We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gnanam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thanjavur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gnanam
Anna Salai (Market Road), Thanjavur 613 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Thanjavur
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is well-located in the heart of the city. The rooms are well maintained, and priced reasonably. The parking lot could be bigger. The staff is courteous and friendly. The food in the vegetarian restaurant was quite tasty, but for some reason, the restaurant was totally empty every time we visited. It almost seemed like we were the only patrons.

The sound-proofing on the balcony doors/windows could be better. As it is located next to a crowded marketplace, the ambient noise was a bit too high, in my opinion. But it was tolerable.

Overall, quite happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    107
    38
    9
    10
See reviews for
70
73
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Over the years we have stayed here several times. Rooms are clean, cool, and comfortable, service is very good, and the food in the restaurant is excellent. It is a short auto rickshaw drive to the Big Temple, which is a real advantage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I visited Thanjavur with my family in early April and chose this hotel after looking at the other reviews. It's indeed a nice place and in fact on interacting with a few local drivers I came to know that it's one among the most preferred places of stay in Thanjavur.

Having said this, I think we were a bit unfortunate to have had problems while checking in. Although, I had booked two rooms, the reception wasn't able to give me 2 rooms at the time of check-in. I wasn't overly concerned as we just needed a place get ready and leave. But when the guy with our bags opened the room it was in a complete mess with the mattress folded and the room littered. It appears that the room was cleaned up after the last guest checked out. They then took us to another room only to find that the key wouldn't open the door. After a number of apologies, they managed to give us a hall temporarily to bathe and get ready. Eventually, they managed to open the door after a lot of struggle.

Although, it was annoying to go through this on a early Saturday morning, at hindsight I feel it could just be that we were unlucky. During all these times, the staff were trying to do their best to keep us comfortable. I think they are bunch of good people but probably not well trained.

Once the issue with the room was sorted out, everything else was a breeze at the hotel. They helped in arranging a vehicle and the staff at the restaurant was very courteous. I have to mention that the food in their vegetarian restaurant is really good.

The hotel is also very close to the big temple and is just a 5 minutes drive from the railway station. Its location is one of the key advantages. If you are not someone to expect things to be perfect, then this hotel isn't a bad choice and I would still suggest this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have used this hotel earlier also. They are good. The location is convenient to visit several location by road. The market is close by to meet any urgent requirement. The food is good and tasty. I would say it is value for money. The room service is also nice. The only drawback that I see is if you are there with your driver, they do not have the concept of rooms for drivers. I find that little uncomfortable as my driver had to manage his sleep in the car.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here only one night, and were very happy with our stay. Large comfortable bed and room, clean bathroom, decent room service menu, peaceful clean hallways, and great location in the centre of town. Lacks the warmth or anything special that would've made it a '5', but there was nothing we weren't happy with, and I would definitely stay here again if back in Thanjavur.

Room Tip: A room by the main road will be noisier but offer a good view of the shopping area and feel of being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great location! Right in the heart of the town. Easy access to the main shopping center. Good vegetarian food. Nice menu.
Rooms are spacious but not first class. Neatness is commendable. Service is above ordinary. but its a crowded place. Even when I visited in April when temperatures were near 40 C, the place was almost full.
Overall nice place for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pick ones on road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Gananam is a business-type hotel in the very middle of Thanjavur's busiest area. The rooms are OK, beds are comfortable. Breakfast was nothing to rave about.
The best part is the location, it is close to all the things why you could possibly come to Thanjavur. They also have 24 hour check-in, so if you want a late check-out, all you have to do is check-in late. (If you - like myself - are wondering what 24 chek-in means - your check-out time will be 24 hours from your check-in)
The worst is a consequence of the busy location, the hotel is extremely noisy, unfortunately as the vast majority of buldings in India, it has zero sound insulation. So if you are a light sleeper, this is not for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gnanam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gnanam

Address: Anna Salai (Market Road), Thanjavur 613 001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gnanam combines the charm of the Old World and modern hospitality with every convenience at your fingertips. With the greatest pleasure, we are delighted to extend our hospitality to our guests. Our property will surprise you with its central location, the high comfort, the friendly and professional service. The hotel is dedicated our guest, looking forward to welcome you to Hotel Gnanam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gnanam Hotel Thanjavur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gnanam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gnanam to your Saves list