We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a water hole!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okaukuejo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Okaukuejo Resort to your Saves list
Okaukuejo Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Western Park Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“What a water hole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a government run lodge and has something of a negative reputation as a result with the assumption that the service is not up to scratch. We did not find it so. Our rooms (group of 19 in 12 rooms) seemed to have been refurbished and were very smart, albeit a bit tight. The restaurant dinner was ok but the drinks service was excellent and breakfast was fine. BUT, the attraction here is the stunning waterhole within the grounds of the lodge, 50 metres or so from most chalets. The wild life here at night (whatever time you want to try for) is amazing. You watch from the comfort of benches separating you from the action by a modest wall. So not stellar accommodation but outstanding activity. We wished we had stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: The premium chalets seem to be on two levels and most have a view of the water hole from the deck on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    196
    135
    44
    14
See reviews for
92
240
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been to Etosha many times and have not enjoyed all there facilities as I usually camp. In terms of reception and helping with bookings I had a fantastic experience and I think it is worth noting that if you take a friendly approach, which is not always easy in 35 + degree temp having traveled many hours in the car, you will most likely find that the person on the receiving end will reciprocate that back. If you come in with the right attitude your chances of leaving with a smile is almost given.

In terms of the Camp, I think the Waterhole is already famous and wont change much :). The layout of the camps is good, facilities are clean and my coffee was not the worst considering.

Room Tip: If you are camping stay clear of the ablutions as these are where the overland trucks park off fo th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this camping place. The camping place offers the usual facilities - I would not say it is amazing but it is not bad either. Toilets and showers were quite clean, although the camping place was quite full.

There is a small shop which sells the basics - some fruit and veggies, a few tins, water, soft drinks, beer, souvenirs, postcards, ice creams, and so on. Of course it is more expensive than shops outside the park but for European standards it is still more than affordable.

There is a swimming pool but I did not use it - it was July and although it was nice and sunny, the water was freezing cold. There are a few (8 -10) sun beds but they are simply not enough... the camping place is huge.....

The highlight of this place, and the reason why I would surely go back again, is the waterhole.
If you have a little bit of patience, you will nearly surely see animals (particularly in winter, when there is less water in the park and therefore they go to the waterhole to drink). We have seen rhinos (including a small one), plenty of elephants, a couple of hyenas, a jackal and much more.

Some tips: bring a torch - it can be very dark at night and you might need it to go to the waterhole. If you go in winter (June - September) it can be cold at night, so bring warm clothes (particularly if you want to spend time at the waterhole at night).
If you are planning to do lots of cooking, make sure you stock up before you enter the park, since the supermarket only offers the basics.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sondrio, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in bush chalet for 2 nights in August. The chalet is clean and comfortable. Dinner buffet is nothing to remember. The staff is very rude and unhelpfull. The resort is big but if you don't mind sharing the beauty of Okaukuejo waterhole with a lot of people, this is "Your National Geographic Channel" in Etosha! We visit the waterhole at noon (elephants, zebras, springboks, oryx, giraffes) and after dinner (more elephants, 4 rhinos). Unlike other reviews, I found the place very quiet and silent despite it was full of people. During our drives we had lot of rhino spotting and lions just at Olifantsbad and Sueda waterholes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have just been to Etosha for 7 days and it has been an amazing experience. At Okakuejo I stayed in a bush chalet for one night only and I wish I had been there for more. The chalet is clean but not as nice as the ones in Halali which are bigger and more comfortable for a family with two children. The Ok bush chalets have only one bedroom. However, the water hole compensates for every thing. The area around the waterhole is perfect for kids to stretch their legs while at Halali and Namutoni it is a bit crampy. And at Okakuejo the animals come like in a stage. The afternoon show, the evening show etc. If you like in the sightings book what is written the day before, it pretty much happens the next day. You cannot get this entertainment if you stay in an outside lodge at night. We saw just between 9 pm and 11 pm, five lions fighting with one lone lion. Then four Rhinos. And then the elephants. It was simply amazing. The service is slow but people are human. I would suggest that all travellers buy a sim card on arrival (very cheap at MTC) and carry your mobile. If some thing missing at your chalet or room, just call the numbers in the paper with the map given at reception and make hell. You need to call every five minutes and after one hour some one will turn up very apologetic and it will be all ok. But if you complain only once, nothing will happen. It is also a big distance to walk from your chalet to the reception. We had towels missing, one mattress missing for kids and I called every five minutes from 5pm to 6 pm and managed to have some one come at 6pm with every thing. You just need to be calm but strict. The food was better than expected and overall service was good. I would stay in the camping next time as the camping is next to the waterhole and very easy to walk. If you don't camp, it would be good to take a bush chalet or the family chalet. They are quite ok. There are several black backed jackals running around. Very dangerous in the dark. Be careful, they even sit under your car. For rabies, this is very dangerous. I do not understand why the management allows this. There also a few 'human jackals' walking around, so do not leave your valuables in the car if you stop for your permits etc.

Room Tip: Some premium water hole chalets views are blocked by trees. So have a look before you choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I visited Okaukejo Camp in Namibia's Etosha National Park in October 2012.
I had been looking forward to visiting this camp as wildlife reports at the waterhole were amazing, this was to be the highlight of my trip. I was certainly not dissapointed, the density of wildlife was unbelievable, elephants, lions, giraffe, and hyena,visited everyday along with thousands, yes thousands of zebra and huge numbers of spingbok also jackal, kudu, ostrich, wildebeeste and the iconic oryx.
I have visited many countries in Africa but have never witnessed such diversity at any waterhole before. If you are a wildlife enthusiast visiting Namibia then Okaukuejo is an absolute must. you will not be dissapointed. If you are a photographer you will capture a magical line up of zebra ....all in a row a truly amazing scene, just say and watch the wildlife scatter as the predators come in, there are often kills here so if you are squeemish take your dark glasses! Do not, repeat do not leave camp on at least one day of your stay, just position yourself at the waterhole and be amazed ..... then when you do choose to leave camp ensure you visit the adjacent Nebrownii to see the ghosts of Etosha (huge bull elephants plastered white with calcrete), then nearby Okendeka where a pride of lions conceal themselves and spring upon their prey drinking in the Etosha pan.
The highlight for me at Okaukeujo was the number of black rhino coming down to drink, I counted 12 on one night so don't retire to bed too early or you will miss a treat.
The camp itself is not luxury but it's the wildlife you go for so I would say do not expect too much on the accomodation front though we did find it reasonable both in price and the rooms / restaurant service etc were ok. If you can afford it try to book one of the waterhole chalets, numbers 1 & 2 are perfect, just a few metres from the waterhole perimeter. Enjoy....I did!
If you really want to enhance your visit to Etosha, there is an e book available from a photographer called Mario Fazekas, google him, the book is jam full of very useful advice.

Room Tip: Try to book a waterhole chalet if available for a front row seat in Africa's most amazing wildli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Okaukuejo was a must for us - having access to a waterhole in the night was just too interesting.
We were positively surprised - the Waterhole Double room was in the first row at the waterhole, very convenient for checking if there was anything going on.
The double-bungalow offered a small bedroom and a very small bath-room. Also there seemed to be a problem with the sewer - there was a bad odour in the bath-room.
The restaurant is big with very little atmosphere. The service was OK. The food - breakfast and dinner - was acceptable.
To summarize - we think that the waterhole in Okaukuejo is the best we have seen (Halali, Namutoni), so it you want this experience than you just have to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okaukuejo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Resort

Address: Western Park Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Okaukuejo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Okaukuejo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okaukuejo Hotel Etosha National Park
Okaukuejo Resort Etosha National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaukuejo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.