We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant First Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Town Station

Mountain Town Station
506 West Broadway St., Mount Pleasant, MI 48858
+1 989-775-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A family owned community focused business with an emphasis on a full service original menu, hand crafted draft beer brewed on site and excellent service.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant First Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Being new to the area, my daughter and I tried Mountain Town Station for an early dinner during a blizzard. We had the restaurant to ourselves, expected, and got excellent service. Fireside seating was very nice as we watched the snow fall outside. I ordered the Prime Wrap - a beef number off the "Boxcar of Beef" section. The wrap was large, the beef tender and the accompanying vegetables firm but not crisp. My daughter had the Brewer's Burger, which unfortunately was overcooked however, the steak fries that came with her meal were excellent. We considered having the Monday special - Create Your Own Pasta, and may return to try it. The food was good, but not outstanding, and didn't seem overpriced. The atmosphere is pleasant, but not over-the-top. Probably worth a second visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Mountain Town Station, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi, Kay!

Thanks for giving us a shot! Our fireplace tables are some of the best in the house (in Summer, I'd say our patio is quite nice, as well). The fireplace has been a great place this winter, with the weather being so horrendous. I'm glad you braved the blizzard and came in :)

We do aim for our burgers to be medium well - I have to apologize that your daughter's meal was overcooked - if you come back in and notice anything else that is not satisfactory, please let us know immediately. We do not want anyone to leave unsatisfied.

Thanks for coming in and leaving a review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Railyard Raspberry Wheat is very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am a fan of fruity beers and the Railyard Raspberry Wheat is very good! The deck outside is very relaxing and pretty during the summer. When I went to CMU I often went here with family to celebrate special events.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Mountain Town Station, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, Cindy!

We like to think our patio and hand crafted micro-brews are part of what make us unique and help us stand out among the fine locally owned restaurants around Mount Pleasant. Being outside with the view of the park and river on a nice summer day is a joy that our staff indulges in, as well, after the day is done. I'm glad to see our guests find it relaxing, too!

We hope to see you again! Good luck in everything you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“RR Station Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Mountain Town is a nice looking restaurant which is surrounded by the river and the park. Inside is very crowded. I like the wine you can purchase in the store. The food is okay but a bit expensive. I miss the train tours you could catch at the station. I wish the food was healthier and the seats were more comfortable. The service needs a lot of work.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A local standard with a good basic menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

In a town of few good restaurants, we find ourselves returning to Mountain Town a lot. Try to take advantage of the various specials throughout the week, such as Pint Night. Food is average and generally consistent. Prices are getting a bit high for the food and ambience, though. May have to look for a replacement. Good, general restaurant. Some decent microbrews....Some really bad microbrews. Give this place a C+.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Ribs, Good Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I never went here when I was a student, but we've eaten here the last couple times our family visited. Both times the food has been top notch. They might have the best ribs I've eaten. My wife and i shared a full rack and an order of brisket.mthe sweet potatoes were excellent and we had more food than we could eat. We gave some to our friends. Like most breweries, the beer is hit and miss. And last time it was o.k., but this time I had a winter seasonal that I enjoyed very much.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Town Station also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to Mountain Town Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Town Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.