We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and perfect location to explore East Etosha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Etosha Aoba Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Etosha Aoba Lodge
Save
You added Etosha Aoba Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 469, Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good service and perfect location to explore East Etosha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Over our two nights stay in Etosha Aoba Lodge at the end of November 2011, we received warm welcome and good service. It is set within a beautiful Tamboti forest. This means you are able to see many animals by the time you arrive there: giraffes, zebras, blue wildebeests, guinea fowl, jackals. We did not see any animals at the Lodge’s own small water hole/hideout, but there were many cute ground squirrels all day long. We purchased an excellent map of Etosha, that allows you to identify animals, at the reception for £4.50.

The Lodge shares entrance gate with Onguma and few other lodges and has its own clean water supply, so you can drink their tap water. Well spaced out bungalows offer sufficient privacy. We stayed in N9, the second furthest away from the reception/dining area, only few minutes walk to reach it. Dinner setting wass most beautiful, with a fire lit near by.

Great location to explore the East side of Etosha - we enormously enjoyed our self-drives. Comfortable bed, tea facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi connection without any passwords. No TV. A very basic outdoor shower. A socket adaptor provided sadly does not fit UK plugs. Mosquito nets are provided for all doors, windows and a bed but there were still just little too many creepy crawlies for my liking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

we took trip advisors advice and booked on a four night package at Aoba - with game drives included at the start of a holiday based around the Etosha Game Park. So what made it good for us??

rooms good and clean with regular serviciong froam staff. simple outside relaxation areas both around the room and the main lodge areas.

Helpful and freindly staff - keen to make the our stay enjoyable.

great food and service with a wide ranging wine list - essential for the Missus.

Not to miss are the game drives. for the most of the trip we driove ourselves - what we forgot is that an early morning drive into the park with our guide - William - gives you acess to the local guides' radios and thereby ensures that you see the opportunies you might miss alone. Time spent with a pride of thirteen well fed lions was amazing.

Overall good value for money and perhaps a tad less formal than some of the upmarket lodges. They met our needs as birders very well and ensured time was provided to see birds as well as game.

Room Tip: Aircon in summer is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in July 2011. Our visit was incredible from start to finish. From a warm welcome to our room and dinner this place really has it all. It is a perfect distance to the park entrance, and along the way you can see many animals. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The dinners are spectacular....eating fresh food under the stars. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed three nights during June 2011

Summary: After being in Sabi, Madikwe, Chobe, Kalahari, Okavango, etc I would rate the camp as in the upper part compared to the average in Africa. Rooms are nice (not amazing) but good enough, food is very good and (can't stress this enough) service is brilling. This is THE key for a perfect getaway. Will repeat if visiting Etosha again.

Some highlights

- Camp is 13km from the gate using a gravel road (ie, 20 min drive). From there you have another 20 min after you reach the park offices and proceed to the park itself. Plan ahead every morning.

- Rooms are quite nice (not amazing). Clean and with the standard amenities.

- The private reserve is very nice. Allow yourself some time to drive around

- If you have some experience, I'd rather do self drive than the guided tours. 1 hour to go from the park and 1 h to come back is not optimal

- Make sure you have dinner at the lodge. Food is good and affordable (165NS for 3 course meal). Tell them to prepare a lunch pack for the long day (60NS)

- Visit Namutoni and the rest of the camps. They look nice but soon after you will discover why a lot of people choose to be outside the park - SERVICE IS TERRIBLE (can't stress this enough)

Again, maybe being outside the park is suboptimal but given the safari experience comprises all touchpoints (included service), Aoba is a very good option.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the beautiful lodge. Very nice houses (nbr 1 and 2) with own outside sitting area. Very good food and very nice and friendly people helping whereever they can. Don´t stay in the Etosha park where hotels are bad and expensive. Aoba is just 30 min from the entrance. Nice own game driving on the Aoba property. Good food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We booked two nights at the Aoba Lodge in March 2011. After a long drive from Walvis Bay we arrived at the lodge road at sundown. As mentioned in other reviews the entrance road was 20 km and required a 4x4 to navigate during the “wet season”. Our efforts however were rewarded with multiple close encounters with the spectacular wildlife; including giraffes, zebras, kudu, guinea fowl, wildebeests, and wart hogs. Since these were our first animal sightings it added to the anticipation as we arrived at the lodge. We were greeted by the friendly and professional staff and quickly settled in. The bungalows were clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated with an African theme. We walked back to the lodge for dinner and met our host Peter who was engaging with a good sense humor. Dinner was a fantastic, 4 -star quality affair with a great wine selection, and good company. The staff also treated us to a beautiful a cappella rendition of local tribal music. It was the perfect place to unwind after a big day. Breakfast the next day was made to order and equally delicious.

Location, Location, Location

We spent the entire next day exploring the Fisher pan and the east side of the Etosha pan on a self drive tour. The animal viewing was amazing. We saw too many giraffes, zebra, and antelope to count; including a zebra with a new fold still being nudged to stand up. We rounded a corner on the Fisher Pan and came upon two bull elephants playing in a water hole. The day we left we also saw a pride of lions and two rinos.
We returned to the Aoba Lodge the second night we received the same excellent professional service and comfort. It was a welcome bit of luxury in the heart of Africa. Pack your binoculars and Hemmingway novels, rent a 4 wheel drive and prepare to be amazed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerth, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This was probably the best lodge we stayed at in Namibia. The service was excellent. The bungalows were clean and nicely decorated. Because the "family bungalow" we had booked was meant for 2adults and 1kid, and we were going to put 3 adults there, they decided to give us an extra bungalow for free. By the way: the "family bungalow" is great! It has one double bed, a big sofa that is comfortable for sleeping, a small tower with another sofa, its own pavillion with deckchairs, and an outside shower in case you get too hot.
The pool was clean – although it was the rainy season, which messes with the pool water.
The food was excellent and varied. The host is very proud of the wine cellar and helped us choose. For lunch we just went up to reception and they made anything we wanted.
Samuel, who drove us around the Etosha park, was smart, funny and extremely patient with us.
Some of the serving staff were still being trained, which amused my parents-in-law but did not deter from the experience.
This lodge has its own little nature trail and the folder with the explanations for all the cool things you can see is handed out at the reception.
Because the Lodge is in a forest there are plenty of animals to see and on our way to dinner we surprised some antelope in front of our bungalow.
They have a laptop in the common area for general use (and it's free). As anywhere in Namibia, the connection is a little slow, so uploading pictures should be avoided.
Definitely an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Etosha Aoba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Aoba Lodge

Address: PO Box 469, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Aoba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Etosha Aoba Hotel Etosha National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etosha Aoba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.