We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break a way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mokuti Etosha Lodge to your Saves list
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Farm 941, Kleinbegin | C38, Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Tsumeb, Namibia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Break a way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Although we only spend one night here it was absolutely great, It has all the facilities one could wish for in a break a way, Tennis Courts, Spa, Game Drives , Reptile Park and it is a tthe entrance of one of Africa's bigest Nature Parks(Etosha). Although it was a bit crowded on the day that we spent there( Was expected since it was Christmas day afterall) Verry helpfull Receptionist and staff in general, Had a problem with ordering Room Service, either the phone was not working or they where verry busy, gave up after six calls with no answer. The handy man that came to look at the aircon was a bit "under the weather" and as a result we had a bit of a warm night.This however did not damper our stay which was ended with a relaxing Spa treatment on the morning before check out. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Beware of people just walking into your room, A problem with Proper identification of room numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your sentiments to our team.

We no longer offer Room Service as our lodge spans over a large area therefore the feasibility of delivering a quality product does not allow for this service to be offered. However under special circumstances for instance if a guest is ill and is unable to make their way to the Restaurant we are more than willing to offer Room Service in this instance.

Following your observation with the air conditioning unit we have put into place a preventative maintenance program which will assist in circumventing any future problems with the air conditioning units. We would like to take this opportunity to make clear that members of our team that may be a bit “under the weather,” should not allow this to affect our guests’ experience. We will address this with our team and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We do have signage around the lodge along the pathways to our rooms however we will evaluate the current positioning of these signs to determine if indeed they are placed strategically. The room numbers are written just above the door handle of each room. We have an electronic card system in place, a dead bolt door lock, as well as a manual locking mechanism on the inside of the room as such we can confirm that your room cannot be easily accessed by anyone else.

Kind Regards,
Lance Hurly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    107
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
91
130
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Absolutely stunning. Unfortunetaly spa was fully booked when we got there. Rooms are very beautiful and children enjoyed it alot. Wish we stayed longer than only one night. Service from housekeepimg was not so good as we had to phone 4 times for linen for the little one's bed. Food was fantastic and service at bar and restaurants. This Lodge are very highly recommended and we loved it.

Room Tip: Close to swimming pool and main areas was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will be sure to share your positive feedback with our team. We do apologize that you faced difficulty in trying to reach our Housekeeping department we will be sure to address this issue. It is very seldom that our SPA is fully booked as we have 4 treatment rooms and therapists. However, we will investigate why it was not possible to get you a treatment in the SPA as enquired. We take this review to our department meeting and can assure you to improve the service in our SPA.

Kind Regards,
Lance Hurly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

In one word, sublime.

Wonderful location, delicious food (especially the Malva pudding) & the most attentive and helpful staff you could ask for. All in all 10/10 and a fantastic holiday.

Definitely opt for the organised safaris they simply cannot be beaten (despite trying!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your heartfelt compliments to our team. Our chef prides himself on our famous “Malva Pudding,” and would like to share his recipe with you.

Ingredients: Pudding - 30ml (2T) Butter, 125ml White Sugar, 1 Extra Large Egg, 15ml (1T) Apricot Jam, 5 ml (1t) Bicarbonate of Soda, 125ml (½C) Milk, 250ml (1C) Cake Flour, Pinch of Salt, 15ml (1T) Vinegar


Sauce: 125g Butter, 185 ml (¾C) White Sugar, 65ml (¼C) Water, 185 ml (¾C) Cream, 5ml (1t) Vanilla essence

Method Pudding:
Cream butter and sugar together, beat in the egg until light and fluffy.
Beat in the apricot jam.
Dissolve the bicarb in the milk.
Sift the flour and salt together and add to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk.
Lastly stir in the vinegar.
Pour into a deep round dish about 19cm diameter. Cover the dish with a lid or foil and then bake for 1 hour at 180°C.

Method Sauce:
Bring the butter, sugar and water to the boil and simmer, stirring all the time for 2 minutes.
Remove from the stove and then add the cream and the vanilla. Pour over the hot baked pudding.

