We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay - very central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zur alten Mine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zur alten Mine
Save
You added Zur alten Mine to your Saves list
R532/R533, Graskop 1270, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Graskop B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“The best place to stay - very central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Zur Alten Mine for 4 days, what wonderful place to stay and the very friendly and helpful hosts Walli and Rainer, gave us the local knowledge of the best places to visit as well as a wonderful breakfast each day.
Beautiful, well equipped log cabin, with stunning views, very central to all the tourist areas.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    59
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinshasa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this lodge. We arrived with heavy rain but as soon as we were settled in the lodge we saw through the window a huge rainbow that welcomed us! It is a convenient place to visit the Blyderiver Canyon. The owners are kind and helpful. The lodge is like a Swiss chalet. The open fire is romantic but it was not easy to get it work properly. There is a nice breakfast in the morning and for dinner there are a few options in the city of Graskop, recommended by the host.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the “Zur Alten Miene“ in April 2013. The place is really great with a nice garden and a huge pond. It is close to all the attraction of the Panorama Route and only about 3 or 4 km away from Graskop so it was no problem to go out for dinner. There is a great place to eat called “The Glass House”. The food there was really good. We went there both evenings. We got nice breakfast at the lodge with everything you need, including fresh baked bread. The owners helped us with planning our tours there and also gave us advice on which road to take to our next destination which was really helpful! The cottages are cozy and fully equipped with a kitchen and a fireplace. There is also a balcony with a braai. Everything was very nicely decorated and clean. We would definitely choose this place again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed two nights at Zur Alten Mine. Access to Graskop was only 5 min by car and the panorama route starts there so very convenient. Walli & Rainer were very helpful and keen to make my stay enjoyable. The cabin was a bit smoky since there is a fireplace in the main room so that may affect those with smoke allergies, but for me it added to the ambiance. The little details like a hot water bottle for the cool nights were appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My family and I were visiting South Africa after a 12 year interval and due to timing we could only stay one night in mid-April in the Graskop Area. After reading the various comments on Trip Advisor we settled on Zur alten Mine and what a find.!! The directions in Rainer's email were spot on and we arrived without any issues to be greeted by Rainer and their three dogs.

Rainer had previously asked my wife and I to switch to the Honeymoon Cottage to accommodate guests who were staying 7 nights and overlapped with our booking and what a lovely cottage it is.

My daughter and family stayed in the family cottage.

Breakfast was one of the best that you could get anywhere with freshly prepared eggs the way you want them, homemade bread, cheese, ham, tomatoes and cereals. What a great way to start the day!

Rainer had previously recommended we have dinner in the Glass House in Graskop, lovely venue and can be recommended, also see review on Trip Advisor

Would love to stay at the resort again when more time permits.

Room Tip: Put on the heater before using the bathroom of the Honeymoon Cottage in Autumn, Winter and early Spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hi,

Firstly Rainer & Walli were very inviting and that personal touch is what lacking at most other establishments.

The cabin were we stayed had all the required amenities and exceeded our expectations for the rate we paid.

A nice touch was the daily supply of wood for the fireplace, it created that relaxing and cozy private cabin in the woods ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed in Zurich Alten for 3 night during the beginning of April. We truly loved the place. Both the landscape of this resort as well as the chalets themselves are outstanding. W got the honeymoon chalet, which has a lovely fire place in it and is actually like a little apartment, with kitchen, balcony and lots of grass, flowers and trees all around. Every day there's fresh flowers put in the room and the feeling of being there is lovely.
The breakfast is nice and the couple running the resort gives a good service. They are service oriented, geared towards making their customers happy and is happy to guide with the sightseeing in the area, the distance to Graskop is very short and it's nice going out there in the evening for dinner. Tough it is surely possible to self cook in the chalet.
I would love coming back again and again to this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zur alten Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur alten Mine

Address: R532/R533, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Graskop and overlooking the beautiful Mpumalanga escarpment you will find our Guest farm. The name ZUR ALTEN MINE is German and means "to the old mine". In the old days there was a private gold mine on this 10.5 hectare property. Our guest farm is ideally situated to explore the Panorama Route with its spectacular view sites such as Gods Window, the Bourke's Luck Potholes and the Blyde River Canyon . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zur Alten Mine Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zur alten Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.