We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic 3-star hotel, nothing fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Graskop Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graskop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Graskop
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Basic 3-star hotel, nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We needed a place to stay the night on the way to Kruger, and we found the location to be good. We appreciated the family-sized room and the close proximity to Paul Kruger gate at Kruger National Park, as well as the locked gate for car parking. The breakfast was basic but hearty, so we were set for the one night we spent there. I can't see doing more than a night, but it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    92
    52
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
113
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for the final night of our trip to SA after leaving a game lodge in the Kruger and driving the Blyde River Canyon route. It is an ideal stop for that purpose (or in reverse direction) and many people seem to do it. The small town of Graskop is by far one of the most pleasant we went to from a visitor's point of view and has some great places to eat like Harrie's Pancakes and the terrific Portuguese/Mozambiquan restaurant Carimambo very close to the hotel - wish we'd been hungrier.

It was a real shame that the weather did its absolute worst and it was pouring with rain the whole time we were at the hotel. The gardens and the large pool are lovely. Luckily the same is true of the public areas in the main building. I loved the reading room facing the pool, and the restaurant is very chic with one of the best buffet breakfasts of the trip. Lots of interesting furniture and artworks to admire.

We had two garden rooms with nice new bathrooms. The rooms are individually decorated - our sons had one which was fun and interesting, unfortunately the artist who did ours must have been suffering a block as it was almost entirely blinding white and felt a bit clinical. It was all very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Staff were helpful enough but without the warmth we'd become accustomed to in other places we stayed. It was excellent value for money compared to what you'd pay for a hotel of this standing in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We found this gem of a hotel after a disappointing visit to Pilgrims rest.

It was enlightening to find rooms, individually decorated with local artists' works.

We were given a choice of a family room at the back of the hotel but opted for the individually designed rooms in the front.

If your are looking for a bed and some arty inspiration, try this quaint hotel in the magnificent and picturesque Mpumalanga Province.

Beware of rude cleaners who insist on cleaning rooms whilst people are in the bathroom, completely interfering with the privacy of guests.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Graskop Hotel for 1 night in November 2012 after being in KNP for 6 nights. It was very comfortable and best of all had internet access(wi-fi) in the lobby. Our room was a beautiful garden room and was a special place for our last night of a trip of a lifetime !! The breakfast was included and was served in front of a warm fire. It was a full breakfast with eggs to order and fresh fruit, breads, tea and coffee. The atmosphere of the entire hotel was very warm and welcoming and we felt right at home. We were centrally located in Graskop so we could walk around and explore the town. We would definitely return to the Graskop Hotel if our travels take us this way again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel (annex art gallery is located in the center of Graskop. The interior is designed by South African artists and they did a very good job. The lounge and dining room are awesome; the combination of African and colonial artefacts creates a perfect atmosphere.
The comfortable rooms aren't big but are well furnished in a very basic way.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Graden rooms are great
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Enjoyed the individually decorated rooms and the artwork throughout the hotel. Secure parking. Breakfast was reasonable. There is a swimming pool although the weather wasn't kind enough at the time of our visit. Graskop is a great place to stay to explore the Blyde River Canyon area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights on the advice of our hosts in Johannesburg. The blank facade belies the imaginative interior - rooms are each decorated by a contemporary African artist (ours overlooked the pool and gardens) and there is a little gallery. Staff are gentle, friendly and welcoming. It is centrally located in this busy and interesting little town and we used it as a base for visits to Kruger, Blyde River Canyon and Pilgrim's Rest. We spent the remaining month of our trip trying to emulate it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Graskop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graskop Hotel

Address: Main Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graskop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An art gallery you can sleep in" - Greenwood Guides - 2006. Privately owned 3 star "art" hotel. In the heart of the Panorama Route, Close to the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, and various waterfalls. Malaria free area. 19 Artist rooms, each decorated by a different artist, and 15 Garden suites, all with en suite facilities. Bed and breakfast at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graskop Hotel Mpumalanga, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graskop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Graskop Hotel to your Saves list