able to accommodate my changing plans. The restaurant was pleasant, and Thanjavur itself was more enjoyable than I expected.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Located down a bit of an unpleasant street, when we arrived at the hotel there was a big garbage pile being burned right across the street, which made the hotel smokey.
The room was OK, but the electricity was very inconsistent.
We arranged a taxi through the front desk to arrive in the morning, but after waiting for a half hour from the scheduled pick up time and it still didn't show up, we walked out with our bags and got our own taxi at the train station.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thanjavur hotels

Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The hotel is located near the train station, which is good. It's fairly clean, but has very different rooms, so be sure to check several before you decide. Our's was plain and full of mosquitos. We could smell a very strong fecal odor through the window (our room must have been located just above the cesspool or something). The staff wasn't too friendly and were the only in the whole India who went to check our room before they let us check out. This was the least pleasant hotel/guest house in our whole India experience.
But the Brihadishwara temple in Tanjore is amazing and worth seeing! You can skip the Royal palace, though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Valli for one night with a friend. The location is good due to the proximity to the Railway Station and ATM's, but the road leading to the hotel is also conjusted with automobile mechanics and welding workshops. The room is average, good sleeping quality, average cleanliness, but of course reasonably priced. As per my opinion, I cannot stay with my family in this hotel. In the evening drunkards are found wandering in the front road of the hotel as there is a low class bar and wine shop in front of the hotel which I didn'nt like at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel after finding everywhere packed due to a music festival. It is a couple of hundred yards off the main road, and down a lane which houses several auto repair and metal shops. However, the immediate location is not any kind of problem, no noise, dirt or threat from the area.

Staff were polite and Room Service good. The rooms were clean and reasonably sized. There is a restaurant which served good, basic Indian food which we found quite handy. The attractions (the palace and Museum and the 'Big Temple') are just a short autorickshaw ride away. It's also near to a Post Office and there are ATMs at the nearby Railway Station, about 5 minutes walk away.

Note: Excellent ratings are given in the context of an Indian budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valli

Address: 2948 M.K.M Road | Near Railway Station, Thanjavur 613001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thanjavur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Valli to your Saves list