We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best lodge experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Gondwana Canon Park | Box 80205, Fish River Canyon, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windhoek
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best lodge experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It was the second time within half a year I stayed at Canyon Lodge, once in winter, once in summer and both times it has been a wonderful stay! I think it is the best lodge of all I have experienced in Namibia and I have visited quite a lot! I will surely come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
It is a real privilege to know you enjoy visiting us and that you will return yet again for another visit. We appreciate your feedback, thank you. Hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    87
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
172
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nestled amongst the massive granite boulders Canyon Lodge was a great base to explore the Fish River Canyon. The rooms were excellent and the service better than average. Maybe just too many groups but we did not mind. The pool is a walk away and very refreshing. Choose the units are further away from the main building as they are quieter and have better views.

Room Tip: The chalets that are further away from the main building up the side of the hill amongst the bould...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Canyon Lodge. We appreciate your feedback about the refreshing pool experience you had and the great service. We really hope you will visit us again soon. Kindest Regards, Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch Rsa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the third visit to this Lodge over a period of ten years and the same level of fantastic service was experienced and one waitress stood out and if I remember correctly the name was Ushi or similar?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
It is a great compliment to us knowing you will return to Canyon Lodge. Thank you for writing about it. Be assured we have forwarded your compliments to the staff. Please do visit again soon. Regards, Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The chalets are spread out to give privacy, and each is built by incorporating the boulders into the structure, in our case a bathroom wall. The horses and donkeys graze during the day in between the chalets.
There is a fabulous view from the restaurant out over the chalets and rock formations making breakfast a special outdoor experience.
The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good. Excellent service and friendly staff.
There is a nice gift shop at reception, one of the more extensive that we encountered during our overall travels in the area. The lodge is only 20 minutes (max) drive from the Fish River canyon so it is very easy to get there and back.
We only spent one night and would ideally be better to spend two nights to get the most out of the setting.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique so would recommend any of them. Note that one or two had been built onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are thankful for your review and for choosing us as an overnight establishment. Thank you for mentioning the service, I have forwarded your compliments to the staff members and management. We are already looking forward to your next longer visit.
Best Regards,
Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ver Sur Launette 60 Oise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

very nice service, staff very friendly, food excellent quality, lodges vey clean, excursions on demand, we had a nice stay, two nights are ok to see around , if the weather is great, go to the swimming pool, the view is great




  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
It is a delight to know you enjoyed your stay so much and that you found it to be excellent. We have a wide range of lodges ideally situated at the main attractions. We hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The lodge is in a fantastic setting, surrounded by giant boulders, providing views from the restaurant veranda as well as our room that were stunning. While there, we saw what was probably the most magnificent sunset since we arrived in Namibia a year ago. A plus is the history of the venue, which was originally a farm developed by a Germany immigrant in the early 1900s. Staff was welcoming and extremely helpful. Nothing to not like!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are overjoyed to know your stay was so wonderful and that you liked every aspect of it. I am glad you got to experience the beauty of a sunset in Namibia. It’s a sight to treasure. Thank you for visiting us, for your compliments, but also for taking the time to write this review.

Best Regards,
Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The chalets are built into the rocks so you have parts of the boulders as the chalet walls - very cool!

The scenery is stunning and we had 2 magnificent sunsets, saw the Fish River Canyon, went on a self drive safari and photographed many different quiver trees. We were under the impression that to see quiver trees you had to go to Keetmanshoop but Canyon lodge is surrounded by these trees!

The service and meals were excellent - we had kudu steaks, springbok medallions and oryx steaks as dinner main courses on the 3 nights and the starters and desserts were also great.

One thing, however, could be improved - each chalet should have a bar fridge as the swimming pool or restaurant can be a long walk to fetch drinks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
How great it is to know you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for mentioning the delicious food and the great service. We appreciate your suggestion about the fridges and would like to apologize for the inconvenience of walking far to fetch drinks. See you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Address: Gondwana Canon Park | Box 80205, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.