Kind Regards,
Lance Hurly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Mokuti Lodge is located just outside the gate to Etosha National Park, so without having to wake up at the crack of dawn, we were able to get into the park early enough to see the animals as they came to the various waterholes. The guide who drove us into the park was in constant radio contact with other drivers so we were taken to various spots just in time to see the elephants, rhinos, and lions as they came to drink. The hotel itself is quite beautiful and spacious, with a reptile park and lovely bird-filled gardens where docile bontebok roam about trimming and fertilizing the lawn. Our room was very large with an authentic African decor thatched roof, which, while visually pleasing, did not allow the room to cool down below 28 degrees C / 82 F at night despite frantic fiddling with the AC remote. It also harbored mosquitoes. The staff was happy to spray the room for mosquitoes if any were about. While we were there it rained heavily one evening and the power went out. The dining area had a generator so service was not interrupted. To get us back to our rooms safely and dry after dinner the staff walked us individually through the rain and darkness under umbrellas without much concern that they got wet. Despite the warm room and power outage which was outside of the control of the hotel, we enjoyed our stay at the Mokuti Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Mokuti.

We are so glad that our facilities met your expectations. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team who take great strides to ensure each stay with us is a memorable one.

Whilst there are a number of mosquitoes in the area we can happily confirm that Mokuti is located in a malaria free zone. We have addressed the situation with our generators and can affirm that our entire hotel is generator powered so in the event of a power cut no services will be interrupted at all including the comfort of your room. We have also implemented preventative maintenance measures which address all of our air conditioning units.

We look forward to having you back!

Kind Regards,

Lance Hurly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge for two nights, and where overwhelmed to see so many animals already on the premise.

There are antilopes, squirrels, DikDik, mongoose and a lot of birds to watch on the really huge hotel gardens.

The only distraction was the pool. The water looked white, a bit like milk, and we could not see our feet on the ground of the pool at 1,20meters depth. I did not dive in this water. Eventually I stepped on some things, some tree branches and other stuff on the ground. It also seemed to me, that there was no chlorine in the water, which could be the cause for the milky water.

The rooms are really nice, we especially liked the shower.
The dining and breakfast area has seats inside and outside, the waiters are alert, but not to pushy. For diner there is usually a buffet, which our waiter explained to us every evening. It is no problem to get full, even for vegetarians. I liked the Oryx steak most of all. :-)
There are at least 4-6 different starters and a lot of different deserts. Try the malva pudding!!!

Breakfast is in the same area. There are different sorts of bread, cheese and sausage as well as egg and bacon, and also some sort of warm stuff, which I usually not eat in the morning. But it looked really nice.

We had some food in the early afternoon, too, after returning from our early trip to Etosha.
There was also no need to complain. Our burgers where fresh made, the salad and the fries were good, too. And we also had some fun with the squirrels at that time.

As the lodge is located 200 meters from the park entrance to Etosha, it is a very good start from there. Breakfast starts at 6.30h, so you can catch the early bird, if you like.

I would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team.

It is unfortunate that you experienced our pool in this state. We have three swimming pools on site which have been overhauled, repainted and refilled. We have a dedicated Maintenance team on site who regularly test the quality of our pool water and endeavor to ensure that our pool water is crystal clear all year round.

Our food offering consists of the following venues our Boma where we offer a sumptuous traditional style menu; a la carte dinning is featured in our Rock Room, as well as a stir fry in our Tambuti Restaurant or a buffet dependent on the number of guests we have staying with us.

Our chef prides himself on our famous “Malva Pudding,” and would like to share his recipe with you.

Ingredients:

Pudding - 30ml (2T) Butter, 125ml White Sugar, 1 Extra Large Egg, 15ml (1T) Apricot Jam, 5 ml (1t) Bicarbonate of Soda, 125ml (½C) Milk, 250ml (1C) Cake Flour, Pinch of Salt, 15ml (1T) Vinegar
Sauce: 125g Butter, 185 ml (¾C) White Sugar, 65ml (¼C) Water, 185 ml (¾C) Cream, 5ml (1t) Vanilla essence

Method Pudding:
Cream butter and sugar together, beat in the egg until light and fluffy.
Beat in the apricot jam.
Dissolve the bicarb in the milk.
Sift the flour and salt together and add to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk.
Lastly stir in the vinegar.
Pour into a deep round dish about 19cm diameter. Cover the dish with a lid or foil and then bake for 1 hour at 180°C.

