We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee - great pancake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrie's Pancakes

Harrie's Pancakes
C/o Louis Trichardt & Church Streets, Graskop, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Graskop
Cuisines: Dessert, Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
berkhamsted
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great coffee - great pancake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Espresso was the best I had drunk since landing at Durban five days before - and the pancake with Apricots in van der hum sauce was an indulgence but good - the apricots were toothsome. I imagine that the overall effect of the menu might seem limited - but for what it aims to do - it does it well. My wife and I enjoyed the ambience - the staff were fun and the art was interesting. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    132
    46
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Not bad but lack of choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Didn't mind my panckae at all. The staff were able to inform us that they could make egg and dairy-free pancakes, which was great. But none of the savoury pancake filling options were meat or dairy -free. This left a choice of sweet fillings only.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had heard about Harrie's and headed straight there for brunch. We had both savoury and sweet pancakes and all were great. Try the bobotie pancake which is especially tasty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very nice little pancake place. Pancakes are excellent The decore is lovely with the fire place always firing away and staff very friendly

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Flat (as a pancake) experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was not our first time here and previous experiences have probably been better. If your thing is pancakes then that at the very least should be really good. We ordered the sticky pork and peaches pancake. The pancake itself was not thin enough and the pork was tough pork stew. Not sticky pork at all. My husband said mediocre - but I felt 'poor'. Wine was warm - white wine - and once iced horrible. I don't need to go back.m

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrie's Pancakes also viewed

 

Been to Harrie's Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrie's Pancakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.