We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and cheap accommodation. Missing some essentials.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valley View Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley View Backpackers
Save
You added Valley View Backpackers to your Saves list
47 De Lange Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty and cheap accommodation. Missing some essentials.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Valley View Backpackers for two nights. I had previously been in touch with Melinda via email. Melinda was very helpful and quick in answering all of my questions!

The reason I have given Valley View 3 stars is for a number of reasons. A few staple items were not provided - the bathrooms did not have any hand soap, which is quite off-putting. And in spite of the signs stating "Thou shalt not take toilet paper," someone had pilfered the toilet paper on the evening of our arrival, and we were left with only a few sheets over night. Furthermore, there was no trash can in the bedroom. My partner and were fighting off colds and were forced to throw used tissue into a corner of the bedroom.

The bedroom itself also appeared to have been very recently built, as there was a distinct varathane smell throughout. Lighting in the room was insufficient for reading at night, which required us to use our phones as flashlights, which in turn drained their power. They only had one electrical outlet in the room and this was at the far corner from the room, away from the bed.

The finer points of the accommodation cannot be left unsaid. The cabin we stayed in was very charming and the room and linens were clean (I give 3 stars for cleanliness because of the lack of hand soap in the bathroom). Although it was cold at night, we were given extra blankets and were therefore quite comfortable. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay. Moreover, it is very economical accommodation, so if you are not off-put by a lack of soap, minimal toilet paper, poor reading lamps, and a varathane odour, I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and although it was very cold (1400-1600 meters high and winter season), we had a good time. Excellent stop before heading into Kruger, but also to explore the wonderfull area with Blyd river canyon as absolute must see. Very friendly staff, well equiped kitchen, basically the only thing that's missing is a bar. So don't forget to bring your own beer before you visit...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hostelowners are very friendly and helpful. Location is great, very near to Gods window and the Blyde river canyon. Nice kitchen, good beds... In winter an extra blanket would be nice though. It really gets freezing in the cabins. But the atmosphere is very homey, friendly and relaxing. A braai is there. And the laundry service does great work!

Only thing you should know is that the shared living room is in the center of the dorms and privates. So at 21:30 we were having a fun night but people asked us to be quiet... So we felt there was nothing else to do than go to bed. A bit early. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hostel, thanks to the amazing work of Melinda and Joseph, was a bonus during our holiday in South Africa! When me and my friend finally pulled over into they private and secure parking lot, we found much more than you would expect from a hostel. The nice patio, a perfectly equipped kitchen, nice living room and spotless room and bathrooms. The lovely outside garden and the peaceful atmosphere were a plus. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numbi, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The placement of Valley View Backpackers is lovely, the view is definitely amazing! Melinda and Joseph are very helpful. We stayed in one of the cabins which are nice and homy and feel like the real African style. Graskop is nice and central on the Panorama Route so easy access to all the great views :). And in Graskop are lots of restaurants with pancakes. Recommendation is definitely Harrie's for its pancakes, and Divine for the fresh homemade cheesecake!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After 3 days of rain and cold weather pulling into Valley view was like coming home. The owners are so sweet and make sure that you are comfortable. We stayed in the 6 person dorm that was ensuite. The lodge is a house on a rolling hill overlooking the valley. There were plenty of signs letting you know how to get there. Hot, clean showers. A small indoor common area with comfy couches and a nice covered outdoor area with picnic tables. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and have lots of advice about where to go and what to do. I would call and make reservations ahead of time. There is a communal kitchen that is very clean and well stocked. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was coming down from the panorama route, and didn't want to drive all the way down to Nelspruit. I stayed at their "hut" outside, and it was perfectly comfortable, if a bit chilly in the late night / early morning. I love their location, which is right on the edge of town overlooking a valley - thus the name. They have a place to park your car that's locked up, which is nice. They also offer internet - with your own computer, wifi [a bit spotty] is reasonable at 50R for your entire stay, which is really nice. The couple that own it are really great, very friendly, and full of great advice on the things to do in the area for all budgets. The rooms are nice. I didn't see the dorm, but the rest are quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the huts or out of the main area, because depending on the group that's staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley View Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Backpackers

Address: 47 De Lange Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Backpackers offers budget accommodation for national and international travellers. It is situated in the mountains overlooking the Graskop valley and close to town and its amenities. Clean, cosy, friendly and welcoming with plenty of information provided on the many local attractions and activities. Mountain bikes for rent, numerous walking trails and spectacular scenery. Graskop is perfectly located next to the Blyde River Canyon and under an hour away from the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley View Backpackers Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley View Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.