We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canimambo Restaurant

Canimambo Restaurant
Corner Louis Trichardt avenue and Main street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
27878025289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 restaurants in Graskop
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: African, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Being a sea-faring nation the Portuguese were intrepid explorers and among the first Europeans to visit the Cape of Good Hope in the 1500s. In the Colonial era that followed they left their mark in various places on the African continent – Angola, Moçambique and South Africa. From the indigenous people they learnt the usefulness of chilies (piri-piri), which they combined with more traditionally Portuguese ingredients such as olive oil, lemon juice and garlic. Where European Portuguese food is delicately flavoured, Portuguese– Southern African cuisine is fearlessly fiery. Canimambo is a family run restaurant, where you can meet Carla, the Mozambican/Portuguese owner, husband Lance, sons Sean and Wesley, daughters Courtney and Nicole and son-in-law Nando. We pride ourselves in authentic cuisine, friendly service and a cozy atmosphere. Look out for the following when visiting us:The breadbasket: Portuguese rolls are an absolute treat and a meal within a meal. Figados de galinha á piri-piri (piri-piri chicken livers) is a local institution. Use the bread to mop up the lovely juices and you will understand why they never go out of fashion. Batata frita - hands down the South African Portuguese make the best potato chips in the country. Double fried with lots of salt and dollops of vinegar on demand, makes it comfort food in the extreme. Espetada de bife - The Portuguese espetada consists of cubes of perfectly aged rump steak, bay leaves and lemon dipped in course salt before landing on the grill. The natural bay leaf flavour permeates the meat and the salt seals those meaty juices in. Charred on the outside and succulent inside, it’s a steak meal with a difference. Galinha piri-piri (Piri-piri chicken) arguably the most popular dish in South Africa served hot, mild or with lemon butter sauce. Camarão grelhado na brasa (flame grilled prawns), sardinhas assadas na brasa (flame grilled sardines) and ervilhas com chourico e ovos escalfados (pea stew with chourico and poached eggs) are some of the other popular Portuguese dishes on the menu.
Doha
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visited Canimambo twice as it seemed to be the only restaurant open oin the evenings in Graskop. It was highly recommended by our hosts at Daan's Place, and while we enjoyed the food, we wouldn't rave about it. We thought that the wine list was a little overpriced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance G, Owner at Canimambo Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Canimambo(many thanks) for reviewing our restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    69
    64
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food and vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We loved this restaurant and the staff were accomodating even though they were busy and we had 2 little kids with us! Will be back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance G, Owner at Canimambo Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Canimambo(many thanks) for taking the time to post a review of our restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best restaurant for dinner in Graskop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is not much open for dinner in Graskop so luckily Canimambo offers a reasonably good experience. The service is attentive and friendly. You have the choice of sitting indoors or on the patio which is nice when it's warm. The food is reliable steakhouse-type fare although with a Portuguese flavor. They now also have a cocktail lounge (more of a pub really) and an outdoor sitting space with a fire.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance G, Owner at Canimambo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Canimambo (many thanks) for the your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun attentive and groovy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Good food, good service, great music and awesome atmosphere. Waiters are attentive and friendly. Dinner service got little too busy and our waiter handled a large number of tables efficiently but had no time to chitchat. Some tables didn't appreciate that. Overall great experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance G, Owner at Canimambo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Canimambo - "many thanks"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is ok but service was pathetic!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We visited Canimambo some time ago with guests from the UK and had a good experience. However today, 23/09/2012, we had pathetic service. It seemed to us that the waiter was doing us a favour by serving us. When we asked for utensils and side plates he had attitude. Similarly all the other waitresses we asked didn't bother helping us...the prawns were tasteless and burnt, I would not recommend the prawns if you looking for a taste of Mozambique,there are much better places which makes a tastier prawn. They won't be seeing us for a while.... :(

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance G, Owner at Canimambo Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hmm you sound like just like a jealous local that I know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canimambo Restaurant also viewed

Graskop, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Canimambo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canimambo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.