We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ai-Ais Hotsprings Spa

Ai-Ais Hotsprings Spa
Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Tokai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, what a beautiful setting. Very hot though, so don't go during summer. We thought we'll cool down in the "cold" pool outside but it just so happens that it was hotter than the one hot pool in the inside of the hotel. Staff is very friendly and the food are excellent and definitely value for money. Amazing road to get there with big boulders of rose quartz on your way, just lying there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to Fish River Canyon -WHICH IS AWESOME- & spent 2 night at Ai-Ais on their B&B facility. After travelling into the area where there is nothing or no one, to arrive in this oasis is a pleasure! The whole infrastructure is fantastic, the food is fantastic, the staff very friendly and the hot water springs are great! I will go back anytime!!!!!! Congratulations and please keep up the place and look after such beautiful place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Baboon paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ai Ais is an interesting place that I have visited four or five times over the last 20 years. My last visit was in October 2012 and this was my experience.

When booking we received contradictory comment regarding the national park fee and after 7 phone calls to Namibia we were told the fee was not payable although all documentation stated it was payable. On arrival it was confirmed that the fee was not payable.

Camp sites were not allocated and it was a free for all so the early arrivals got the best sites which is a pity when you are staying more than one night,

Positives:
The reception was efficient and friendly.
Gasoline was available at the camp site and a tyre repair service was offered by one of the staff.
The restaurant was OK but definitely no gastronomic delights.
The Fish River Canyon is close enough for a day trip.
The scenery is beautiful and the area is arid.

Negatives:
The baboons are a problem and steal food and anything else left unattended.
The shop is essentially useless and one must arrive with all provisions.
The indoor pool was free to campers (there was never anyone at the kiosk) so we assumed it was free.
The floor is VERY slippery and with or without shoes one must be very careful. A friend fell and injured his back.
The pools are dirty.
At least half of the lights in the ablutions and washing up areas do not work.
The ceilings in the showers are black and covered with mould.

We were there in a group with 6 vehicles and had fun together. Would I return? Maybe to overnight ... but there are better overnight facilities within a 50km radius.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in a room, after visiting the fish river canyon.
The location was good, so we didn't had to drive too far anymore that day. It was nice to relax at the pool and the room was fine. Also good that they have a gas station and they can repear tyres, which is nice after the bumby drive in that area. Dinner in the restaurant was not good, so I would adivise to take some braai food and braai at the campsite.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hot water spring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We did the camper holiday again. Ablution blocks fairly clean and serviced only after a complaint. Spa pools can only be used by campers at $10 a day. The outdoor hot water pool is available at no extra cost. Very refreshing. Camp sites are being upgraded, grass planted, not very many trees in the camping area though. Baboons are a big problem. The chalets appear very neat and luxurious.
Expensive shop with little to offer. Fresh bread is available.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai-Ais Hotsprings Spa also viewed

 
Luderitz, Karas Region

Been to Ai-Ais Hotsprings Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai-Ais Hotsprings Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.