We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food with local flair.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Oven

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Italian Oven
2336 S Mission St, Mount Pleasant, MI 48858
(989) 773-6836
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 118 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian food with local flair.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Definitely prefer this venue over the chain across the street. Kids can have fun watching pizzas being made behind a see through wall that they can write on. A separate area is provided for those seeking a quiet adult area. Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed in the quality if the food. I especially like the build your own pasta dish option.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I had a terrible experience. The food was cold and soggy. We waited 45 for bread to be served. We were served someone else's salad, even though we ordered soup. The manager spent our entire meal screaming at our waitress. Our waitress was covering a section that was way too big for 1 person. It would have been a lot for 2 people, and she was doing it alone. The prices were high and definitely not worth what we paid.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I went to college here at cmu and heard that Italian oven was just ok. But I went here after I graduated and asked the waitress what people say is the best. She said the chicken parmesan,primo priatto, and one other thing. I got the priatto which is chicken (perfect), lasagna, and alfredo. That was $16 but well worth it because I had it for 2 meals. Usually im a cheap person too but its worth it. I would definitely go back. I would say this is a good place to take a person you are trying to seriously get to know and impress

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went to this restaurant on a recommendation of a running partner, as I was in town running a 1/2-marathon.

Service was quick, and I received my salad and appetizer very quickly. Had the waitress box the appetizer (the bread) immediately because it was a big as a 12 inch pizza...and I was eating alone!

The spaghetti was excellent - I ordered a small portion, The red roasted peppers went very well with my Mariana sauce. I expected a little more spaghetti based on the size of the appetizer and salad, which is the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5.

I would visit the Italian Oven again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family with two teens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Good service and comfortable atmosphere. Nice selection of Italian food. We almost went to a national chain, but enjoyed trying a local place. My only complaint was the price. We stopped for lunch and I feel we paid too much for what we received.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Oven also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to Italian Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.