We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp
Save
You added Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp to your Saves list
Etosha - Ongava Game Reserve, Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent two nights here in early October. The turn-off is literally only metres from Andersson Gate, the western exit to Etosha NP. Met first by a very friendly guy on the gate who gave very good directins for getting to the Camp. Andersson's Camp is located in Ongava Game Reserve and there are two other camps in the same area.
Met at the camp itself by Sakkie and Jaces - both extremely friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Also given a lovely cold drink and refreshing washer to help cool down.
Tented chalets delightful - comfortable bed takes up most of the room but there is a small deck where you can sit and relax and watch the parade of Guinea Fowl, Springbok and Kudu making their way to the waterhole. Outdoor shower is a delight - completely private.
Comfortable lounges in the communal area near the dining room makes watching wildlife at the waterhole a relaxing experience. The dining area overlooks the waterhole as well. the waterhole is only metres away.
I would thoroughly recommend this camp. It might not have the shop facilities of the bigger rest camps inside Etosha but it is quiet, relaxing and intimate without the crowds at the waterholes. I'd suggest a couple of nights so you can drive around Etosha as well as make the most of the optional activities offered by the Camp. There is a small curio shop as well which stocks a small range of lovely jewellery, scarves and clothing.
Food is very good - I had probably the best mushroom soup and chocolate mousse of anywhere.
The Camp is very sympathetic to the environment and they have tried to have a minimal impact and small footprint in what has been done.
Do the optional guide nature walk - Frans is a fantastic guide and it is a great way of getting in touch with the sights, sounds and smells of Namibia. A well-spent one and a half hours. The optional sundowner game drive is also a good way to see more of the Reserve and the animals that live there.

Room Tip: Take a torch. The paths back to the chalets are lit but you never know - that rustling in the bush b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Andersson's Sept 20-23 and enjoyed it very much. The waterhole is amazing with visits from hartebeest, oryx, rhinos, wildebeest and lions (among others). The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and the food, notably the game, was good. Either things have improved dramatically since some of the earlier negative reviews or we were very lucky or . . . ? We went on a full-day game drive into Etosha and the guide (sorry, we didn't write down his name) was very impressive. He did his best to ensure that we saw a range of animals and was very successful, including driving quickly to a spot where we were in time to see a cheetah and her five cubs leaving a kill. Our trip to Namibia was arranged through Ramona at Go2Africa and she put together a great itinerary for us.

Room Tip: Our room (#20) unfortunately overlooked the construction area for a new hide but the lounge at the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is the epitome of eco friendliness! Everything is built from reclaimed materials and the position close to a very active waterhole is very impressive. Sitting having a cool drink we saw zebra, warthog, waterbuck, oryx, impala and kudu in the course of an hour or so, and lion and rhino have been sighted there recently too. Food is excellent and the guides are very knowledgeable. The rooms are very quirky with sunked tin tubs as the showerbases and corrugated iron toilet doors but its really charming and everything works really well. Staff are fantastic too and I'd thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading some of the reviews here I was a bit concerned about this Andersson's Camp, but our stay exceed our expectations by far.

The facilities are very good (of course, this is not a luxury camp so one should not expect luxuries...), The tents are not very large, and maybe two chairs is the small veranda would be a nice touch, but the bedas are very comfortable and the bathroom is very well planned. The whole reciclying concept is nice.

The service was very attentive at all times and the food very good, from breakfast to dinner.

The waterhole in front of the dining/sitting area is a wonderful feature and we saw a lot, from the guinea fowl at sun rise to kudus, antilopes, a hyena and a couple of white rhino.

The camp is a great basis for visiting Etosha. Etosha itself is an amazing place. There are some people that say that it is too crowded or commercial, but the landscape and wildlife in the park are beyond description. The salt pan is an amazing view and the waterholes are a magnet for all types of animals. It is spectacular!

The Ongava reserve is nice and we saw a number of rhinos and other animals there, but it cannot compare with what you see in Etosha.

I highly recommend Andersson's. You just have to understand that it is not a luxurious high end property, but it is rather a very well run, comfortable and friendly place for you to get close to some of the greatest wildlife reserves in Africa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A dining area overlooking the waterhole of this private reserve adjacent to Etosha is the star here. Nightly rhinos and all day groups of animals and birds visiting. An older camp with small rooms and a small staff to maintain. Guides were excellent and we had fabulous lion viewing. I felt the food was good but not up to the level of some of the other Wilderness Lodges. The reason to stay here is the location. The huge Okauukuejo camp in Etosha in the Pan seemed out of place with the environment and more like a theme park. Anderssons while not in the lux class does have an intimate homey feel. I would choose this camp again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

