We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brass Cafe and Saloon

The Brass Cafe and Saloon
128 South Main Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48858-2309
989-772-0864
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Delicious....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We decided to sit in the bar for dinner on our recent visit and were not disappointed. Megan was our server (she is wonderful!) and helped to guide us through the different choices. I settled on the ravioli with red pepper sauce while Spencer had a burger. It was refreshing to see that they did not charge extra for condiments (even cheese and bacon)! Everything was fresh and delicious, as expected.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Small plates night (Thursday) was fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went to the Brass last Thursday because the small plates sounded delicious on their FB page. We had a soy marinated quail with a spicy peach chutney, a cheese plate with some fantastic cheeses & jams and a beef tenderloin, prosciutto and ground beef meatballs in a bell pepper & eggplant tomato sauce. We also had grilled corn on the cob with a red curry glaze and bacon crumbles on top. The quail was our favorite of the four. We consistently go to the Brass as the food is consistent and a good value. The drink prices are fair as well. I'll be back again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Small Town, Big Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took other reviewers' advice about the Brass Cafe and were not disappointed. My husband and I shared the charcuterie platter then he ordered the mixed grill and I had the spring rolls. Who knew you could get quail in Mt. Pleasant? The eclectic drinks menu was fun and the decor charming. Be sure to check out the unusual ceiling fan. At the end of our meal we were personally greeted by the owner, who told us we could purchase many of the items on the charcuterie platter at their sister store two doors down. Just the place to pick up a picnic for the drive home. Highly recommend the Brass Cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Was not expecting such a lovely meal in this small town. Server Sarah was a delight and owner Susan was gratious and charming. Menu was varied and portions generous. I had Charcuterie and a mixd grill. Wonderful! 2 drinks each, Dinner and a generous tip, under $50.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was just okay and a little expensive. The service was fine. The music a bit loud but appropriate for the time of day. An extensive wine and beer list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Cafe and Saloon also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to The Brass Cafe and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brass Cafe and Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.