We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place, a village, not a lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etosha Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Etosha Village to your Saves list
Etosha Village
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Interesting place, a village, not a lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

For anyone who loves the outdoors..the bungalows/tents are very comfortable, the open air bathroom nice even if a bit chilly at night and early in the morning, but the location of this village is ideal to start the exploration of the Etosha National Park from the Anderson Gate, being only 2km away from it. You can also book in advance a well-organized drive with the lodge’s open car. Unexpected, the Wi Fi in the lobby. The food is very good and various, as it’s the breakfast buffet. There are three different (dull) restaurant areas, while the bar has more personality. The staff is very kind, polite and professional, especially Hilton!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Mariat68,
Thank you for you pleasant review and kind compliments to our staff. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia & Etosha!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
61
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Really loved Etosha Village, and if I'd known how great it was, I would have booked here for longer. The tent was wonderful - comfortable beds, airconditioning, outdoor shower with great water pressure, and a private outdoor kitchen and seating area. The buffet meals were wonderful - the main part of the meal was cooked to order by the chefs: I had wonderful omelettes for breakfast, and steak cooked perfectly for dinner. The 24-hour refreshment station was a wonderful idea - teas, coffee, hot chocolate, and snacks available all day, with takeaway cups available (I stopped here on my way into the park each morning to grab a coffee and cookies to have inside the park).

The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, and the laundry service was very efficient. Also, the shop is well-stocked, and additional food supplies can be ordered, if you want to make your own meals at the kitchen at your tent.

Didn't get to meet Spotty their semi-tame zebra, but hopefully next time, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear PimlicoGrid,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this pleasant review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the meals and refreshment station and appreciate the kind complements to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and possibly meet Spotty!

Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was one of our highlights. Fantastic accommodation, good food, hospitality and good customer relations. The buffet (I hate buffets!!!) was really nice. Lots of game and a good variety. Coffee was available throughout the day. WiFi in the middle of nowhere, also nice. Will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Hein,

Thank you for your excellent review! Glad you enjoyed our unique buffet and coffee-station so much!

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

While not likely to be the most glamourous accommodation in Namibia this camp has a great location close to the park. The food was excellent ,very fresh and prepared by great chefs in front of you. The accommodation is unquie if not a little rustic as you can share your bathroom with a few furry friends but hay that is just part of your holiday story. Our guide Edward was amazing and we highly recommend you go on a guided trip into the park with him. We saw 16 lions, 3 cheaters and Rino just on one trip. The cosy fire lit for both breakfast and dinner was a treat. The bugs around the swimming pool however need some action by staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear SandyWestcoast,
Thank you for taking the time out to write this great review. Thanks also for the kind complements to our chefs and Edward – will pass it on to them.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our group of 36 people decided that we would have barbeques (braais) at out tented encampments instead of the buffet on order. We purchased supplies on the way in and the staff were very helpfull with equuipment, wood etc and a lot of fun was had by all.

The tented airconditioned rooms are very pleasant and the on-suite but open to the heavens shower and toilet are a great experience in the bush.

Some opted for a packed breakfast to take into the Etosha Game Reserve early the next morning and other made use of the excellent breakfast which was available before 6.00am for those wanting to be at the park gate which opens at six.

A great stop over for Etosha.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Afriod,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed the bush experience and scrumptious breakfast.
Please visit us again on your next trip to Etosha!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surpised when arriving form our long drive from Windhoek Aiprort. Starting with our complementry welcoming drink and friendly reception from Bella the goat and staff, we felt as though we were truly welcome.

The accomodation, a structure surrounding a big (5 star) tent with two comfertable single beds, outdoor shower and bathroom was basic, but exactly what yo9u need when in Africa.

The food was AMAZING! All the diffrent game you can imagine, with salads and sweets just as great.

The staff, once again, from grounds staff all the way up to the GM are friendly and will go out of there way to stop and have a chat with you, (if you wish)

Highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: try take the rooms away from the main area, this is a bit of a walk, but the absolute silence is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Dale,
Delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience and for the kind compliments to our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our Village.
Best Wishes,
Bella and the Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The surroundings, tent and bed comfort were very acceptable. There is even air conditioning inside the tent - a lovely surprise! A very big negative, for us, was the bathroom. It is considered 'en-suite', but while the bathroom is attached, it is outside and very dark. There were mosquitos everywhere so we didn't want to turn the lights on to attract them. This also made for an uncomfortable shower, because the bugs couldn't be kept away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear travelerfan,

Thank you for your feedback - it will help us to improve and provide the very best to future customers. We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.

Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Etosha Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Village

Address: On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Village 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 2km from the Andersson entrance gate to Etosha National Park, Etosha Village uniquely combines affordability with comfort, style and exquisite cuisine. 40 Luxury individual canvas suites are constructed on wooden decks and offer a fully air-conditioned bedroom with an unique semi-open en-suite bathroom. Two small children (under 12) can be accommodated with their parents on a convertible bunk berth. All units are also equipped for self-caterers, complete with an open-air kitchenette, fridge, kettle and an outside seating area with barbeque. Facilities include an unique open-plan bar with big screen television, 2 sparkling pools plus a kiddie pool, a restaurant with delectable cuisine as well as a fully stocked utility and curio shop. Explore Namibia's animal kingdom with guided excursions to Etosha National Park. Experience spectacular sunsets during Sundowner Drives on our private reserve and discover the magic of our famous star studded skies with a Stargazing session. Let our team whisk you away to an enchanted venue in the Mopane Forest for a magnificent Bush Dinner Experience for your special function or private dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Etosha Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etosha Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.