How cool to be lounging on a sofa, drinking a beer, whilst 7 rhinos turn up for a drink at the waterhole literally a few feet from you - amazing! We really liked this lodge. It had a very relaxed, homely atmosphere; staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We liked our room very much, with its balcony actually inside the reserve (wrong side of the fence), and safari-chic tin bath shower. The waterhole was a real highlight and even on our second night when it was very quiet, we still had 2 rhinos turn up. The food was good overall - it is the ONLY place we stayed that served orange juice for breakfast that had actually seen an orange, afternoon cake was delicious, as were the soups; the only weak spot was the dessert with dinner. It was also the only place we stayed where wine was included with dinner. It's fair to say that Andersson's isn't cheap (i guess you have to pay for a location like this) and isn't posh, but it suited us very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wilderness,which offers a really good level of service at their other two camps we visited, should be ashamed. We would never come back here unless all the other camps in the area were full.
The guides are both good and rhinos do visit the water hole at night while you eat dinner(the only reason we did not give a terrible rating) but other camps in the area have that without the poor food and bad service we experienced.
The rooms are adequate and not as bad as the terrible review but do not go in the colder times of the year since the bath is open to the air.We had to shower before dinner,too cold in the Am.

For an individual drive in I recommend Okauukuejo camp which is inside the park.it has a range of accommodations and a large water hole where you can sit and watch the animals.We did not eat in the restaurant there,Andersons gave us a bad sack lunch to eat there,but we wished we had been staying there.

The following is a copy of my e-mail to wilderness about some of our 'experience' at Anderson's.
My wife Betsey and I stayed at the camp May 14 to 16,2013 and were not happy about the experience.

First I want to say how much we enjoyed our stays at Kulala Desert lodge May 1 to 3 and Damara Land Camp
May 7 to 9.
Wonderful song-full greetings.Good briefing by obviously competent managers.Cheerful attentive service.Excellent guides.
Good choice of cold drinks in the cars.Well catered sun-downers with biltong and other local snacks and ample drinks.
High standard meals.Nice wake up call with carafe of hot water to use with the tea/coffee service in the rooms.Poncho in car for early morning.
Cold towel and ice drink with group welcome after every game drive. The cleaning and washing staff were excellent.Loved the "enjoy your meal" song before dinners.Ample high quality,well prepared food and two choices.We were made to feel like welcomed guests in a large happy home.The "Dinner in the Boma" was memorable.Happy lively entertainment at every dinner and it was fun to dance and sing with the staff.When the staff sang their good by's we felt they meant it.

Perhaps our expectations were too high after the two very positive experiences, but we were appalled by Anderson's camp.Except for the guides, Franz and I forget the other guy, who were both excellent, the room cleaning staff and two of the younger serving ladies,Anderson's lacked all of the good things we enjoyed at the other two camps.
The manager looked bored and put upon and was perfunctory.At check out she stood over me, 1 foot away, when I went to the tip box.I waited,looked at her and all she did was give me a bad look with her little "pig eyes', until I told her I could manage my self and did not need any help and then she moved down the counter with ill grace.Clearly the camp is not a happy place and having to work for her I can understand it.

Choice and quality and quantity of breakfast was poor.(eg cheap lunch meat and a little salami when the other two had a variety of quality cold meats) No one came around to take hot food orders,you had to go get someone and then the service was slow,and they do not know how to make a proper omelet).The first dinner had a small piece of very tough and over cooked "mystery meat" with small sides at bad cafeteria food level .Next two nights were a bit better but no comparison to other camps..Bar staff was not there most of the time and acted like they were doing you a favor to wait on you.The white young "food service manger' was disheveled,shaggy haired,pot bellied and totally useless.One day there was only one girl to take orders,serve the food and go back and forth to the bar for drink orders while he stood around.I can't imagine how either of these people got their jobs.

Another example of the bad service was our one and only sun-downer (Not one every night like the other camps)We stayed late to see the lion's so did not have time to set up the tables in the bush,which was fine,and when we got back to the lodge(no cold towel or ice drink) We were told to come back in a half hour and they would have the snacks and drinks ready.Well we waited and went to the bar and nothing had been prepared.We did get a drink from the bar,after asking for it and they got a small plate of fruit out of the ice chest that wasn't iced properly. but no other snacks.Just total incompetence. A miserable experience by any standard and really was bad after the excellent snacks and drinks and happy talk our guides served us every night at the other camps.

The cars had water to re-fill your own bottle but little ice and no cold drinks of any kind..There is simply no excuse for "cutting corners" like that.

The other camps set up tables for a "catered" lunch in the bush with beer and wine and cold drinks and a nice spread.Anderson's gave us a meager,un-cooled, bag lunch(sandwich with one thin slice of the cheap commercial lunch meat and one slice of cheese) and we had to "poach" on the facilities of another lodge in the National park The drink was a small carton of warm sweet juice,which we do not drink.I walked to the store and bought our soda's.We walked thru the lodge rooms to eat on benches.At least they could have served us a lunch in the lodge dinning room.What we got was totally unacceptable.

My standard is the other camps were like a well run hotel at the Sheraton or Novotel level and Andersons was a run down poorly managed motel 6.

We were a month in South Africa and Namibia and Anderson was the only place that did not have in room tea/coffee.No fresh cold water in the room and no hot water in the AM.

