We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Autumn Breath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Autumn Breath
Save
You added Autumn Breath to your Saves list
Cnr Louis Trichardt & President Str, Graskop 1270, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Graskop B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great little B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in Autumn Breath as a base for touring the Panorama Route and then heading on early morning to Kruger and we couldn't have been happier with our choice.

All the rooms (we stayed in 2 and saw the 3rd) were comfortable, with 2 of the 3 being really roomy - the third is small and would be good as a separate room for kids. Everything was spotlessly clean, despite being an older property.

The hosts are incredibly nice and could not be more helpful, with knowledge of the local area and of the Kruger. The property is perfectly located within 2-3 blocks of all the restaurants and shops, and the town is safe to be able to walk to dinner and back, a pleasant surprise for Sth Africa.

We ended up staying here as the town was full and the Autumn Breath was recommended by another B&B owner. We are so pleased to have stayed here and would not hesitate to recommend it. Really good value too in a country where accommodation can be overpriced.

Room Tip: The small room is very small and good for kids, but both of the other rooms are very large and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Graskop, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely guests house. Johan and Ina are extremely helpful and friendly. Great place to stay. Close to all the natural wonders of Mpumalanga and in walking distance to all Graskop's shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our first night in a three week stay and we were very tired after 13 hours on two flights, 6 hours in an airport aiting for a connection and abother long car drive. So we were very tired but we perked up instantly. The hosts made us very welcome and made sure we had all the comforts we needed. We had supper and breakfast, and drinks on the terrace. The food was very well prepared, the beds comfy, and our two rooms were extremely spacious. The main bedroom had a large living area with sofas, firplace, tv etc. I could have stayed here but South Africa was beckoning and we had to explore. Each of our rooms (one for us, the other for the kids), had its own ensuite bathroom. The guesthouse is located in a quite area, yet close to a few shops were we could get whatever we needed.Johan and his wife were very welcoming and a very nice friendly couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were supposed to stay in another BB few km away from the town. There was a misunderstanding and couldn't get a room. We made our way back to Graskop and found Autumn Breath BB. I'm so glad that we ended there. Not only we got a bedroom but a delightful living- room with TV and all comforts. The place was immaculate clean. Beds were so comfortable!!! Breakfast was amazing and even the breakfast was room was lovely. Great value and a fantastic experience with very kind Afrikaans owners. They gave us the best tips for our visit in Kruger Park: without them we would have missed the highlight: the bird sanctuary.
A plus: the best restaurant in town is just few minutes walk from the BB.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is really a little gem in Graskop. The owners, Johan & Ina are very friendly and helpful and will try and assist with every little thing. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is Great! Ina's omelet comes highly recommended.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is coffee/tea station, with home made rusks, in the room. We had dinner the one evening at the Portuguese restaurant in town and it was GREAT! Really tasteful food at a reasonable price and it is walking distance from Autumn Breath.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We came across the Autumn Breath B&B at Graskop as we were trying to battle through heavy fog on our way to Blyde River Canyon. Although we did not get the opportunity to stay over at this place, we did stop by for a coffee break!

The owner, Ina was the most graceful hostess I've ever come across. We ordered some coffees and hot chocolates. The best part about Ina is that she is full of information about "her" part of South Africa. She gave us maps, road directions, tips on what to see, what we could give a miss... and she even called up at the info kiosk at Blyde River Canyon on our behalf to find out if we should make the trip since it was so intensely foggy.

The hot cocoa and coffee added to the warmth that she had already provided us. The Autumn Breath is beautifully done up - is a beautiful cottage by the side of the road with lovely flower bushes. Plenty of maps and information available. You must visit this place on the way to Blyde River Canyon - Ina also makes some home-made pies - but we didn't get to taste any as it was her clean-up day! I'm sure they would be as lovely and inviting as the place itself !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in room 1 (the largest of the 3) and got a very reasonable price.
Very clean, comfortable and functional. Coffee/tea and rusks in-room.
Great breakfast! Very hearty & extensive.
Garaged parking included (which is unusual).
The hosts are charming and exceptionally helpful.

I strongly recommend this place to anyone staying over in Graskop, or needing a hub for day trips in the Blyde River Canyon area.

Room Tip: There are three rooms: two double beds with ensuite bathrooms, one with single beds and a shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Autumn Breath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Breath

Address: Cnr Louis Trichardt & President Str, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Graskop
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Autumn Breath Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autumn Breath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.