We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury camping at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mushara Outpost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mushara Outpost
Save
You added Mushara Outpost to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Luxury camping at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

My Husband and I spent one night here for our wedding anniversary at the end of a 20 night trip around Namibia. It was the perfect choice for what we wanted... Luxurious, peaceful, wonderful atmosphere, brilliant service & stunning surroundings. We completely relaxed & chilled out by the pool all day (after 18 days travelling & game parks) which was exactly what we needed! We loved the resident warthogs wandering about & the tents are pure luxury with everything you need for a pampered stay. We would have loved to have stayed longer & would definitely recommend this beautiful lodge. Thank you for a truly memorable wedding anniversary :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found the staff here to be initially a little off. They greeted us with seeming disinterest and showed us to our room by walking 5 paces in front, carrying nothing whilst we struggled with the luggage. When we arrived at the room, it looked cramped and had 2 single beds. We noticed a couple of mosquitoes buzzing about. We asked if there was a room with a double bed and we asked for some fly spray. We were told that neither request could be granted.
We settled in and went to dinner. Dinner was a wonderful experience, meeting other travellers from around the world. It was conducted as a dinner party, with 12 guests at one table; the lodge accommodates a maximum of 14. Our table included 4 tourists who made dinner interesting by sending their food back to the kitchen at least twice, demanding special services and generally behaving in a very obnoxious manner. The staff were magnificent!!! They remained professional and accommodating when being treated badly by guests.
Here is the big surprise – when we got back to our room, the staff had managed to cart a huge king size bed into our tent, the most comfortable bed we have EVER slept on, and a can of spray was in the room, obtained from another camp for us. Hot water bottles, turn-down service and perfection awaited us. We could not believe how much trouble the staff had gone to for us. Our stay at Outpost was a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We did not have a view of the water hole, so request one if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved Mushara outpost! We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July. The house was beautiful, as were the grounds and the 'tents'. The accomodation was quite small but really comfortable. The bed was luxuriant. There were wonderful noises from the wildlife outside and you were very private from the other tents. The waterhole, although only having various antelope as guests, was very well designed and comfortable.
The grounds were well designed, the wandering warthogs kept the grass down and the swimming pool area was well maintained. The pool was freezing! I swam for about 30 minutes in it, but for the first 5 minutes couldn't feel my body parts.
The dinners were delicious and we enjoyed talking to the other guests. The wine list was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not go on any game drives organised by Mushara as we drove ourselves into Etosha in our car.
A wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms and main lodge here are really beautiful, and the food and service is excellent. The cabins are a bit small and tend to get a few bugs in them, but we used the bed mosquito nets at night and were fine. I got a couple of mosquito bites so I decided to resume taking my malaria medicine that I had previously decided I didn't need. The cabins have nice decks facing the forest and when you spend quiet time out there you see a variety of birds and antelopes. We were there in August (Namibian winter) so we found the hot water bottles they put in our beds during dinner and the climate control unit to be great features at night. The shower was a nice rain shower type, and you can zip down the canvas from outside to give yourself a forest view through glass while you shower. They provide a bottomless cookie jar and coffee maker in the room, on top of their minibar fridge. We went on one afternoon game drive with their guide Pietros, who was great, and got us up close with a leopard, and right in the middle of a herd of 70 elephants, including many babies. He also gave us snacks and a selection of cocktails, which were really nice when we were waiting for animals. The mix of made to order hot breakfast and continental was great, as was their a la carte lunch with 15 or so options. Breakfast and dinner are served at their large indoor dining table, which provides a nice opportunity to chat with other guests and exchange favourite game viewing spots. Dinner was a 3 course fixed menu every night, which was always great, and they have a fairly extensive wine list. After dinner there is a nice outdoor fire pit you can sit around. While we very much enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others, if we had to nit-pick at a few things is would be unheated pool with annoying flies around midday, somewhat small cabins, and the forest setting that seemed to have more bugs than the other place we stayed at in the area.

Room Tip: Room 8 seemed to be the best in terms of privacy, Room 5 is closest to the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The main house is beautiful - very colonial in style with a huge dining table. A bonfire is lit at night to enjoy sundowners before dinner & there's a telescope to see the stars. The food was excellent, by far the best of all the lodges we stayed at and the service from the staff faultless, nothing was too much trouble

The tents well designed and have a bed you don't want to leave (especially when the hot water bottles are added at night)

We only stayed for one night and didn't have chance to take the excursion into Etosha to look for game however we met 3 other couples people who were very pleased with the drive.

If you can, stay for two nights - we were tired from driving 5-8 hours every day and this is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy the food and let someone else drive you around Etosha.

Room Tip: We had a view of the small watering hole from the back of our tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Everything in this Lodge was perfect, starting with the extremely friendly & competent manageress Helena and her staff. They made us feel very special with their warm and personal service. The rooms are luxury tent structures and have absolutely everything incl. air-conditioning and privacy in the bathroom (rare in a tent!). Very spacious, very private. The Lodge is a beautifully designed & appointed classical "Homestead" and feels like a huge and warm home. Food is served on the terrace and is exceptional. We would love to go back there anytime and highly reccommend it to anyone!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The 2 nights that we stayed at Mushara Outpost were a real highlight of our Namibian adventure. The levels of service are outstanding, and the manageress, Helena, made us feel very special from the moment that we arrived.The central lodge is a great place to relax, and the tented accommodation has all the creature comforts that you are likely to need. Food was of the highest quality.
We can highly recommend a visit to the waterhole hide at dusk. We saw several gemsbok and steenbok at very close quarters.
If you want to go on an organised evening game drive from the lodge on the day that you arrive, be aware that they start at 15:30 (in September).

Room Tip: All rooms (tents) are identical apart from their distance from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mushara Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushara Outpost

Address: Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mushara Outpost 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mushara Outpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.