We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort
Save
You added Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort to your Saves list
PO Box 15,, Graskop 1207, South Africa (Formerly Aventura Resort Badplaas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
brussels
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“incredible view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

the position of the resort is great, you can see the three rondavels just in front of you going to the restaurant and everything is just great if you wake up with such a view.The chalet were nice and with a very tasteful bathroom. We found everything really exceptional allso the quality of sleep was just great. The only thing we found a bit expensive for the south african standards was the restaurant. But for the rest the staff was really nice, friendly and smiling.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

The big plus point for the resort is its stunning location literally on the edge of the Blyde River Canyon. The views from our terrace of the Three Rondavels were unbeatable. The resort is beautifully maintained, both the grounds and the accommodation, however, the interiors are very dated and in need of a major modernisation programme. We stayed in the Guest House which was well equipped, beautifully clean and very spacious, but the decor and furnishings were straight out of the 1970s!
Several hiking trails start from the resort and are clearly marked and well maintained. We did the Leopard and Guinea Fowl trails and didn't see a single other person all day. All in all, good value for money, great location and a safe bet, but definitely in need of a facelift.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed for one night on our way from Jo´burg to Kruger National Park. We had stayed here a few years ago and found that the chalets had been renovated recently. We opted for one of the "luxury" chalets (LCD2) which one could compare to 3-star accommodation by European standards.
The resort is on the edge of Blyde River Canyon which is worth a visit in its own rights! There are a number of hikes that can be taken from the resort through amazing scenery. An alternative is to ride on horseback (bookings at reception).
The chalet offered a fully equipped kitchen, a bedroom with a double bed and a bathroom with tub and additional shower (you don´t always find a shower in South Africa). Of course, there is a braai outside the chalet.
You will find a pool, playground and trampolines in the resort as well as laundry facilities. There is a restaurant, but we didn´t use it. A small shop provides basic provisions, however if you´re planning to self cater it is best to stock up in one of the larger towns on the way from Jo´burg such as Lydenburg as there are no larger shops close to the resort. A filling station is located just outside the gate.
The weather can be misty sometimes so be prepared for alternative activities.
We found the upgraded chalet very comfortable and would have loved to stay an extra night at the resort. It is an easy drive from Jo´burg as the roads have also been improved and allows one to settle after a long flight from overseas.
On a last note, beware of the baboons and keep doors and windows closed at all times.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

This resort is on the edge (literally) of the Blyde River Canyon, a fantastic natural wonder en route from Johannesburg to Kruger but little known outside South Africa. The resort provides a prime viewpoint over the Three Rondavels, a fantastic natural rock formation (Google it now to see what you are missing). There are waterfalls, gorges, ravines at Bourke's Potholes and viewpoints over the plains with great names like God's Window.
It's a beautiful area, worth a journey in its own right never mind a stopover.

The resort is typical of what people seem to like in South Africa - a large village of rustic stone chalets (about 100 of them) each with its own braai. Initially, we were allocated one near the top road of the resort - the chalets here seemed crammed together and the interior pretty basic. For us, the experience of being somewhere so beautiful is tempered by staying somewhere so ordinary. So we opted for an upgrade to a "luxury" chalet nearer the restaurant in a quieter part of the resort. The chalet layout was similar but the furnishings newer and a bit less basic. Even so, the bed cover could have done with a good wash.

We ate at the restaurant which was a pleasant enough buffet affair (R100 per adult) with a mixture of dishes, though at dinner it seemed like no-one had thought about whether they actually went together. On the second night, our wine arrived just as we had finished our main course. Breakfast was OK, though tinned not fresh fruit was symptomatic of the place as a whole. We did mention this to the manager and to her credit some fresh fruit did appear the next day.

We enjoyed the mini-golf and trampolines, and our son thought the place was great. DIY laundry facilties were a boon and helped us avoid expensive hotel laundry bills.

In summary, so-so accommodation but lots to do and the canyon, not the resort , will be your abiding memory.

  • Liked — The breathtaking views of the canyon at sunset
  • Disliked — Rather too rustic chalets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

Large resort situated on the rim of the Blyde River Canyon. We stayed in a one bed chalet. There was a kitchen and a bathroom with a shower. The accommodation was clean and tidy but the decor was very dated. We self catered although there was a restaurant on site with the usual buffet options.

There are wonderful views of the Blyde River Canyon -which is the 3rd largest canyon in the world. There are several marked trails to explore the area.

The Camp has a swimming pool that we did not use as it was not really the weather to swim in. People we met later stayed after us and did not see the canyon at all due to heavy mist and rain. We were lucky and explored the surrounding areas. To say the least it's an isolated place.

The provisions in the Resort shop are rather basic and alcohol is only available from the bottle store just outside the camp. Remember all bottle stores in South Africa are shut on Sundays. The only Internet access is by using the PC used by the reservation manager between 18.00 and 20.00. The dial up access is very slow and virtually unusable for sorting out the next keg of your holiday. like most of South Africa the place shuts up by 21.00

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
590 helpful votes 590 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed in this place for one night because Idube Game Reserve was booked out that night. The accommodation is adequate, probably about 2-star by western standards, one of the challets did not have electricity in the bathroom so our friends had to utilise our spare candles. However, the place is super clean, beds comfortable, interior a little dated. The best thing about it is breakfast and the room which has a splendid view (see attached photo). The sign on your door will tell you to close your windows to avoid monkeys and baboons, do so, they are everywhere! Make sure you go up to the Academy, in the hotel grounds, and walk up to see the most amazing, out of this world view of the canyon and the three roundabouts rotunda type mountain formations.

  • Liked — The views from the breakifast room, excellent things to see all in the hotel grounds
  • Disliked — small cockroach in the kitchen (although didn't see any elsewhere), sporadic electricity supply
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort

Address: PO Box 15,, Graskop 1207, South Africa (Formerly Aventura Resort Badplaas)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort Hotel Graskop
Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.