The staff did sing on our last night but otherwise nothing.

The rooms were not as bad as the reviews in Trip Advisor said and there was in room charging but the food and especially the lack of drinks and service was way worse.I knew it was not going to be like the other two camps but never in life expected it to be as bad as it was.I mean how hard is it to put some ice,sodas and waters in the cars when you are going to be out in the heat all day?

I am at a loss to understand how a big company like Wilderness, that obviously knows how to provide a high level of service, can allow a sloppy,poorly run low quality camp like Anderson's.If I was CEO I would be embarrassed.Clearly there is a need for a change of management at the camp.

We were on a tour but if I had paid the high listed price for the camp I would be furious and demand my money back Charging other people at that price would be a total "rip off".
Yes the water hole was great but the lodge in the NP has one also and so do other camps in the area.I'm going to write the Brant guide and tell them to take Anderson's out of the book and warn people on trip Adviser to not go there if there is any other alternative.

The camp is close to the air port and has access to the private reserve which is where we saw our lions. We also had one day in the NP and saw lots of animals.I think Anderson's is the low cost option in the area so if cost is your driver then it does provide a worth while look at Etosha.
Just be prepared for an experience like taking a long flight in an economy middle seat when the other camps we enjoyed are strictly first class.

Room Tip: #1 has a nice double bed and you have a view of an approach to the water holes so can see some anima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time writing such an extensive feedback on your stay at Andersson’s Camp.

While we are obviously distressed about your experience, we would like to extend our appreciation for your comments as this has allowed us to address issues that needed some serious attention. Please be assured that your report was taking extremely seriously and discussed at length with all individuals involved, as well as at a senior level of management at Wilderness Safaris and that of the Ongava Reserve.

We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you had a fantastic time at Kulala Desert Lodge and Damaraland Camp. For both camps we have been receiving huge compliments. Maybe you have heard that Kulala Desert Lodge has just recently won on Tripadvisor the 2013 Certificate of Excellence.

With OAT trips to our camps, there are certain standards that we are obliged to adhere to while also extending the personalized service that Wilderness is known for. In some camps it appears this is being done better than at others, and we have addressed this inconsistency with the management of Andersson’s Camp.

We would like to inform you of the actions that either have already been or will be taken:

Your comment with regards to not having a coffee station in the room has been addressed and we are pleased to advise that coffee stations will be purchased and placed in the rooms as soon as possible.

A sundowner will be offered on the walk and located a short distance from camp.

Welcoming towels and a cold drink after an activity are minimum standard in all our camps. There will be no deviation from this in the future without disciplinary action.

With reference to the water, and availability of drinks on the game drive we would like to advise that this is the standard that was directed by an OAT guide in the past. However, going forward we will advise all OAT guests that water will be in the vehicles. Any other drinks that guests would like to have on a game drive can be added and put on guests account.

New lunch pack cooler bags have been ordered which should allow the lunch packs in Etosha to stay fresh for the day.

The food and beverage manager is normally quite helpful and active and the feedback has been addressed with him. The issue of his appearance had actually already been discussed with him prior to this feedback and he has cleaned himself up.

It is unfortunate that there appears to have been confusion over the sundowner snacks as apparently it was the group’s guide who instructed everyone to come back in half an hour, presumably to allow everyone to get freshened up before drinks and dinner. Management has committed to ensuring this does not happen again and that everyone is aware of where the snacks are.

The “mystery meat” was rump steak and we apologize that this was not cooked decently. We have employed a new chef recently and we trust this will improve the level of service from the kitchen.

Regarding your comments about management in general: this feedback has been discussed with the management team by the General Manager of the reserve. The manager of the camp, who was on leave over the time this feedback was received, has committed to ensuring that the service described in this report is not repeated and that they as a team will be sure to run a much tighter operation with a higher level of personal service in future.

We are truly sorry that your Namibia experience ended on a negative note and trust that we have addressed all your concerns.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to improve our service level at Andersson’s Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp

Address: Etosha - Ongava Game Reserve, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in mopane scrub on white calcrete soils, Andersson's Camp is situated 4.5km from Etosha's Andersson Gate. The camp was named after Swedish explorer Charles Andersson - one of the first Europeans to 'discover' Etosha, Africa's largest saltpan. The resurrected former farmstead that stands on the site now forms the centre of a charming camp fronting onto a productive waterhole. The 18 tented en-suite units are raised on decks for an enhanced view of the waterhole and surrounding vistas. The camp is an exciting example of sustainable construction; this model of eco-sensitive lodging provides an authentic, safe and down-to-earth experience for small groups, families and independent travellers to the Etosha region and is easily accessible by either road or air. Activities include morning and/or afternoon game drives in Etosha National Park, night drives (on request) and nature walks on Ongava Reserve. Subject to the availability of vehicles and guides, morning and afternoon/evening game drives on Ongava Game Reserve can be arraged at the camp at extra cost. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris Andersson's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.