Method Sauce:
Bring the butter, sugar and water to the boil and simmer, stirring all the time for 2 minutes.
Remove from the stove and then add the cream and the vanilla. Pour over the hot baked pudding.

Kind Regards,
Lance Hurly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The lodge is conveniently located at the enterance of Etosha .It is however used by all tour operators as it is (probably?)the only big hotel in the neighbourhood.Staff and premises seem to be an heritage of the fromer Mokuti lodge.Although the rooms have been refreshed, the lodge entrance and dining areas need some refurbishing.Not Kempinski standard.Nice gardens and pool area and not expensive compared to upscale lodges

Room Tip: if you opt for a standard "bush view" room, make sure that the view is effectively on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The size of our lodge does allow us to be considered by Tour Operators and we most certainly accommodate this sector of the market.

We do however welcome and host individual travelers as well as families and they really enjoy staying with us since the green and cool tropical garden divides the several small houses hosting the rooms. Thus you never have the feeling being in a big Hotel but rather in a Bush Lodge, but with all the service and quality a Hotel can provide.

Also, the Mokuti Etosha Lodge is no longer affiliated with the Kempinski Hotels Group since July 2012 already, should you wish to read further on this matter kindly follow this link: http://www.observer.com.na/business/384-o-l-boots-out-kempinski

We value your feedback concerning our public areas. We will most certainly take this into consideration when planning our next refurbishment.

Kind Regards,

Lance Hurly

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This lodge is located just outside the gate to the Etosha National Park. It has a great and spacious set up with a huge pool and a nice bar. The whole complex was recently renovated. Our room was not very spacious, but very nicely decorated. The bathroom was especially great. The food was buffet style with a big variety. We even enjoyed one of the awesome spa treatments in the wonderful and very calming spa area. This was bliss! Kempinski Mokuti Lodge is certainly not the cheapest place to stay, but a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OandL-Leisure, General Manager at Mokuti Etosha Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

We would like to take this opportunity to reintroduce our brand and property to you.

Please be advised that we are no longer affiliated with Kempinski who was at the time of your stay our Management Company. Should you wish to read further on this development kindly follow this link directly relating to this matter http://www.observer.com.na/business/384-o-l-boots-out-kempinski

We are thrilled that our facilities met and exceeded your expectations during your previous stay with us. We have different venues and menus on offer dependent on the number of guests’ we have staying with us.

For instance we have our Boma where we offer a sumptuous traditional style menu; a la carte dining is featured in our Rock Room, as well as a stir fry or buffet in our Tambuti Restaurant.

We have three room types on offer of which we believe there is an option to suit each travelers taste and preference. We would however encourage you to revisit our newly launched website to reacquaint yourself with the current product we have on offer.

Kind Regards,
Lance Hurly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokuti Etosha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Address: Farm 941, Kleinbegin | C38, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mokuti Etosha Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokuti Etosha Lodge is the closest Lodge to the Etosha National Park. Just 4 Minutes outside the gates of Etosha National Park is the gateway to a unique safari experience as well as the perfect destination for incentives, weddings and honeymoons. Experience magical moments in Etosha National Park that feed your imagination, leaving you with tales to tell for many days and years to come. After your exciting journey visit the Mokuti SPA, a place that evokes the perfect harmony between natural beauty and pure relaxation. All rooms are situated in chalets with thatched roofs in the wide spread and tranquil gardens. Enjoy the delicacies of the restaurants at Mokuti Etosha Lodge. Mokuti Etosha Lodge is ideal for families, with a wide range of activities for the young and curious explorers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mokuti Etosha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Mokuti Hotel Etosha National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokuti Etosha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.