We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Mt. Pleasant is not a food destination, think again...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brass Cafe and Saloon

The Brass Cafe and Saloon
128 South Main Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48858-2309
989-772-0864
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Western Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Think Mt. Pleasant is not a food destination, think again...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

For those of you traveling on business, or visiting someone at Ferris State, or (gulp) going to the casino, The Brass Cafe is an almost unbelievable find in Mt. Pleasant. The service is very friendly, and the food convinces me that the chef is well traveled. The menu has many choices for every category except salad. The appetizer list is diverse and has 12 to choose from. No fewer than 18 entree items. Ridiculous compared to what this town had to offer previously. Don't get distracted by the shellac on the brick walls, or the fact that there is no directed lighting on the table and you are wishing for even a single halogen bulb in the establishment. The food is very good, and the portions generous enough to share / pass. Just order several, and good luck choosing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I enjoy eating at the Brass. The food contains fresh and interesting ingredients that are delicious. I have eaten there many times over the last several years and have enjoyed the food every time. I learn about new new ingredients nearly every visit. The owners also have a store a couple doors down where you can purchase some great food to take home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The food at the Brass Cafe is innovative and delicious! The atmosphere is classy with upstairs dining as well as the first floor dinning room and bar. The service is very good too - friendly servers who smile are a treat! I've enjoyed coconut shrimp at the Brass Cafe - and I'll go back again soon! This is a really nice restaurant in Mt. Pleasant and well worth a visit. Enjoy!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The way a fibe dining experience should make you feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Such a long time since I walked into a romantic restaurant! Our friends drove 2 hours there for lunch as did we. Lunch time is a great place to meet with friends if you want to talk without the loud clatter of many places. The wine was excellent as was the "hot brown sandwich" which i also remember from years ago. Very unique touch- waitress let us "taste" some different wines before we ordered an unknown wine bottle. Very classy kind of victorian pub atmosphere. Price is expensive ($9.50) for my sandwich but well worth the trip. Loved it and service was outstanding. Only wish they might have added a few light pasta or fresh fish dishes to their lunch menu. I wish it was closer to my home. Don't hesitate

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good Food / Too Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

There is no doubt that this restaurant has good food. It's just simply too expensive. My favorite item on their lunch menu is the Hot Ham and Swiss Pretzel sandwich (it rivals the Turkey O'Toole at Bennigan's in town), but at $7.75, it's also much too expensive.

I would dine here more often, but the prices keep me away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Cafe and Saloon also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to The Brass Cafe and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brass Cafe and Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.